• Patty shop business in Berlin

Western News
    JAAA, the laughing stock of track world
    On The Sporting Edge
    Paul Reid
    Thursday, August 13, 2009
    One of the reasons persons are elected to lead organisations is the ability to effectively lead, which includes making decisions, which might not be popular but are for the best interest of all concerned.

Leaders are people who command respect from everyone over whom they have 'authority' and while some may not respect the person per se, they have to respect the position the person holds.

To earn respect a leader must be one who is known to make the right decision, most of the time, and stand by it.

The action of the Jamaican track and field bosses in Berlin, Germany yesterday, by first asking the International Association of Athletic Federations (IAAF) to withdraw the credentials of six members of the team and then mere hours later being 'urged' by the IAAF to rethink the decision, gives the impression they are not in charge of their own show

According to a wire service story, IAAF General Secretary Pierre Weiss was quoted to have said they "put pressure on the federation to change its mind because the exclusion of the six prominent athletes would reflect badly on the championship itself...we asked Jamaica to reconsider in the interest of the sport".

Later in the day we heard again that IAAF and JAAA were meeting and the six would be asked to "withdraw". This back and forthing is enough to make anyone dizzy and the question must be asked 'Who is really in charge here?'

Why is the JAAA allowing the IAAF to tell them how to manage their business? Isn't there a competent management committee in place in Germany, vested with the powers to make decisions?

Then again, maybe the JAAA's poor handling of the entire matter in the first place, forced the world's governing body to step in and take control of the situation.

And of course the IAAF will not have to live with both entities in the same small country when they come back from Germany as well as the foreseeable future.

With respect to the well-run patty shops, and until we hear the full story, what we see happening in Germany looks like a patty shop business.
    It is disappointing to say the very least that on the eve of the start of the event that should have prolonged our legacy as the newest sprint giants, that we should have this distraction so close on the heels of the amateurish handling of the drug tests including five members of the team.

For once, can't we get it right?
    Hopefully starting this weekend the performance of our athletic ambassadors will go some way towards lessening the bitter taste all of this has left in our mouths.
    Last edited by Karl; August 14, 2009, 10:46 PM.

Who is this imposter posing as Reid?? This is what the Americans call "reversing himself'.

You might need to go back and read between the lines again..or maybe Yuttie is right I am not that good a writer and just a pi55 poor hack of a journalist.

Hey Sickko, me tek offense how yuh waan degrade the patty shop biznezz. Dem clowns' fe go sell kisko inna Cross Roads. Speaking bout patty, I could a eat 2 right ya now. Royal Caribbean Bakery (Dyer Ave, Bronx) have the bestest patties inna the whirl!!!!! Betta than Tastee.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

..or maybe I can't read...

I dont eat patty so cant comment, gives me heart burn

Hmmm?

How about Jamaica finding about this via the farrin press?

Not even the courtesy of informing the nation of moves until MUCH later.

Also, the punishment should fit the crime, no?

The principle of proportionality was completely ignored and manifested in rash/emotional decision making.

If they put athletes interest first, I guarantee that they will eliminate almost all problems they face.

JAAA needs to be an honest broker thoughout.

Live a T&T too long maybe, dont it Mosiah?

For various reasons maybe too long to go in to here, I wanted Asafa to run in the meet but once the JAAA took their decision they should have stood their ground as the IAAF CANNOT force them to do anything.

Another bone headed decision was to go to the IAAF in the first place, why not just leave off the names when they sent in the entry forms?

You think the IAAF gives a damn about our internal politics? How long has this been going on, you ever see the IAAF step in once or even comment?

They have not even tried to be subtle either, Pierre Weiss said this is their baby and they are protecting - read that any way you want.

Mind you the IAAF and Jamaica does have a very good relationship and I have benefitted professionally from this relationship but when we leave Berlin, the IAAF can wash their hands of this little affair and continue on their way while we will have to live with it.

Royal Caribbean Bakery (Dyer Ave, Bronx) have the bestest patties inna the whirl!!!!! Betta than Tastee.
                  Is a NY ting! Poor yuh!

Then again, maybe the JAAA's poor handling of the entire matter in the first place, forced the world's governing body to step in and take control of the situation.
                    iz wha duh yuh sickko... what yuh mean by maybe... yow, yuh fi tawk di tings dem str8 king son... de editor shudda use a rula an slap yuh pon yuh finga dem...

a dis yuh shudda seh... a when since yuh fraid a people...

the jaaa's incompetence at managing the entire situation forced the iaaf, the world's track & field governing authority to assume control and ignored the jaaa's request to eliminate the athletes from the world championships...

Hey Willi me nuh waan yuh come derail the man thread wid the argument. Me a deal wid de man bout some serious issues.

Sickko, because yuh nuh eat patty yuh waan come dis the patty shop? Yuh eat Dumplin?
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

yuh cant send a patty shop vendor fi manage department store... iz time we get some bright people with management expertise fi run de jaaa...

some people ongle get position because they were there with a recognizable name first... happens all over, not just in jamaica...

the first principle is you inform the nation's press core of all happenings before it gets to the foreign press... shows respect for the people of the country of representation... mgt101...

these ad hoc decision making shows a lack of profound thinking... pros/cons contingencies... cause effect actions results... mgt101...

if they huddled and went through these simple exercises they could not have arrived at any of the decisions they made and subsequently exposed their incompetence...

Unless the dumpling have in at least a quarter share of cornmeal, me nuh inna it but I do love me some nice (Negro) yam..the nice soft white one...

Not fair, the people in Berlin are not newcomers, they are people who have been on many trips in the past and have done very well, all of them are persons who have done well for themselves in business or in thei chosen professions.

Unlike the JFF for example, the JAAA actually have people who dont neccessarily have to be yes men to get trips and every one there have earned their place.

So at every major meet there will be an "issue"? until an external body steps in?

I think the IAAF if not, should be, concerned with respect to the internal affairs of Jamaica given the prominence of a certain number of our athletes. Not having commented nor stepping in was giving the JAAA respect (maybe more than they deserve) and a chance to clean their own house; now that they have intervened, maybe things might change??