• Gay vs Powell today

Gay, Powell for 100m clash in Stockholm

AP

Friday, July 31, 2009

STOCKHOLM, Sweden (AP) - American Tyson Gay and Asafa Powell of Jamaica are set to square off in the 100 metres at the DN Galan Super Grand Prix meet at the Olympic Stadium here today.

Gay won gold medals in the 100, 200 and the 4x100-metre relay with the American team at the 2007 worlds, but he did not compete in Stockholm last year after a series of injuries. Gay won the 200-metre race at the London Grand Prix in 20.00 seconds this past weekend, but then needed painkillers to numb an aching groin.

race run yet? powell betta stop play possum becasue some a di man dem on di forum a tek it to di possum dem...but HARD!

Tyson Gay - 9.79 , Patton - 9.85 Powell 9.88

Tyson looked good. Asafa is still not running through and he looks very beatable.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Tyson looked good?! If that's all he can muster up, with all that tension along with a 2.6 m/s wind... Bolt is smiling!

I am seeing 9.95 and 9.98 for second and third at the IAAF.

1 Tyson Gay USA 9.79 20
          2 Darvis Patton USA 9.95 16
          3 Asafa Powell JAM 9.98 14
          4 Churandy Martina AHO 10.01 12
          5 Jaysuma Saidy Ndure NOR 10.07 10
          6 Monzavous Edwards USA 10.07 8
          7 Kim Collins SKN 10.10 6
          8 Marc Burns TRI 10.16 4

good?

did you not see the man's balls plastered a wall throughout that race?
            Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
            Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

from what i see, it appears asafa has gay under control... asafa looks good to me... he is starting to run in a straight line now... he looks more fluid than earlier in the season... it is clear asafa isn't running to win... more than ever, i am convinced asafa is playing possum...

me too. asafa looked very smooth and cool in this race. gay gave it his all, it seemed.

I am not an expert but what little common sense I have tells me you have to practice running from gun to tape in these build up races for you to be able to execute them when the time comes.

There is a little thing about the mind storing things and muscle memory and when these two combine it can be hard to turn on the full 100 after running 50-60- or 70 metres for weeks leading up...then again as I said I am no expert and just watching the ride.

I am afraid that this possum thing can become road kill once again

Let me guess. If the possum thing work out we will hear "I told you so" otherwise we will hear one bag of other excuse

Re: I am not an expert....

I am not an expert but what little common sense I have tells me you have to practice running from gun to tape in these build up races for you to be able to execute them when the time comes.

There is a little thing about the mind storing things and muscle memory and when these two combine it can be hard to turn on the full 100 after running 50-60- or 70 metres for weeks leading up...then again as I said I am no expert and just watching the ride.

I am afraid that this possum thing can become road kill once again
                      Sickko, I’ve deliberately steered clear of making any comments so far on the Asafa Powell versus Tyson Gay debate. This time, though, I’m going to break my silence to say that I “agree fully” with your comment here! And I am speaking as a great admirer and fan of Asafa since the year 2003.

The fact, whether we like it or not, is that the practice of “running from gun to tape,” as you stated it, is an important ingredient in ones preparation for the big day. This is no doubt among the reasons why other elite athletes like Tyson Gay, Usain Bolt, Mike Rodgers, LaShawn Merritt, Allyson Felix, Shelly-Ann Fraser, Carmelita Jeter, Debbie Ferguson, Laverne Jones, Kerron Stewart, Lashinda Demus, Tirunesh Dibaba, etc. obviously put their all into reaching the tape first!!

I’m sure any credible psychologist will easily verify your notion of “the mind storing things and muscle memory” and how important it is to send the right messages from now to the mind! The fact is that this “possum” idea that is being currently advanced by some Jamaican track fans is not something we often see in track and field!

Regarding bulging eyes, Tyson Gay’s style, from day one, has been characterized by (a) the constant sipping of water at the starting line, followed by (b) a muscle-bulging, eye-popping drive to the finish line! Nothing, as far as I can see, has changed in his style. In addition, his race yesterday was not done in ideal weather conditions!

Simply put, I do not like what I’m seeing from Asafa Powell’s races!