4*4W: A 4 second loss is underperformance!!

• 4*4W: A 4 second loss is underperformance!!

How can we say good run, when we had two finalists under 50 and two finalists in the 400 hurdles and not run Wlaker in the final, I just don't understand this and then even with the team we have to lose by 4 seconds that is 1 full second on each leg, this radce should have been a contest, it was not, this race could have been the dedcided on the championship, if VCB won the 200 and we won this we would have won on the gold count which is what the world is looking at. Not happy with that run considering what the US did and the potential we have.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    How can we say good run, when we had two finalists under 50 and two finalists in the 400 hurdles and not run Wlaker in the final, I just don't understand this and then even with the team we have to lose by 4 seconds that is 1 full second on each leg, this radce should have been a contest, it was not, this race could have been the dedcided on the championship, if VCB won the 200 and we won this we would have won on the gold count which is what the world is looking at. Not happy with that run considering what the US did and the potential we have.
    Good...not brave. To me good in the sense we ran for silver and got it comfortably. I suggested in a post previous to our heats that we would have adopted this 'non-agressive' approach.

Is aw your post earlier and truly cringed when I saw it, but I knew you had something there. Really you cannot have 3 mega hosre power runners and one good one in the 4*4 and settle for silver.

To rahtid the US side had Lashinda Demus on that side. Walker destroyed her in the 400 final. Debbie Dunn was on that side our two 400 runs crushed her by at least 1 second and .6 second, Shericka closed on Richards at the end, we should have done a lot better, pushed them, maybe they would have dropped the baton.

kinda harsh but ....MAYBE you may have a SMALL point. the 4x4 is a relay of degrees...yuh hafi pace yuh self on each leg while trying to build or maintain a lead...when a good team gets a lead by the second leg you have to be careful not try to speed out to catch them too quickly saving something for the last 75-100 otherwise....

having said that the us built a little on each leg and in the end it was always going to be difficlt o pass richards with and lead between 5-10 metres.

I agree to a certain point but 4 seconds!?

why didn't Walker run?

Yuh seeit to Iyah, dat deh event shouldah dung to di wire. If wi select di right team, wi hab all ah di merican dem covered an now wi gi Sherika anodah run at Sanya fi di gold. Kah Sherika ah one dangerous piece ah 400 runnah. A one wicked leg she run. Nuh worry bout gold count, kah ah we run tings, dem gold count higher but a wi ah toast ah di championships

Last year a friend of mine on the T&F board had started a campaign for her to be included in the team but then her high school coach KC Graham came out and said she is not that good a relay runner and she was left off then and was left off now so maybe the real experts know some thing that us 'amateurs' dont know

Is aw your post earlier and truly cringed when I saw it, but I knew you had something there. Really you cannot have 3 mega hosre power runners and one good one in the 4*4 and settle for silver.

To rahtid the US side had Lashinda Demus on that side. Walker destroyed her in the 400 final. Debbie Dunn was on that side our two 400 runs crushed her by at least 1 second and .6 second, Shericka closed on Richards at the end, we should have done a lot better, pushed them, maybe they would have dropped the baton.
                  Agree with your sentiments 100%!

I agree to a certain point but 4 seconds!?
                    I think we had the runners...but the strategy was bulls! In my mind there was no way we could lose the silver...so we could have...and should have pressured for the GOLD!

We should have been braver, but we still would have lost.

FELIX was the difference.

We should have broken the 3:19 NR though!!!!

She was a great sprint relay runner.

in 1998 WJGames, she TORE up the backstretch and kept Jamaica in the hunt. She was 15 then and dismantled the 18 year olds on that leg.

She may not have been a great 400m relay runner back in HSchool, but she has developed waaaayy beyond that now and if she can run a 52.4 hurdles race, then she should, get a shot at a relay leg. She is faster than almost all of our 400m ladies in terms of leg speed, as she is a 100m/200m sprinter in hiding. People forget that she beat VC in the short sprints back in the day...

why did she not run the relay?

No idea!

does cbar have a 6th form?