• BREAKING NEWS - All four cleared!

BREAKING NEWS - All four cleared!

Published: Sunday | August 9, 2009

All four athletes who appeared before the [COLOR=orange !important][COLOR=orange !important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] Anti-Doping Commission's (JADCO) Disciplinary Panel on Friday - Marvin Anderson, Yohan Blake, Lansford Spence and Allodin Fothergill - have been cleared of doping-related charges, according to a Sunday Gleaner source.
    Information reaching The Sunday Gleaner is that the JADCO Disciplinary Panel, which is chaired by Kent Gammon, met last evening and could not find find any grounds on which to sanction the athletes.The four, along with Sheri-Ann Brooks who was cleared on Wednesday, returned Adverse Analytical Findings (AFF) in the samples from the national trials in June. When contacted last night, Gammon confirmed the [COLOR=orange !important][COLOR=orange !important]meeting[/COLOR][/COLOR]

and said they discussed the evidence but declined to reveal any details.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

BREAKING NEWS - All four cleared!

Published: Sunday | August 9, 2009

All four athletes who appeared before the [COLOR=orange !important][COLOR=orange !important]Jamaica[/color][/color] Anti-Doping Commission's (JADCO) Disciplinary Panel on Friday - Marvin Anderson, Yohan Blake, Lansford Spence and Allodin Fothergill - have been cleared of doping-related charges, according to a Sunday Gleaner source.
    Information reaching The Sunday Gleaner is that the JADCO Disciplinary Panel, which is chaired by Kent Gammon, met last evening and could not find find any grounds on which to sanction the athletes.The four, along with Sheri-Ann Brooks who was cleared on Wednesday, returned Adverse Analytical Findings (AFF) in the samples from the national trials in June. When contacted last night, Gammon confirmed the [COLOR=orange !important][COLOR=orange !important]meeting[/color][/color]

and said they discussed the evidence but declined to reveal any details.

Who will pay for forever damaging the reputation of the innocent athletes?

This process is ridiculous.... compounded now by the lack of info on WHY the decision to clear them was made.

Madness.

don't to forget to mention rthe eckless newspapers with sensationalize headlines such as "CHEATERS", false reports of "positive test", publishing of the wrong substance, the repetitive certitude use of the word dope(what the hell is a dope test? i know what a blood/urine test is, but what's a dope test? seriously); publishing pictures of shirtless muscular athletes with drug tainted headlines,etc

pi$$ poor journalism at best, hack journalist at worse!
      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

If this was a sensible country, the Newsletter would go out of business after that hack job! What a waste of a good tree!

Let's start with the Newsletter. There is no debating that they screwed up royally!

If this was a sensible country, the Newsletter would go out of business after that hack job! What a waste of a good tree!

true word....

Really despicable reporting by the Observer...they should be raked over the coals for this and other gutter journalism practices.

You really need to get a grip Yuttie, trust me this post sounded really ignorant.

Shirtless muscular athletes cast aspersions? Really??? to who- people looking for any little thing to jump on?

Were the photos doctored or were the athletes told to take their shirts off in public where I am sure they saw the photographers with the telescopic lens.

Why do male sprinters train shirtless, do you ever see photos from the NFL combine for example and see how many of the jocks take off their shirts when the cameras come out or train in those skin tight under armour gear...it is called preening...like peacocks do.

If Asafa, Marvin, Yohan and the others did not want to show off their buffness and cuts I am sure they would train in shirts with sleeves.

'Drug tainted headlines'? You mean the headlines on the paper are drug tained? damn....

You have a job to give me when the lock down the Newsletter?

LOl..your being incredible naive or you fail to grasp the concept of pyschological conditioning.. but still you a mi bredgin suh wi reason like civil individuals

by associating a visual with a desired action leads to conditioning, the same reason you stop at a red light, slow down on a yellow light, and drive with the green light. Companies and organisation also use this concept in the form of logos.

When it comes on to doping, we use perfromance and physique as visual signs. Articles with screaming drug headlines(yes "headlines on paper on drug" as you wish) and with picture below with shirtless muscular athletes leads anyone to think of STEROIDS, simple as that. If you are genuinely "ignorant" of this or willfully dismisive so be it. I wonder why other reputable news organisation reframed from posting such pictures.

Your strawman arguements about "Were the photos doctored or were the athletes told to take their shirts off in public" or even "Why do male sprinters train shirtless, do you ever see photos from the NFL combine for example and see how many of the jocks take off their shirts when the cameras come out or train in those skin tight under armour gear...it is called preening...like peacocks do." does not hold
                  Last edited by Yuttie; August 9, 2009, 01:20 PM.
                  Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                  Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

you need to get away from the computer, go chill out on the beach or pool side with a beer in your hand or some Kool Aid or something other than a computer mouse...you are working yourself into a frenzy and it is not good for you.

To add to this you are seeing ghosts coming out of the woodwork...hallucination....

dancehall nice again

yuh arite!

yuh arite!
                          does that mean you do have a job to offer? if so, what?

TSA VP?

If the standard of journalist is to write an article to give thier own personal opinions without giving the readers all the facts .Jamaica is in trouble.

Nothing is wrong with giving your opinion we get it here everyday in the NY Post ((The most racist /anti Obama newpaper in NY) , but facts have to be relevant to any article to let the reader draw his own opinion , regardless of the authors opinion and mainatain your and the newspapers credibilty of transparency and diligence.If it doesnt meet the latter then it is a Hack job, copy and paste.

Two things that worry me about print journalist in Jamaica. 1)Rush to judgement and 2) Opininated articles without certain facts.

Not much of a standard , anyone from the RBSC forum could be a journalist and do a much better job than those at these newspapers.Its not only the Observer the Gleaner but other media houses follow the same trend.They all rotate back and forth to various establishments.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You are aware that there are 'opinion piece' articles and there are 'hard news' articles right?

And that journalists who are thought to be experts in certain areas are asked to write their opinions?

The Philadelphia Enquirer for example has an opinion piece on their lead Sports page every day, commenting on the big sporting event of the day before