Is Usain Bolt the greatest sportsman of all time?

• Is Usain Bolt the greatest sportsman of all time?

Debate: is Usain Bolt the greatest sportsman of all time?

Usain Bolt broke the 200 metres world record in 19.19 seconds at the Athletics World Championships in Berlin on Thursday. Does this latest superhuman feat make him the best sportsman of all time?

By Nick Pearce
    Published: 12:04PM BST 21 Aug 2009

Greatness: (left to right) Roger Federer, Usain Bolt, and John Eales
    Photo: GETTY IMAGES

Muhammad Ali - the greatest? He certainly thought so, and so did Sports Illustrated who named him their "Sportsman of the Century" in 1999. He won an incredible 57 out of 61 fights, an Olympic gold, and beat practically every major heavyweight of his era - Greatness factor 9/10

Michael Schumacher - unflaffable, relentless and brilliant. 'Schumi' registered 68 pole positions and seven championship wins, making him undoubtedly one of the finest components of the four-wheeled arts. Greatness factor 7/10

Roger Federer - simply the best? It's hard to argue with the results this classy operator has notched up in his 11-year professional career. He has won 15 Grand Slam titles - more than any other player - and won the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year for four consecutive years. Greatness factor 8/10

Shane Warne - 708 wickets in 145 Tests- it says it all really. The likeable leg-spinner from Victoria, Australia has dominated everything that came his way, including off-field setbacks, to become one of the five Wisden Cricketers of the Century. Greatness factor 7/10

Tiger Woods - in something of a rut at the moment, yet he remains the World No1, testament to the consistent success he has notched up in his career. 14 majors says it all, but he has more to do to etch his name into sporting folklore. Expect him to take up the challenge with glee. Greatness factor 8/10

John Eales - such a talented sportsman that it is believed he was capable of donning the baggy green and playing cricket for Australia. As it was he became a goal-kickingrugby union second row and won the World Cup twice - once as captain. Greatness factor 6/10

Diego Maradona -a sportsman who it seems the cliche, "flawed genius" was invented for. Sublime on the ball but did not have the strength of character to cement himself in the hearts and minds of sports fans, outside of Argentina of course. Greatness factor 7/10

Usain Bolt - has talked himself up, and delivered every time. Has broken world records, and then broken them again, every time. How many more times does he need to do it before he ends the debate? Not long... Greatness factor 9/10

© Copyright of Telegraph Media Group Limited ;2009
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

What kind of list is this, where the hell is PELE, this list is just a joke without Pele, where is Jordan, obviously this person is not a sport historian. Schumacher, driving a car, that is no sport at all. Federer what a joke! man can't cry after getting beaten on court in front of a billion people, save that for when you get to the yard!!! The Australian cricketer, I cannot even comment, they don't even make my best top five Australian cricketers list.

Ali remains the one and only. Pele number two, Tiger three, Jordan four, Maradona five, Bolt need some more time.
    Last edited by Stonigut; August 21, 2009, 11:33 PM.

Nuh kill di messenger boss. I saw the article, read it and thought I would share it here. It does not mean I agree with everything in the article.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

No man, is not you write it breda, I just couldn't believe someone could actually write that list, it has no length or breadth to it, it has a very shallow understanding of sports.

jim thorpe belongs on the list!

Still looking for my name...

The most glaring omission is of course Pele; as to how Shane Warne get there is a mystery; several names come to mind in the cricket world ahead of him...

The problem with these lists is if we asked everyone to do their top ten, we would never agree on all; the subjectivity factor. But some people just can't be left off (like Pele). However, Bolt is already getting close to a sure pick in the top five! I don't see anyone beating him over the 100 or 200 in the near future and that would be unprecedented.

Where is the great Michael Phelps or the other great American Carl Lewis? A eediat list this.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015