• Franno's stupid soap opera again!!

ah wha dis faada?

MVP STARS OUT!
    Training camp snub disqualifies athletes
    By HG HELPS Editor-at-Large
    Monday, August 10, 2009

It appears unlikely that some of Jamaica's top athletes will represent the island at the World Championships in Athletics, which starts this weekend in the historic German city of Berlin.

Four of the big names, Olympic 100 metres champion Shelly-Ann Fraser, former world 100 metres record-holder Asafa Powell, 400 metres runner Sherika Williams and sprint hurdler Brigitte Foster Hylton, all members of the Maximising Velocity Power (MVP) Track Club have not shown up at the mandatory pre-World Championships training camp in Nuremberg, Germany, making them ineligible to compete at the championships.
    Asafa Powell and Shelly-Ann Fraser
    Reports have been surfacing - even more so since Williams posted a message on her social network website, Facebook, stating that: "Oh, well, the JAAA say we can't run at World Championships, because we did not attend the training camp," - that the four were automatically axed from the squad.

Inside athletics sources told the Observer late last night that the International Association of Athletic Federations (IAAF) to which the JAAA reports, had insisted that all athletes selected should attend the camp for, among other things, providing urine and blood samples for drug testing.

"It is the same foolishness some of these athletes did in China last year when they said they did not know what was taking place," an athletics source told the Observer.
    President of the JAAA Howard Aris, who is due to leave for Berlin today, said that he was not aware that the Jamaica team's management in Germany had taken the decision to clean house.
    Sherika Williams and Brigitte Foster Hylton
    "I have not been informed of this," Aris said. "The IAAF had contacted the JAAA seeking information on whether or not we were going to have a camp, where the camp would be, where the team would be staying etc.
    "I wrote to (athletes agent) Paul Doyle telling him what the IAAF wanted to do. When we (the JAAA) called to find out where the athletes were going to be staying, we were told that they would be going straight to Berlin. I told Doyle that the camp was mandatory, and if they don't go to the camp, they could not compete," Aris said.

Doyle, who is the agent for Powell, Williams and Foster Hylton, had told the Observer on Friday that he did not know that the camp was a requirement.
    He said that the athletes would not be attending the six-day camp, which started last Thursday.
    "The JAAA has never once sent a message to me that the camp was mandatory. Only the media has been telling me that it's mandatory." Doyle said.

There was controversy associated with Jamaica's participation at last year's Olympic Games in Beijing, China, when athletes from the MVP club arrived late for a pre-Olympic training camp in Tianjin, China, exposing more of the bad blood that has existed between members of the MVP executive and the JAAA.

Last night, second vice-president of the JAAA Dr Warren Blake joined his president in underlining the importance of attending the camp.
    "It was not a secret that if they don't turn up at the camp, they would automatically be disqualified," Blake said.
    It was not clear about the status of another MVP athlete, Olympic champion hurdler Melaine Walker, who had also not attended the camp up to yesterday.
    President of the MVP club Bruce James could not be reached for a comment at press time.

Agreed!
    Do not attend camp - OUT!
    At this stage they are late and thus should be OUT!

I would not take them now!

sometimes we are our own worst enemies! i'm sooooo disappointed...first west indies cricket now this...these days being a fan is hazardous to one's own well being!

Sometimes it seems as if we have a need to have some distraction and controversy to take our attention away from getting the job done.

Very frustrating as a sports fan. I don't even feel the vibe to take part in a forum discussion on this newest crisis.

So right, Gamma and I-man. Unnu tink unnu have it bad? Just imagine being the president of a fan club!

Anyway, I will change my name if those athletes are truly out of the Championships. A better idea would be to fine them heavy, HEAVY! If dem squeal, den ta-ta!

I am not sure whether to laugh or cry or do both...this is so stuuuupid it is not even funny and just wait till the MVP-ites come an and start trying to validate the rubbish that is going on.

FIRST THING FIRST..why was Pauyl Doyle and agent being the one who we heard talking about HE wa snot consulted.

In the pecking order, the agent/manager is the employee of the athletes and takes orders, he does NOT give orders so it makes you wonder whose orders he was carrying out.

It is ironic that on Friday night, Oral Tracey wondered how come things were so quiet in the camp and was waiting for the blow up that came the very next day.

Based on what I am hearing from good sources (LOL!) is that the IAAF communicates with the JAAA who told them long time ago, their camp would be in Nuremberg and so that is where the IAAF turns up to do blood sampling, unless the MVP people had taken the initiative to tell the IAAF/WADA they would not be in Germnay but would be in Italy instead.

Does that make any sense?

I hate to say this but it makes Comment sound sensible as he/she said here yesterday that the MVP people would be out...sigh!

Maybe MVP shoulda get them own island.

Does this apply to all countries or just Jamaica??

Cause not every country is having camps and even when they do, not every country makes it mandatory.

If testing is the issue, then as usual practice, the athletes can announce their whereabouts to the testers beforehand. I am sure they know where Sanya is, and she is NOT in the US camp.

This rationale seems like a red herring to me.

Your SOURCE does not seem to jive with facts...

nonde.script

Doping control:
                  20090719101146_httppostedfile_WAformENG3Q_12225_12 323

For those who are interested in the facts please click on the link....why would the athletes need to be in the camp for testing if they have submitted this form.

The form that each and every athlete has to submit about there whereabout RUBBISHES the Observer's article.....it requires knowledge of the athletes whereabouts between July and September...IAAF will have known exactly where to find the athletes...the claim that they had to be in camp for doping control....IS FALSE AND AN OUTRIGHT LIE....MORE IRRESPONSIBLE JOURNALISM...SO SICK OF IT
                  Last edited by Willi; August 10, 2009, 09:49 AM.

Why did the Observer choose to put such an angry-looking picture of BFH on their front page? This picture would support Yutie's arguments about Hack journalism. You mean to tell me that the could not find a better picture of this beautiful woman?

Bridgette Foster-Hylton

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hack is about getting the facts wrong.

See the doping control form they had to sign from the IAAF that non.descript post and I copied here.

Observer seems to be out to sea. So intent on a witchhunt that they simple ignore inconvenient facts.

put up a better link, Willi
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

true! and that pic without the braces is clearly old!

Willi, why is there always a good excuse for Franno and MVP? I have not heard what it is this time around, apart from Doyle saying him neva hear bout, but why is there this controversy all the time? Are some journalists just out to get MVP? Is this a badmind ting?

Its a PDF download...just copy and paste to the browser...works for me.

Or try this:

http://www.google.com/search?q=20090...Q_12225_12+323