• Get it together, Minister Babsy Grange

Western News

Get it together, Minister Babsy Grange
    On The Sporting Edge
    Paul Reid
    Thursday, August 20, 2009
    Once again our track and field ambassadors have made us proud.
    Up to the end of yesterday's fifth day of the eight-day 12th IAAF World Championships in Athletics, Jamaica's athletes had won seven medals including three golds, two silvers and two bronze including a World Record by the inimitable Usain Bolt in the 100m on Sunday.
    And once again the nation is caught up in the frenzy of the exploits of these magnificent athletes and even the petty and not-so-petty squabbles prior to and during the events has not spoiled the joy we have all been basking in.

No doubt the celebrations will continue well after Sunday's closing ceremonies and will stretch into the coming weeks.

No doubt the Ministry of Sports and the Government will make another attempt to properly honour the athletes later in the year.

After last year's poorly-planned and way too far dragged out celebrations which turned into a fiasco, it is hoped is there will be better planning this year.

Despite having sufficient time to put together something fitting for the heroics, the organisers made a hash of things including forgetting something as basic as water for the athletes during the motorcade in Kingston.

What was to be the coupe de grace, a banquet at a swanky Kingston resort also fell flat due to what should have been a matter of course, timely and proper service of food, was also lacking.

While the idea to send the Olympians back to their high schools and communities last year was good, it turned out to be impractical, probably because the logistics were not that well thought out.

If there are to be celebrations this year, maybe they can be condensed into a maximum of three days.

One wonders whether however there will be any money left over from the Ministry of Sports given the large and totally unnecessary contingent presently in Berlin, doing Lord knows what?

It appears that no major overseas meet has escaped the Minister this year, be it the Penn Relays, the Reebok Grand Prix or now the World Championships and the question must be asked, what does she add to the performances except for the now-way-too frequent photo-ops with the successful athletes.

At the last two Penn Relays high school athletes who could barely stand after gruelling events were forced to wait while the Minister and her entourage made their way to the podium for photos.

Maybe someone forgot who really is important in these situations.

This is exactly on point.

More thought less hype required.

but yuh nuh easy Sickko.......lol!!! You are absolutely right though. They add nothing in being there.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I can accept the Minister of Tourism being there doing work and promotions but these entourages by the Sports Ministry needs to stop

Excellent article, Sickko!

Babsy still deh a Berlin?!?

Ridiculous!

why?

nuh suh portia used to roll?

and it would have been just as ridiculous. no?

never heard you mention it before! i never thought that it was ridiculous then and i do not think so now!

and you would have remembered, of course!

so i ask, did you?

i don't recall another meet like this where a minister just hung out for the entire week!

Well I guess her excuse is that we have been kicking a s s for almost a week. LOL.

Here is why:

German sprinters could train in Jamaica
                              Posted by admin on Aug 19th, 2009 and filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry from your site
                              BERLIN (JIS) – The Government of Jamaica is seeking to establish partnerships with the Federal Republic of Germany in areas of sports development.
                              Jamaica’s sports minister, Hon. Olivia Grange met with her German counterpart Dr. Wolfgang Schauble on Tuesday, August 18, in Berlin, to discuss areas of possible cooperation between the two countries.
                              Minister Grange paid a courtesy call on Dr. Schauble, who is the Minister of the Interior with responsibility for sports. The ministers later watched the evening session of the 12th IAAF World Championships together at the Olympic Stadium.
                              Dr. Schauble congratulated Minister Grange on Jamaica’s performances at the championships, noting that he was pleased with the country’s strong showing in the sprint events.
                              Minister Grange thanked Dr. Schauble and the German people for staging an excellent World Championships and for being wonderful hosts.
                              Both ministers recognised the possibilities that existed for cooperation in areas such as sports administration, exchange of expertise and capacity building.
                              Minister Grange said there was the possibility for German sprinters to train in Jamaica while Germany could provide Jamaica with developmental support in disciplines such as football and field events.
                              She also mooted the idea of sporting exchanges and competitions between the two countries in various sporting disciplines.
                              Dr. Schauble referred to the doping situation currently surrounding Jamaican athletics and indicated that Germany had faced similar problems. He stressed the need for both countries to remain committed to the fight against doping in sports.

Minister Grange presented him with the Jamaica anti-doping kit and explained how much JADCO had accomplished in just one year of operation. Dr. Schauble said he was impressed with the material and suggested that Germany could partner with Jamaica in the area of capacity building.
                              The German minister expressed a desire to learn more about Jamaica’s schools and communities athletics programmes, which continue to unearth the fastest men and women in the world.
                              Minister Grange told JIS News that she was satisfied with the outcome of the meeting: “I believe we have discussed some very important issues and we will keep the dialogue going through diplomatic channels to ensure that we achieve some results that are mutually beneficial. Germany has a wealth of technical resources that we can benefit from and Jamaica has a lot to offer in terms of our developmental systems. We will now seek to move forward with the necessary exchanges required to put a programme in place.”
                              Minister Grange was joined at the meeting by Jamaica’s Ambassador in Berlin, Her Excellency Joy Wheeler.

TrackAlerts.com welcomes your thoughts and opinions. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, racist, abusive, and threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned and we will cooperate with authorities. Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. Comments posted here do not reflect the views of the management and staff of TrackAlerts.com. Click here for our full comment policy/agreement.