No athlete no matter who you are

A very prominent ex-athlete in the media did the same in the past, and now being very hypocritical.

A very prominent JAAA exec then told me he would never force an athletes to run, not even ask such an athlete to run, for the very same reasons I gave.

Finally to all you discipline freaks, this is T&F not UpPark Camp. This is not military, its pro sports and the athletes and top coaches are extremely disciplined. Leave the people alone to do what they do best. The madness has been going on for a long time and is now being exposed.
    Willi we cannot give indiscipline a pass matters not if it is JAAA or Franno. AS I said before JAAA acted in an unprofessional manner & Franno did the same. The difference is Franno should work from within in his charges and Jamaica's interest.

OK! Let's do this - If he pulls that stunt again he 'hurts his charges'. Save this post and 'kill me with it' when he does or use it while admitting he played the ass one more time.

You do realize that you dont have to believe VC (or any of the others) to see that her case as presented is untouchable.

I will reiterate, I confirmed the injuries to Kerron and SAF. I also think it was foolish to force VC into the camp if she felt she needed treatment in Greece.

You see, I tend to defend ALL the athletes as much as possible. They must never be FORCED to run. NEVER.
      ...and why was maximum professional medical attention not available for use of all our athletes if needed?

See I am on your side with this. Not available points to just another instance of the JAAA being unprofessional.

Same reasoning would have kept SAF off the team last year for the Olys!

Based on previous accomplishments, Merlene should still be anchoring for us with that logic!
        Willi? Willi?
        FULL 100 consideration does not mean we must be foolish. You can ...and it must happen at times, that full consideration does nto get us what we want or desire...but what those who have given full consideration deem appropriate, just and sensible.

I was doubtful too until I got positive confirmation. It is real as is the injury to Asafa you all doubted. You saw Asafa's poor mechanics on anchor, even though he won. It may cost him later if they are not careful.

SAF could have risked it too perhaps, but they asked for the exemption early and got it. Why risk the reigning Oly and WChamp if we did not have to? Now is her time to make a few dollars and cash in on her titles on the circuit. I can see why they were wary.

VC ran the BEST curve in the 200m finals and all her heats. The only difference was that it was not as dominant as usual. Instead of a 3m lead, she only had a 1m lead. However, the way she commands the first 100 of a 200m tells me that starting on a curve is NOT the same as in the straight 100m flat event. I grant you that something was brewing for a while, and that is why you did not see a smile on VC's face the whole week.

Again though, SAF did NOT run anchor, so where is the conflict between her/MVP and VC? KERRON ran anchor, the only slot VC was prepared to run!

Finally, I have no problems with VC not running. If she was not settled in her mind, then she did the right thing. If she ran and dropped the baton, people would want to crucify her. She has done so well for Jamaica that I am willing to give her a pass, almost no matter WHAT she does. I love all of the athletes and will jump to their defence as a first instinct.

He said that he got no documentation, signed nothing and was not even sure who sent him an email 7 days before the camp was to start.

VC should have been allowed to seek the medical help she spoke of.

but shi "know how dem stay"

That is alright with Mo, I will have to focus on his post going forword to see what Mo is defending, or if he is just making post to draw out tounges.

All I am concerned about now that the meet is over, the end of the Stephen Francis/JAAA foolishness. It benefits no one. Both MVP and the JAAA need to improve on professionalism. Both behaving like incompetents.

Stephen Francis speaks nonsense about the great coaching needed outside of a camp 7 days before a championship he has been preparing his athletes for over a period of at least 12 months.

The JFF's many weaknesses came to a head in the openings it gave to Francis to cling to saying he never knew of a mandatory camp...and the kicking down of its door when VCB could say medical attention needed was not available because the JAAA had not made plans for access to such for athletes in their camp.

Two weak crazily run organisations airing their weaknesses for all the world to see.
                  Last edited by Karl; August 25, 2009, 02:04 PM.

Sorry Karl but you dont seem to know anything about peaking.

The programs are written in reverse!!! Those 7 days you disparage are VERY important for peaking. Its is like CPM planning. It is probably the MOST sensitive time.

Look at how Frater missed the finals at a Global for the 1st time in many moons, yet a week later blazed the backstretch twice in the relays!

While I agree the disput must be settled post-haste, dont go into technical matters where you will come up short!

Look at how Frater missed the finals at a Global for the 1st time in many moons, yet a week later blazed the backstretch twice in the relays!
                      Give it a break, Willi! There is nothing to prove there was a connection between his not making the finals and anything else!!! I'm glad yuh mention "many moons", because maybe his time is up. Simple!

Blaze what backstretch?! He was probably running against slouches. Anyone can look fast in such a situation.

Sorry Karl but you dont seem to know anything about peaking.

The programs are written in reverse!!! Those 7 days you disparage are VERY important for peaking. Its is like CPM planning. It is probably the MOST sensitive time.

While I agree the disput must be settled post-haste, dont go into technical matters where you will come up short!
                        Yes!
                        Here is an example of that coaching as reported by a Franno lover -

Shelly-Ann and Franno, countdown to the finals…

[IMG] Posted by admin on Aug 23rd, 2009 and filed under Berlin Through Enigma's Eyes. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry from your site

Berlin through my eyes … By Enigma

A keen observer to Shelly Ann Fraser’s warmup routine, especially during her starts and drive phase rehersals, was USA’s world renowned coach John Smith.
                        He was riveted to what she was doing, probably trying to find a chink in her armor, so that he could find that elusive way to get his charge Carmelita Jeter to defeat her the next day. This was not to be, SAF was under the watchful eyes of the world’s best sprint coach, Stephen Francis (better known as Franno).

There is Einstein, there is Usain bolt, there is Stephen Francis. What’s the commonality between these three men? I’ll tell you, they are ’super-abnormal’ men, better known as geniuses, they come along once every few decades.

But what about Shelly Ann? She was the one being sent to the gallows. Was she scared, nervous, tense, anxious or a bag of nerves? Well, I’ll give you a clue, find the antonyms to all those words and you’ll be in the ballpark. Shelly Ann was so relaxed that she was playing her coach like a game of Jacks. She threw, she scattered, she grabbed and still deftly caught the ball.

Then after mischieviously playing Franno, she went out and broke Jamaica’s sprint icon Merlene Ottey’s national record and in the process won the World Championships 100 meters title. What was her order of priority, we might never know, but according to her, all she wanted to do was execute her start to perfection. After completing this effortless task, she got out in front and held off a fast charging Kerron Stewart to win her second major title, the first being Olympic gold a year before.
                        But that’s not what I wanted to talk about, I got sidetracked. I want to talk about the part I thought was funny.

I was thinking to myself as I stood track side, before the start of the first round, that Jeter was looking better than Shelly Ann. Everytime Jeter ran down the track I was impressed, she exuded power and speed and she just seemed to disappear down the track. I wondered to myself ‘How on earth is SAF, my favorite, going to take down this giant’. I knew David slew Goliath, but Goliath was slow and Jeter wasn’t.
                        Something though, was tugging at the corners of my mind and that was, "Why was Jeter’s coach John Smith paying all the attention to SAF and not to his own athlete who looked obviously better? Was he seeing something great about Shelly Ann that I couldn’t"? Nothing was making any sense to me and the little discourse that was going on between SAF and Franno made it worse.

Franno was having his work cut out with ‘Likkle SAF’, (her pet name), he was not having a good day. After she warmed up, stretched and did some blow outs, he ordered her to the blocks.

Her first start looked good to me but Franno asked her what that was, "Who are you waiting for" he asked, "Someone said wait"?

"Coach my foot hurts", Shelly replied walking back to the blocks.

"Which part of your foot Shelly", Franno persisted.

"The whole ah it", was the reply.

Her next start was worse, she stopped at twenty meters and Franno was about to blow a gasket but managed to say in a calm voice.
                        "Shelly why are you stopping short, I want you to run the whole thirty meters".

"Coach mi belly ah hat mi", Shelly said.

She went back, settled in her blocks again and on Franno’s command busted out another start. This one caused Franno to throw his hands up in the air in exasperation but he made sure she didn’t see.
                        "Shelly is that running or gliding", he asked calmly.

"Coach mi foot", she said again.

"Which foot Shelly", he asked.

"Mi nuh know", she pouted.

"Shelly come here", Franno said, and as she turned, I saw it was all mischief, she had this smile on her face she was trying to suppress that said it all. I was in tears by this time, I looked across at another observer and he was in stitches too. Shelly Ann was obviously ready to run and Franno’s babysitting was boring the hell out of her.

He cracked a big smile, realizing he was being played and talked to her for a few minutes. After her next and last start he said excellent.

She in return gave him a look that said, "Tell me something I don’t know".
                        I breathed a sigh of relief because if Franno liked what he saw, I liked what I saw too, regardless of how my untrained eye was seeing it.

Shelly Ann went out and ran on the first day and did well. The next day, between the semis and finals, I went back to the warm up area to make sure our little hero was ready to roll. This time though she was obviously in some kind of distress and her physio was walking her around the warm up track trying to relax her, he indicated to me that she’d be alright.
                        She then went out, executed her race to perfection and we all know the rest of the story.

Outside the press conference room that night, Franno couldn’t have been a happier ‘parent’. He beamed and smiled at his ‘daughter’s’ achievement for so long, that I thought (in amusement) it would take a surgical procedure to remove that smile off his face if he didn’t take it off soon enough.

The big smile that ‘Likkkle SAF’ put.

http://www.trackalerts.com/?p=2832

---------------

Great getting her to peak!
                        As Gamma would say, I rest my case!

Enigma went to Berlin to coach the Guyanese team but seem to have had more time to watch Franno than he spent with his own charges...

In other news I had some "unofficial" splits for Jamaica...

coaching the guyanese team?!! after the heats his job was done!!! he must have had a lot of timne on his hands after that!