• talking about hack journalism

and which newspaper is the best...

There is an interesting discourse on Face Book started by a former Gleaner employee and includes several other former Gleaner employees and even present ones about the down ward spiral of the old lady on North Street.

These media professionals think the Observer is the better of the two daily papers for quality news with less mistakes and bad grammer.

They are all bemoaning the not so slow decline in the quality of journalism at the paper that used to be seen as the be all and end all and where people would go to learn proper English.

I am not saying the people on my Face Book list are perfect or there are the final word on what is good journalism cause that is always subjective and Yuttie used to say he got his news from the supermarket tabloids.

These people however are experienced journalists and know what to look for.

I made this post just to gove another perspective after we have seen several posts over the past few days chastising the Observer and the journalists there.

Yuttie used to say he got his news from the supermarket tabloids.
    If i laugh i dead, i should pay you for that line... Jamaican journalism is fill with mediocracy, won't even talk bout mi favourite week night comedy sitcom Prime Time News
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

you mean filled right...with your poor command of the English language you could fit right in...

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!.........coming from you? if I had the time to waste(actually i do but not on you) i would look the articles from the Observer, Iaaf site, and even as far back as the Gleaner written by you if i wanted a tutorial how NOT to write. grammatical errors and poor structures paragraph galore.

Reading your articles (Opinion)is like watching a train accident in slow motion.. it's the worse kept secret on the forum.
        Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
        Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

silly man..LOL... maybe thats why I have survived and thrived in the business since 1982...were you even born then?

, yo cyaa reveal mi like that

Gentlemen:

Here are a couple of misspelled words gleaned and observed from writings in this thread; now I know we all make typos so please do not take this personally:

grammar and NOT grammer
              mediocrity and not mediocracy

LOL!

Gentlemen:

Here are a couple of misspelled words gleaned and observed from writings in this thread; now I know we all make typos so please do not take this personally:

grammar and NOT grammer
                  mediocrity and not mediocracy
                  was waiting for someone to jump in on that....

Glad it wasn't me.

lawd man typo...

some typos too regular doh, apparantly!

LOL! Is this the St Elizabeth dialect?
                        Seriously thought I just thought it would be interesting to point out what was going on among the media professionals, the same time the Observer was coming under seroius (and maybe earned) criticism here.

If you notice, I did not take any side in the argument here just gave the facts as they were, even though I made my contribution on the FaceBook discussion and gave my opinion there.

But taste will always be subjective, Mosiah you see the Western Mirror here right- it is a piece of garbage...but it has outsold every other newspaper in western Jamaica on Wednesdays and Saturdays for many, many years.

No one is sure why but some say they buy it as they can see their news reflecte din it, they see events they can associate with, sports teams they know and can see every day plus an extensive obit section...but the writing, the grammEr and everything that goes into proper journalism is missing, non existent.

But who cares it is a cash cow for the publishers...

not quite. seems to be a campion dialect!

yes, if the news is relevant, it will sell. same reason why the NY Times wouldn't do well in Jamaica. the other reason why the Mirror will sell big is is the insular, republican stance of Montegonians. A lie?

Reluctantly... I agree....if you think we are insular here, you should try spending some time in Hanover, trust me they close rank there easily..ask TDowl

some typos too regular doh, apparantly!