• JAAA continue to be laughing stock of the world

IAAF president happy he intervened in Jamaican impasse

BERLIN – President of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Mr Lamine Diack says he is happy that he intervened in the impasse between the Jamaica Amateur Athletics Association (JAAA) and the MVP Track Club, which might have prevented several of Jamaica’s top athletes from performing at the ongoing World Championships in Athletics, in Berlin, Germany.

Mr Diack said he was confident that he made the right decision as Jamaica is a very important force in athletics.

“I think what we did was what was supposed to be done. I was very happy that I was listened to by the president (Howard Aris) and all the team."

Mr Diack said he was not surprised by Usain Bolt’s world record performance. In fact, he was expecting it. “I am not surprised. I came here expecting a world record and we got one.”

Asked whether he thought Usain Bolt was among the greatest athletes of all time Mr Diack said: “I think he is one of the great ones. I can’t say he is the greatest but he is among the best of all time and we will see what comes in the future.”

The JAAA had moved to suspend several of the island’s top athletes from the team competing in Berlin over their failure to attend a pre-games training camp. The incident, which affected athletes who are members of the Stephen Francis-led MVP camp, including this Sunday’s 100 Metres Bronze Medallist Asafa Powell and Olympic 100 Metres Champion Shelly-Ann Fraser, drew the attention of international media which poured scorn on the JAAA administration. On Mr Diack’s intervention, the JAAA reversed the decision.

JAAA President Howard Aris indicated at a press conference in Berlin last Thursday that there may still be sanctions against the athletes involved after the games are concluded. He said he would await a report on the games and if there were questions to be answered by the athletes, he would ask the JAAA disciplinary panel to adjudicate in the matter.
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

These guys are being dragged , beaten and embarrased into the age of Professionalism screaming and yelling.They dont want to enter it quietly.

I cannot wait for the sanctions, the appeal and the verdict.If its all about discipline tell the JAAA to apply for Chief of Staff of the JDF, if its about the busine$$ of profesionalism , tell them to leave it alone.

How in the world did it cross their minds to mash up the IAAF money bag to make a point ? What and whose interest would it serve ? certainly not jamaica.

I hope the copy and paste media has the balls to ask the JAAA president this ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

yo no si seh a peer militant and activist judge mek up di tribunal?...LOL. if a laugh inna di nite ya
      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

They will be overruled if push comes to shove by the IAAF .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

high ranking jamaicans!

Hahahahahahahahahaha