Every athlete has that right.

JAAA does not put food on their table and its WRONG for them to force anyone to compete.
    Willi?
    Would you really want our athletes to be withdrawing from events on whim? You really want to set such precedent?

...could that then led to the ruling body taking a page from that and then selecting or not selecting on whim? ...free for all? madness? chaos? Would you really want us to descend to that?

...but come to think of it...isn't that what we have in our homes, schools and on the streets now! ...have we not descended to this already. Stephen Francis and the JAAA...the representation both have given us in these World Championships a mere reflection of that of our society - unprincipled, destructive behaviour...madness displayed before the world?

Cant touch VC now.

Reasonable explanation.

VCB said she would never abondon her country but was told 1 1\2 hour before the final that she has to choose to run either first leg or third leg .She never trained for that at the camp so she said she was not prepared and cudnt work a miracle .She said everyone knew from March she had an inflamed toe and so cudnt run the bend freely and it affected her 200m .She said she decided the best thing for the country is to let the girls run without her .

Then Claude Bryan was asked about the camp and how he knew it was mandatory .He said he got a email and thinks it was from Kathy Rattray and said it was about accommodation and other stuff for the camp..He said he never received any letter to sign or any other information re the camp being mandatory..Before that VCB said she only went online to check fan mails and only got the info from her agent .They said they had to choose between going to Greece to treat the toe or going to the camp and VCB being a patroit chose the camp bc it was mandatory .

VCB went on to congratulate the girls for their victory .
      Re: Camp
      You do realise if you believe VCB, you are saying Franno and his camp lied?

Re: Camp
        You do realise if you believe VCB, you are saying Franno and his camp lied?
        Not possible! Geniuses don't lie. And geniuses with wings and halos wussa doan lie!

Yuh seit!

lied to say what? that they didn't get the email?

Ha ha ha ha...one of the worst things that can afflict mankind is when we make ourselves out to be infallible and the fount of ALL knowledge

My question too. LoL

You do realize that you dont have to believe VC (or any of the others) to see that her case as presented is untouchable.

I will reiterate, I confirmed the injuries to Kerron and SAF. I also think it was foolish to force VC into the camp if she felt she needed treatment in Greece.

You see, I tend to defend ALL the athletes as much as possible. They must never be FORCED to run. NEVER.

JAAA "rules" is not LAW.

"No taxation without representation."

A very prominent ex-athlete in the media did the same in the past, and now being very hypocritical.

A very prominent JAAA exec then told me he would never force an athletes to run, not even ask such an athlete to run, for the very same reasons I gave.

Finally to all you discipline freaks, this is T&F not UpPark Camp. This is not military, its pro sports and the athletes and top coaches are extremely disciplined. Leave the people alone to do what they do best. The madness has been going on for a long time and is now being exposed.

Same reasoning would have kept SAF off the team last year for the Olys!

Based on previous accomplishments, Merlene should still be anchoring for us with that logic!

OK lets be logical here.

VC said she only trained for anchor. Kerron who went to the JAAA camp and has the fastest top end speed, said she cant run the bend due to knee issues and that is why she stopped doubling.

SAF nuh run anchor! SAF denied nothing to VC and she is the only non-campist.In otherwords, if SAF withdrew like VC did, VC would STILL not have run unless KS gave up the anchor.ot

So how unno a blame MVP for this??? What MVP have to do with a VC/ Kerron bakkle??

But suppose the various special considerations being asked for are in direct conflict with each other.....then we have a BIGGER problem.
                            That precedent setting action which some advocate..ie giving Francis or others "special consideration" or "bending over backwards" is EXACTLY what will lead to breakdowns and infighting over preferential treatment.

OK lets be logical here.

VC said she only trained for anchor. Kerron who went to the JAAA camp and has the fastest top end speed, said she cant run the bend due to knee issues and that is why she stopped doubling.

SAF nuh run anchor! SAF denied nothing to VC and she is the only non-campist.In otherwords, if SAF withdrew like VC did, VC would STILL not have run unless KS gave up the anchor.ot

So how unno a blame MVP for this??? What MVP have to do with a VC/ Kerron bakkle??
                              Well you believe Franno that SAF could not again produce her fantastic starting leg. I don't! I saw nothing in her races that said she was hurting.

I saw a lot in VCB's that said something was wrong. Her start bad as it always is, was horrendous. It was particularly 'seeable' in her drive phase in her '200s'.
                              Last edited by Karl; August 23, 2009, 08:40 PM.

lied to say what? that they didn't get the email?
                                Never knew camp was mandatory!