• Franno Blasts Lenin

Francis blasts JAAA

Says association should clean up rather than prosecute MVP athletes

BY KAYON RAYNOR, Senior staff reporter raynork@jamaicaobserver.com

Thursday, August 20, 2009

BERLIN, Germany - Stephen Francis, head coach of the MVP Track Club, believes the Jamaica Amateur Athletics Association (JAAA) will be better served trying to eradicate doping from the sport in Jamaica than trying to prosecute his athletes.

Francis' utterance comes in the aftermath of reports that the JAAA plans to have a disciplinary hearing to sanction members of the MVP Track Club who missed the mandatory pre-championship camp in Nuremberg between August 6 and 11.

"Look here, Mr Aris can do whatever he wants. If he decides that what he wants to do is victimise the athletes, fine!" Francis told the Observer last night after Brigitte Foster-Hylton won Jamaica's first ever gold in the sprint hurdles in the history of the IAAF World Championships.

"The sport has changed a lot since the time that he has been boss of this sport in Jamaica and I don't want to issue any challenges, but I think that what we need to really do is to find out how we can. I mean it doesn't look good for you to be victimising these athletes while the ones who took the drugs are running around and their coaches and so on being supported by the JAAA," Francis reasoned. "It is stink all over the world and the JAAA needs to understand that what they should be doing is trying to find out how to get the sport in Jamaica drug free. That is what they need to be doing," an upset Francis said. The five athletes who are currently embroiled in a dope case are Sheri-Ann Brooks, Yohan Blake, Lansford Spence, Marvin Anderson and Allodin Fothergill.

He did not clear the air on the matter of whether his athletes were notified in writing or verbally by the JAAA that the camp in Nuremberg was mandatory.

Asked if the performances of his athletes justified them not attending the camp, the astute coach replied: "It's not a matter of justification, it's a matter of philosophies. Most of what I do is either new to or foreign to the traditionalists, a lot of whom are in the JAAA. They don't understand the importance of coaching, they don't understand the importance of judging scientific calculations of quantities of work and that kind of stuff, and that is a lot of the reason why we end up clashing so much."

He continued: "I believe that if I don't stick to my guns, my charges are not going to perform well and I believe I have evidence of that in Osaka and, to a lesser extent, last year in Beijing and so to me it's usually the question of do you, for a peaceful life, bow to the JAAA's dictates and the athletes don't perform or do you try and challenge them and if they are allowed to participate know that you'll get good performances, and it's something that I hope we don't have to go through over and over again," Francis said.

"The only reason why these people (athletes) can train is because they have contracts with shoe companies and these meets are more than just winning gold medals and silver medals for Jamaica. These meets determine whether or not these people will have their contracts next year and when they make mistakes and don't perform well their contracts are taken away and the JAAA or the Government is not going to replace that money," Francis said, noting that athletes can't survive in the sport otherwise.

On August 13, JAAA president Howard Aris confirmed that sanctions will be taken against the MVP athletes who had missed Jamaica's mandatory camp in Nuremberg.

"The JAAA's rules and regulations are very clear, persons who bring the association or the sport into disrepute can be brought before a panel," Aris said during a press conference here.

The athletes who could face sanctions for missing the JAAA's six-day camp are Asafa Powell, Shelly-Ann Fraser, Melaine Walker, Shericka Williams, Kaleise Spencer and Brigitte Foster-Hylton.

Aris indicated that the three-member panel, which was empanelled in January, is chaired by former Jamaica Chief Justice Lensley Wolfe.

The other members are former Attorney General of Jamaica Winston Spaulding, and former chief of staff of the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF) Major General John Simmonds. Aris did not indicate what possible actions the athletes could face.
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

I hope that the JAAA stand strong to them conviction and do the right thing. No one man or team is bigger than Jamaica, now with the success that MVP has had even though we all love it, this will seem some sort of vindication it is not, we cannot mix up success with selfishness, it is very clear to me that this is a 100% ego thing and Mr Franno needs to show shome degree of compromise to come out now and make these statements is nothing short of baiting and goaging of the highest level.

No one man/woman is bigger than Jamaica when we all start believing that we will start turning things around in the real world, yes the one where people live in poverty every day with no opportunity to even get the most basic of jobs and that real world is getting worse.

BTW anyone hear about this situation where an American rapper coming into Ja refused to show his passport as he said everyone knows who he is and that he could buy Jamaica if he wanted, I don't know if is true but i really hope the Jamaican Immigration sent him back to where him come from, however I am sure that did not happen as too much money was to be made, anyway can you imagine if a Jamaican artists said that to the US immigration, yes it would be no question, he would be back in Jamaica with no hope of ever coming to the US again. All that to say we cannot compromise who we are in the face of one person who has achieved a little success. Enough said.

Should he have put Jamaican sport and drug in same sentence
      I mean it doesn't look good for you to be victimising these athletes while the ones who took the drugs are running around and their coaches and so on being supported by the JAAA," Francis reasoned. "It is stink all over the world and the JAAA needs to understand that what they should be doing is trying to find out how to get the sport in Jamaica drug free. That is what they need to be doing," an upset Francis said.

Frano wouldn't have let his charge show up no matter how he was notfied.
      He continued: "I believe that if I don't stick to my guns, my charges are not going to perform well and I believe I have evidence of that in Osaka and, to a lesser extent, last year in Beijing and so to me it's usually the question of do you, for a peaceful life, bow to the JAAA's dictates and the athletes don't perform or do you try and challenge them and if they are allowed to participate know that you'll get good performances, and it's something that I hope we don't have to go through over and over again," Francis said.
      “Pele should go back to the museum,” Maradona

The JAAA is archaic in how they run their affairs and that is the crux of the problem with this sudden explosion of Jamaicas sprint dominance they haven't a clue on how to get the most of it , rather than seek professional guidance or relinquish the post to professionals, they hide under the cloud of discipline to maintain the status quo which is really professional incompetence or as stated by some at best an international comedy show.

I am pretty sure they will have their supporters from the Ole school i.e Karl and Siccko who see nothing wrong with the JAAA behavior.Its clear cut to them a directive was given it must be followed.

In this day of professional sports with millions of dollars in TV rights and shoe contracts involved their is a grey line called sponsorship and it has a big say.Welcome to the real world JAAA.

I am still waiting for a response from Siccko if the JAAA having Mr Mills as head coach is a clear conflict of interest ?

It will be more of the same from the JAAA ,well lets see what sanctions await the IAAF golden league stars, I am sure they will find out what the world already knows , its not MVP/Franno vs the JAAA anymore, that lie died in Bejing.

It's not a matter of justification, it's a matter of philosophies. Most of what I do is either new to or foreign to the traditionalists, a lot of whom are in the JAAA. They don't understand the importance of coaching, they don't understand the importance of judging scientific calculations of quantities of work and that kind of stuff, and that is a lot of the reason why we end up clashing so much."

"The only reason why these people (athletes) can train is because they have contracts with shoe companies and these meets are more than just winning gold medals and silver medals for Jamaica. These meets determine whether or not these people will have their contracts next year and when they make mistakes and don't perform well their contracts are taken away and the JAAA or the Government is not going to replace that money," Francis said, noting that athletes can't survive in the sport otherwise.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

If only he had left the drug thing alone...Franno seems unable to help himself when it comes to creating controversy.

Other than that he makes some very good arguments.

You think its about the JAAA vs MVP or the JAAA vs the IAAF GOLDEN LEAGUE STARS?

Cho man yuh tink a poppy show dis , whey man can say JUMP , and yuh say how high? Yuh a pay di man million dollars and feed im pickney?

You have not grasped the business concept of the whole thing until then , its all about directives and following orders right ? to achieve a sense of doing something the right way , regardless if we end up medaless and our athletes starve.

I wont even argue about that notification of camp issue , or the camp thing period.Its a non issue to the IAAF , so its a non issue as it apllies to all the GOLDEN LEAGUE STARS AND COACH !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Islandman , like I said from the get go and Willi too, its a conflict of interest and it will cause problems .

PUREEEEE PROBLEMS SSS !!!

yes, i hope that they stick to their guns too. WAKE UP AND EMBRACE THE FUTURE! Franno had a paragraph for people like yourself:

Asked if the performances of his athletes justified them not attending the camp, the astute coach replied: "It's not a matter of justification, it's a matter of philosophies. Most of what I do is either new to or foreign to the traditionalists, a lot of whom are in the JAAA. They don't understand the importance of coaching, they don't understand the importance of judging scientific calculations of quantities of work and that kind of stuff, and that is a lot of the reason why we end up clashing so much."
                Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Unfortunately you don't know the history between the JAAA and MVP. Did you know that a prominent member in the JAAA once told Franno that if it was up to him, he would drug test Franno too?

For the past 5 years, a prominent former member of JAAA has been on a witch hunt to "find out wha Franno a give him athletes"

When yo kick a man ina him face while he's down, he'll bite your eyes out!

You really that naive to buy the US rapper thing?

Its Jakan law that he cant enter without ID and nobody caan get round that. Hell, even when yuh should you valid Jakan passport the Immigration dem bright up demselves and a gwaan like seh yuh have to prove youself to eneter you own country. No way nuh yankee going get in wid badmanism. Nah go happen.

In any case, said hypothetical rapper cant re-enter the US without his valid US passport, so this is just an urban legend in the making.

As for the JAAA stuff, if you feel so strongly, how can you love the medals. Is that not hypocrisy?

What is a conflict of interest? Mills as head coach you mean? I agree. When I saw him working with Bailey just before the start of the 100m it was very obvious that this will be a problem going forward. You can't have the national coach working with other nations athletes in a major championship.

Nonethless Frannos statements on the drug issue with our athletes in that article were irresponsible and unnecessary.

outside expertise is not welcome in the fish tank boss. Afterall your just a clueless breddah who post pan a website and repeat rumours. What's the value of the currency these days?

As for the JAAA stuff, if you feel so strongly, how can you love the medals. Is that not hypocrisy?
                          No, Willi. They all have to come to some agreement and understanding. But clubs, athletes and coaches cannot be allowed to do their own thing. Just because they win and we are happy for them, that does not justify indiscipline.

Shhh

Mek dem gwaan like seh this is a one sided affair.

How they really think that someone of that calibre would needlessly jeopardize his successful business model just for the sake of ego is beyond me!!!

What, dem think Franno is doing this to lord it over the JAAA? How does that help him? How does that further his business interests and pursuit of his passion?

It should be clear to all that Franno wants these albatrosses OFF HIS BACK. No more, no less. He wants to do his thing in peace with no more needless interference, negative campaigns, financial threats to his athletes, harrassment, bad vibes, anti-MVP made up rules, etc.

Imagine if the JAAA was in the 21st century and could reasonably discuss training innovations with him and design/adapt programs for the entire athletic fraternity that would benefit all.

What, unno dont think Franno is innovative and have ideas to offer to Jakan athletics? Franno is to coaching what Bolt is to sprinting!!!! They should be bending over backwards to get him into the fold, by any means necessary.

That is what the fossils in and out of the JAAA dont yet understand!!!!

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
                              "The JAAA's rules and regulations are very clear, persons who bring the association or the sport into disrepute can be brought before a panel," Aris said during a press conference here.
                              Does that go for the JAAA also?