Bahamas was too damn Close!!
Thank You, Karl
Originally posted by Karl View PostGood chat!
42.06!
...and remember our team in the heats...same runners ran 41.88
I somehow suspect that our friends here on the forum are overcome with happiness (as I certainly am) at winning the gold yesterday. And as Hortical correctly said, “A win is a win.” He’s right in that.
However, how on earth one could seek to be happy with a 42.06 seconds winning time is beyond me, especially when a country that has had a difficult time fielding a women’s 4x100-meter team could run 41.29 seconds! It says, to me, that there’s a great deal that is wrong with Jamaica’s track and field program.
Personally, I’m enjoying these golden days, because I’m 100 percent sure that they won’t last beyond the year 2011.
historian as karl said the SAME team ran 41.78 in the semis...the SAME team...they then ran a slaower time and won the gold...your bellyaching is, as far as i am concerned unneccessary nitpicking...with all due respect of course
Therefore....
Originally posted by Karl View PostAll our changes were safe changes. The outgoing runner left late (took no chance of leaving the baton)...and the incoming runner had to apply the brakes (took no chance on over-running the out going runner).
Originally posted by Historian View PostThen Karl, all it means is that we’re not a relay nation, but rather, a nation of runners with incredible fast foot-speed, which allows us to win relays. If we were a genuine relay nation, the Jamaica national record of 41.73 would now be a part of history!
...but we are Historian...and you are right the record should go.
Remember Islandman, Mosiah and you...and others have already spoken on the cass-cass and its possible effects. Not to mention my posts on what 'camps' - the bonding/chemistry building can do for athletes.
...for example, who would not have prefered to see our women athletes on that 4 x 400M team going in with a 'the silver is assured...let's press for the Gold' attitude and run the USA into the ground? What enjoyment that would ahve given...and there was no way we could be getting less than the silver. Given our ladies times it certainly would have been in the bag from our 1st leg.
Demus for one, I am thinking, could have buckled under pressure. Haven't checked but Felix looked to have ran her 48.00 change. She would not have buckled. In fact, she would just respond and give us a super leg...Dunn was not pressured she was the 2nd runner capable of buckling...and the Sanya may under pressure may have panicked and reverted to her all out early blast and faded/colapsed as in Beijiing. As we are wont to say, our ladies on that 4x4 'neva test'.Last edited by Karl; August 23, 2009, 08:24 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Goes back to preparation, we saw this with a French and Polish team setting WR some times back..it is easy for them as they would not have the depth that we have and so they can work on their stick changes from June if theyw ant.
This little girl Ferguson is just one of several young and up and coming Bahamian sprinters, saw her at the World Juniors last yera when she led a sweep of the medals for Caribbean girls in the 200m, a race in which Jura Levy finished last.
They also have this girl Nivea Smith who was a junior last year and is at Auburn and maybe a part of this team as a reserve.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
unimpressive pan di gol, ah weh yuh wouldah seh if ah did silvah. Ongle Veronica di team miss. Bahamas hab two extraordinary athletes in Ferguson an Stirrup, but dem was not fast finishing dat is fi sure. Yuh nuh si is a easy 42.06, Kerron undah no stress, bounxing to di line. An ah nuh suh she run inna di 100 final. Suh seeit deh. Wi run di secon fastest time inna history an yuh ah seh look out fi USA an di Trini dem. Yuh nuh aright. A Wi ah drag di Trini dem to greatness yuh nuh si dat. An Merica done, Bolt destroy dem greatest 9.71 and him still lose if bolt run same time as di Olympics. Yuh ah joke. Di curbe nuh haffi impact nuhbady. Mek mi ask yuh den, wah did wrang wid di curbe?
Originally posted by Islandman View PostGiven the situation with the US out and the chaos in the team selection and final running order, ultra-safe baton changes was clearly the way to go.
Any other approach would have been irresponsible.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
That is rubbish about which hand is used - if you are a relay runner you can take the baton with ANY hand...go back and see which hand Asafa has the baton in when he finished the men's 4x100...this is some garbage that Bruce James is trying to force on people...Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.