I almost broke my neck and the speed limit yesterday to make it HWT between the two sprint relay finals. Never seen a Saturday road so empty as most people I guess decided to stay home and watch. So, it wasn't tough making it to HWT and get parking.
Two big screens were showing the world championships this time, complete with loudspeakers and mounted television cameras. We had learnt from the impromptu thing we did for Beijing last year. The crowd grew by the minute leading up to the mens race. You could tell that some in the crown were only there for the event, like myself. Yuh nuh see demdeh people a HWT fi joke, unless dem a pass thru inna dem Range!
I got to my position just in time for the intros. Of course, the Jamaican athletes were cheered any time they were featured on the screen, but the loudest cheers were saved for Usain. When he did his "finger on his lips, hold it down" routine, the crowd obeyed and quieted down! Funny stuff!
Then, from the start to the finish, it was mad tings! I think everyone held their breath at each baton change, but once we saw the baton was successfully passed, the crescendo grew! Not to mention when Bolt took the curve and then handed to Asafa!!! sigh! Pandemonium as he brought it home!
Half Way Tree - the pulse of the nation and the best place to watch an athletic meet!
Two big screens were showing the world championships this time, complete with loudspeakers and mounted television cameras. We had learnt from the impromptu thing we did for Beijing last year. The crowd grew by the minute leading up to the mens race. You could tell that some in the crown were only there for the event, like myself. Yuh nuh see demdeh people a HWT fi joke, unless dem a pass thru inna dem Range!
I got to my position just in time for the intros. Of course, the Jamaican athletes were cheered any time they were featured on the screen, but the loudest cheers were saved for Usain. When he did his "finger on his lips, hold it down" routine, the crowd obeyed and quieted down! Funny stuff!
Then, from the start to the finish, it was mad tings! I think everyone held their breath at each baton change, but once we saw the baton was successfully passed, the crescendo grew! Not to mention when Bolt took the curve and then handed to Asafa!!! sigh! Pandemonium as he brought it home!
Half Way Tree - the pulse of the nation and the best place to watch an athletic meet!