• Women 200M - CONGRATS Historian!

You gave your all VCB!
    Big up!

VCB just didn't have it on the stretch....

hey...the relays just heated up!!!!

I Didn't See This Post!!

You gave your all VCB!
        Big up!
        Karl, boss, I just came online and posted a comment to you in another thread. I didn't see this post of yours until just now! Please disregard my comment in the other thread .

That women's 200-meter race was the easiest prediction to make, next to the men's 100-meter race! After studying the performances of all three women, and comparing it with how they looked in 2007 and 2008, there was never any doubt in my mind, not even for a minute, that the results would be other than they were today!!

But thanks for remembering our discussion and for posting this. Much respect, Karl, my friend!

ok I'll give you a stripe. But I bet you didn't see the W 100m hurdles coming, huh?
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Exile....

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            VCB just didn't have it on the stretch....
            I have watched every race by VCB this season, and trust me when I say that it was clear, coming down to the month of August, that she just did not have it all season (not just down this stretch)!

I wish it was not so, but there we have it, and we can't do anything about it now. But the pattern of championships years continue (2005, 2007, 2009), except that in 2005 that was disastrous for VCB.

LOL Jangle!

ok I'll give you a stripe. But I bet you didn't see the W 100m hurdles coming, huh?
              Nobody, not even the most fanatical Jamaican fan, could have seen that women's 100-meter hurdles results!! I never posted a prediction, because it would take a very brave man to accurately predict that women's sprint hurdle result. But privately I had the two Canadians as medalists, with Perdita Felicien getting the bronze (she has never been the same since smashing into that first hurdle at the 2004 Athens Olympics), and Dawn Harper as silver medalist.

I never had Brigitte in my equation, and her victory is the most pleasant surprise for me of the entire IAAF World Championships so far!! Jangle, I cried (literally) when Brigitte won that gold. She deserved it!!

I'm not always right with my predictions, as I had Lashinda Demus for the 400-meter gold and Melaine for the silver. Let me say this, Melaine Walker's performance is something that I will NEVER forget!!!

Ruff season for Ver. I don't think she was on her best form.

Better luck next time.

Stephen Francis

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  I never had Brigitte in my equation, and her victory is the most pleasant surprise for me of the entire IAAF World Championships so far!! Jangle, I cried (literally) when Brigitte won that gold. She deserved it!!

I'm not always right with my predictions, as I had Lashinda Demus for the 400-meter gold and Melaine for the silver. Let me say this, Melaine Walker's performance is something that I will NEVER forget!!!
                  I will be watching carefully to see the awards and comments that will be, or will not be, forthcoming to MVP's genius Stephen Francis!!! Clearly, he is the GREATEST coach on the planet, bar none!! Francis doesn't need child prodigies to turn into superstarstars. Just give him regularly talented athletes, and he will make world superstars of them!

Trust me, Stephen Francis has to be the single most successful track and field coach anywhere on the planet today!! I respect the man as much as it's possible to respect anyone!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                    Karl, boss, I just came online and posted a comment to you in another thread. I didn't see this post of yours until just now! Please disregard my comment in the other thread .

That women's 200-meter race was the easiest prediction to make, next to the men's 100-meter race! After studying the performances of all three women, and comparing it with how they looked in 2007 and 2008, there was never any doubt in my mind, not even for a minute, that the results would be other than they were today!!

But thanks for remembering our discussion and for posting this. Much respect, Karl, my friend!
                    You called the winner boss!
                    Respek due!

I looked at her 100M times and looked for her to run into form through 3 rounds of 100M and 2 rounds of the 200M and bring great stuff to the 200M finals.

Unfortunately she had the strength...but did not come with her technically best form. That merely 'holding down her head' was nowhere near the drive phase she usually presents. She got up too quickly and thus could not get that necessary 3 or 4 steps up oin Felix coming out of the turn/coming into the straight...in fact her drive phase was so terrible below her good stuff that the usually slower to hit top speed Felix hit the straight either just ahead (it looked that way to me)...or at worse equal. That was that!

She has obviously run herself into shape...see her 200M semi-finals and the effort she put in in the last 50 of the 200M (where she tightened under presasure of trying to decelerate slower...and not because she was 'falling apart because of fatigue. Note she was still stranding tall'/running tall)...so I hope in the relay she corrects her drive phase - i.e. coming up gradually out of the drive phase and not merely holding her head down in the technically poor manner...and thus waste of the power and speed a good technical performance there would have gotten in the early part of the 200 -...but getting up slowly always at the right body angle to maximize drive and thus increase speed...give us her best over her relay leg. She is in good shape physically...but not there technically.
                    Last edited by Karl; August 21, 2009, 10:44 PM.

True words Histy. This "Badman/Rudebwoy" siddung in my office wid yeye wata full up inna me eyes. But as a true "rudebwoy" I did not allow it to spill over my eyelids, so there.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

note the track and field imagery....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kw8y3DI_e6g

Yeah....sometimes we live in hope..against form and 'expert advice'. thanks.