Jaaa in problems

• Jaaa in problems

Berlin - Former 100 metres world record holder Asafa Powell, Olympic 100m champion Shelly-Ann Fraser and four other Jamaican athletes did not violate the whereabouts doping rule when they failed to show up at a national team world championship training camp. "They gave their details. We knew where they were," spokesman Nick Davies from the ruling athletics body IAAF said on Thursday.

The six athletes did attend the mandatory Jamaican training camp in southern Germany but trained in Italy.

The Jamaican athletics federation on Wednesday wanted the athletes withdrawn from the team because they allegedly violated the whereabouts rule as the Jamaican federation had listed them as part of the training camp.

But the request was withdrawn later that day after talks with IAAF boss Lamine Diack and other officials. However, Jamaican officials did not rule out sanctions after the Berlin worlds which start on Saturday and run until August 23.

Diack said on Thursday that the IAAF intervened for the good of the championships, which are to provide as much class as the athletics events at last year's Beijing Olympics.

"We want to make Berlin a repeat of Beijing," said Diack. "We can not do this if Jamaica does this (withdraw the athletes). You can have national reasons. I have far important reasons. I went to the Jamaican team and explained it."

Jamaica won five of six sprint titles in Beijing, highlighted by 100m, 200m and 4x100m titles from Usain Bolt in world record time. The team hopes to be as successful in Berlin.

Powell said he was not amused about the case, telling Thursday's edition of the Jamaica Observer: "It's just really bad how our own country was fighting us down and someone else had to stop it.

"I honestly wasn't worried, I more felt bad about the whole situation because my own people were fighting me off (the team) and I have been in this thing for a while now."

"I'm going out there to do my best, but I'm not comfortable," Powell said.

Still unresolved is the case of five Jamaican sprinters including 100m hope Yohan Blake.

The athletes tested positive for a stimulant in June, were cleared by a disciplinary commission but the nation's anti-doping body JADCO has appealed this ruling.

The IAAF said it will reach a decision on the five before Saturday's start of the worlds. The Jamaican federation announced a news conference for later Thursday on the issue.
    Last edited by Karl; August 14, 2009, 09:12 PM.

Mi really nuh want to hear this as nuh excuse for Asafa if him nuh run up to him standards.

cho man
      dis bigga dan dat.

Serious bizniz this. Wait till after WCs and you will see who gets brought to heel.

This is my biggest problem with this entire scenario, JAAA handing the man an excuse...then again...sport is about being the best on the day... so let us wait..I know I wont hold my breath, lose off him too often now

Bigger than that or not, mi nuh want to hear nuh excuse.

Big argument!!

I have refrained from commenting too much on this issue out of the utmost respect for the athletes and coaches involved but I feel compelled to say a little something after reading Howard Aris's comments in the JA Observer today and the pronouncement from the IAAF that the MVP athlethes did not violate the whereabouts rule. Even if we accept that the much bally booed training camp was mandatory and that this was known by all athletes to be the case there are other serious concerns here that point to a leadership vacuum at the JAAA. Leaders by definition are supposed to manage a crisis in such a way that the organization they lead is strengthened and not weakened after the crisis passes. In today's Observer Aris tells us that the organization withdrew it's ban on the MVP athletes performing after discussions with Lamine Diack about the larger picture and how this would impact the games and that what is now going to happen is that the athletes will be brought before a disciplinary panel and could face sanctions. It is obvious that Aris is making this up as he goes along, why wasn't the disciplinary panel involved in deciding what sanctions to apply against the athletes supposedly in violation in the first place, athletes that already been presented with their credentials indicating their participation at Worlds. Why did it take Lamine Diacks intervention to find a compromise solution if the JAAA had a clear set of rules about how it should proceed? And why did the country have to find out about our own athletes being banned through foreign media?

It is the leadership of the JAAA that has brought disgrace to the sport and country more so than the athletes by failing to have in place clear rules governing mediation and sanctions to to deal with athlete violations. They do not even it seems appear to understand the whereabouts rule as indicated by the IAAF's ruling. I do not see how Aris and the board can continue to hold their positions. The honourable thing to do here is for them to do here is to resign and disband and for a new board to be put in place. The board would put in place clear rules and a rule book that all athletes are signatories to so if you miss camp for example it is a $10000 fine. JAAA cannot be calling for discipline when it is clear it does not have it's own house in order. Aris must go and so should the rest of the board. (And I am not even going to bring up the handling of the athlete stimulant issue - the whole thing stinks to high heaven).

But for now let us all enjoy the games and I'll hold off on the petition til after Worlds.

You wont hear a thing from me....

There can be no other way.

However, if MVP did anything wrong, there should be penalties as well!

You actually read all that? You are a better man than me...

that's what your girl said!

heh heh!

Yuh post dis pan yuh site?
                      A dem ting yah mi did a talk bout wah day!

...mark yuh mi nuh ha-gree wid di sentiment dem, but in-tah-res-ting chat!

do you believe Obama will create death panels?
                        Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                        Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
                          do you believe Obama will create death panels?
                          Never knew Obama was a member of MVP?

ok. so do you think Obama will create death panels?
                            Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                            Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Or maybe he will pass a law that the switch be turned off for anybody over 70 that is on life support for more than 24 hours. LOL!

You ever hear this speech by Reagan in the early 1960s about what would happen to America if Medicare was passed? Socialism would be just around the corner! 50 years later its the same silly argument even though he was totally wrong about Medicare.

Now today the old morons who listened to and agreed with this audio back then are bleeding Medicare dry and screaming that the govt should not get involved in health care.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fRdLp...eature=related