Shericka and Sanya

• Shericka and Sanya

I recall the rather subdued response when Shericka Williams belatedly arrived in Jamaica last year after the Olympic Games. There was none of the fanfare surrounding the arrival of some of the other athletes, and it was primarily her small home community that remembered her and celebrated.

Here on the forum, there has been hardly any comment following her performance yesterday in Berlin. I guess her outstanding silver medal counts for nothing?

Let me also use this opportunity to congratulate one of my favorite athletes on the planet, Sanya Richards!! I adore this young lady more than I can begin to explain, and despite the fact that she beat Shericka, I can live with that. In fact, I will go as far as to suggest that there is not a bigger fan of Sanya on this forum than me! She is beautiful, charismatic, decent, extraordinarily talented, and she is Jamaican (the decision to run for the USA was not made by Sanya when she was a teen back in 2002, and this is a fact that her detractors stupidly continue to disregard).

STERLING SILVER!
    Shericka Williams takes second spot in Women's 400m
    BY KAYON RAYNOR Senior staff reporter raynork@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, August 19, 2009

BERLIN, Germany - Shericka Williams produced a lifetime best 49.32 seconds to win silver in the women's 400 metres, taking Jamaica's medal tally to five, after four days at the 12th IAAF World Championships.

The Olympic silver medallist, who shaved 0.21 seconds off her previous career best of 49.51 established in her semi-final, finished 0.32 seconds behind Jamaican-born American Sanya Richards, who clocked a world-leading 49.00secs.

Jamaica's Shericka Williams is a picture of pride after clocking a lifetime best 49.32 seconds to take the silver medal in the women's 400 metre at the IAAF World Championships in Berlin, Germany yesterday. The Gold was won by Jamaican-born American Sanya Richards in a world-leading 49.00 seconds. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)

"I'm happy with myself and two silver two times is really a good career, and that's just the stepping stone to what might come in the future," Williams said.

"To be number two (in the world) is still a very good achievement. I couldn't run any faster and I'm very happy to run my personal best," the St Elizabeth Technical High School alumnus added.

The Stephen Francis-coached quarter-miler joins national record holder Lorraine Fenton-McKenzie with two silver and one bronze; Sandie Richards (one silver and one bronze), as well as Novlene Williams-Mills (2007 bronze), as the only Jamaican women to have medalled in the event in the history of the World Championships.

BERLIN, Germany - Shericka Williams (centre) is embraced by teammate Novlene Williams-Mills while Jamaican-born US athlete Sanya Richards moves to congratulate her on her silver medal performance in the 400m at the 12th IAAF World Championships yesterday. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)

Writer Kayon Raynor - Just Awful

One of my favorite activities in the mornings while reading the online newspapers is counting the errors in Jamaica Observer sports writer Kayon Raynor’s stories!! This guy is incredible, and I sometimes wonder if anybody has ever spoken to him about the importance of checking his facts and his spelling!!

His “Lorraine Fenton-McKenzie” gaffe in the story I posted above is a classic example of Kayon at his best!! (Did Lorraine legally remove her surname Graham, divorce Mr. Fenton and then marry a new man, McKenzie! This is hilarious, and enough to make me choke over my coffee!!)

I sincerely hope that Kayon is not a poster on this forum, because he would be dismayed by my negative comments. But his mistakes are so frequent, and they occur even in articles he writes for the Caribbean News Agency (CANA)!!

I am aldo happy for both Shericka and Sanya. Of course I would have preferred for the gold to be in Jamaicas medal haul, but how can you not feel that Sanya deserves a World Championship? She has easily been the best 400m runner in the world for a number of years.

As for the anti-Sanya crew, it always amuses me how many of our people can publicly take the US Oath of allegiance:

("I hereby declare, on oath, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen..." )

in order to further thier career or economic status, yet consider someone like Sanya a traitor for running for the US , especially when as you have said, it was NOT totally her decision anyway.

Hell, even if it WAS her decision only, I would not hate on her without knowing the details of why she made the choice. I would not cheer for her over an athlete in JA colors, but that is different from wishing misfortune on her.

mi not saying a word!

I am happy for Sanya and i think that the anti sentiments are mostly from from Jamaicans living in Jamaica.I cannot see anyone licking out against anyone that competes for their adopted country after leaving Jamaica at an early age.

We will win that 4 X400 I am a 100 % sure of it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Was an excellent run. Like Richards I think she can presently go faster by running 'taller' in the last 50M.

Good run!
            CONGRATULATIONS to young Miss Shericka Williams!

The 4 x 400M W?

We have a shot but I am thinking the US wins again.

Shericka - Sanya ...edge Sanya
              Williams-Mills - Felix ...Felix big advantage.

The rest -i.e. other two runners? ..relay running? The more aggressive US runners...ahead!

running taller - huh?!?

Well you know me. Mi have fi big up all them who go out deh and try so hard because mi know it nuh easy. Big up to Mills as well, not a bad run.

I hope we can pip the US in the 4*4.

Well mi nah go say a nuh Sanya decision, but big her up as well, she shake the syndrome and beat mi girl.

Historian quote
                    I recall the rather subdued response when Shericka Williams belatedly arrived in Jamaica last year after the Olympic Games. There was none of the fanfare surrounding the arrival of some of the other athletes, and it was primarily her small home community that remembered her and celebrated.

======================================

Historian,
                    It was not because anyone was slighting her. Bruce James, President of MVP did explain that there was a mix-up in the details of her flight or something of the sort.

Please don't let the haters start cussing the JAAA now.

Assasin....No Credit to Mills!!

Well you know me. Mi have fi big up all them who go out deh and try so hard because mi know it nuh easy. Big up to Mills as well, not a bad run.

I hope we can pip the US in the 4*4.

Well mi nah go say a nuh Sanya decision, but big her up as well, she shake the syndrome and beat mi girl.
                      Assasin, it was NOT Sanya’s decision. That decision was made by one (maybe both) of her parents.

Also, Glen Mills is not Shericka Williams’ coach; the often overlooked Stephen Francis is!!

That's It, Islandman!!

I am aldo happy for both Shericka and Sanya. Of course I would have preferred for the gold to be in Jamaicas medal haul, but how can you not feel that Sanya deserves a World Championship? She has easily been the best 400m runner in the world for a number of years.

As for the anti-Sanya crew, it always amuses me how many of our people can publicly take the US Oath of allegiance:

("I hereby declare, on oath, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen..." )

in order to further thier career or economic status, yet consider someone like Sanya a traitor for running for the US , especially when as you have said, it was NOT totally her decision anyway.

Hell, even if it WAS her decision only, I would not hate on her without knowing the details of why she made the choice. I would not cheer for her over an athlete in JA colors, but that is different from wishing misfortune on her.
                        I honestly love your post, boss ! I don’t even know why I only highlighted certain sections, as everything you said should be highlighted!

Sometimes the hypocrisy of some Jamaicans makes me feel like vomiting! Literally!!

Thank you Islandman.

Some of the same hypocrites would sell their house & land and mother to get a US Visa.

And I'll say again, anytime their children, who reside in any foreign land, get into a professional sport, they are going to do everything in their power to ensure that the son or daughter represent the club or country that will fatten the coffers.

I remember some years ago on the Carib site, one poster was wishing that she never set foot in Jamaica again. Yet the irony, is that Sanya was there the year before and took dozens of spikes to her old school Vaz Prep.

Tell me how much some of the so called nationalists contribute to the society, more than to "roun up them mouth".

I Forgot!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                            Historian,
                            It was not because anyone was slighting her. Bruce James, President of MVP did explain that there was a mix-up in the details of her flight or something of the sort.

Please don't let the haters start cussing the JAAA now.
                            I just remembered that explanation by Bruce James! I had forgotten all about MVP’ statement on the matter, and I apologize, MdmeX.

I am happy for Sanya and i think that the anti sentiments are mostly from from Jamaicans living in Jamaica.I cannot see anyone licking out against anyone that competes for their adopted country after leaving Jamaica at an early age.

We will win that 4 X400 I am a 100 % sure of it.
                              X - yuh wrong, nuff of who licking out and hating on her are naturalized Jamaicans living in the U.S. (who not going back to Jamaica to live), Canada etc.