Chambers aims to foil Gay/Bolt 100m duel

• Chambers aims to foil Gay/Bolt 100m duel

BERLIN, Germany (AFP) - Dwain Chambers, the "walking junkie" as he termed himself when he was taking performance enhancing drugs, will be looking for a different high at the World Championships where he is out to spoil the Tyson Gay/Usain Bolt 100 metres duel.

The 31-year-old British sprinter has sought unsuccessfully to convince the major athletics meeting organisers to accept him back in the fold after serving a two-year ban for doping, but should he win a medal here it would make a strong case for him being invited.

Unable to compete at the Olympics, despite going to court over it, it will be the first time he pits his wits at championship level against Gay and world record holder Bolt.

However, Chambers appears to be undaunted at the prospect of taking on the great Jamaican showman - who he trained with in 2006 - as he told The Times earlier this year.

"His (Bolt's) antics automatically sent everyone into fear in Beijing," said Chambers, who has tried his hand at American football and rugby league without success.

"It's a message like one of those deers that prances up and down to show how elegant they are. The rest thought they were running for second place, but Bolt didn't even think he was going to win.

"It's about putting fear into people. I wanted to make people quiver in their boots. Muhammad Ali did it. You need a poker face. I learnt that from watching Roger Federer - you can tell he was mad as hell but he never shows it."

However, while Chambers talks a brave talk, should he repeat his performance at the British trials then he would probably be lucky to even make the final as he finished second behind Simeon Williamson, admittedly into a strong headwind.

Despite that, Chambers, who won the European Indoor title and the 100 and 200m at the European Team Championships this season to add to a world indoor 60m silver last year, believes that is just the sort of performance that will buck him up.

"I think I need a kick up the backside; I've not had to really fight for anything this season, but now I do," said Chambers.

"Now we can start having some fun and dropping some times."

While Chambers has angered many with what they see as his arrogance since returning from the ban, he is simply motivated to prove the meeting organisers are plain wrong and throw it back at them every time he has the chance to compete.

"It's like a dog that does not get fed very often," he told The Times.

"I'm being fed Pedigree Chum and I'm chowing it down."

Time will tell whether he has digested it well enough to really compete with the likes of Bolt and Gay.

chambers remind me of the lady i saw on cnn the other night claiming that she is billie jean and the mother of ALL of michael jackson's children.....she had a look of i cannot stop myself ..someone please stop me for me!!!!

chambers looking attention which he knows he will not get by winning the 100! so, he gets his attention now!

http://www.spiegel.de/international/...642211,00.html
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Agreed!!

chambers remind me of the lady i saw on cnn the other night claiming that she is billie jean and the mother of ALL of michael jackson's children.....she had a look of i cannot stop myself ..someone please stop me for me!!!!

chambers looking attention which he knows he will not get by winning the 100! so, he gets his attention now!
        I love this post of yours, Gamma! It’s right on the ball and certainly well stated!

I cannot for the life of me understand why Dwain Chambers continues to fool himself into believing that he’ll be a factor in Sunday’s final. Even if he reaches the final, I expect even his countryman Simeon Williamson to do better than him!

for that matter, his presence in the finals is not a certainty!

But then again, if Chambers doesn't demonstrate confidence in his abilities; who else will

From that point of view, can't say I blame the man for blabbing
            “Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”

LOL Agree but....

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
              But then again, if Chambers doesn't demonstrate confidence in his abilities; who else will

From that point of view, can't say I blame the man for blabbing
              I understand your point, MdmeX, and I certainly agree with you except that, in my opinion, Chambers has been blabbing so much that it’s almost distracting. All he seems to do is blab, and after the finals in the British nationals recently, I realized that Chambers doesn’t necessarily have the ability to back up his words.

In fact, I’m going to bet that even the USA’s Mike Rodgers will come out ahead of Chambers. (The sad reality, also, is that Great Britain is not much of a factor in men or women’s sprinting at this time.)

But I agree with you that Chambers has to “demonstrate confidence in his abilities,” because there are not likely to be a lot of others who do.

how is confidence demonstrated? the excessive chatting shows the opposite IMHO.....ef him need to talk to be confident den him might as well not enter!

ali could chat...but him always back it up, by the time he was fighting liston he had already shown what he is capable of...chambers couldn't even win his own nationals and the guy who won....gets blown away pretty much by everyone!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  (The sad reality, also, is that Great Britain is not much of a factor in men or women’s sprinting at this time.)
                  When was GB a factor in women's sprinting?

he's talking about chambers...stick wid di programme nuh?

Yall missing the point. The man is trying to drive fear into Bolt.

ok..well then EVERYBODY including chambers himself...mis dat dere point!!!!

A wa do da fool deh,if him mek the 100m final mi eat me hat to rahtid.