• Secrecy continues to cloud Jamaica’s drugs findings

By Denise Dixon, TrackAlerts.com
    Kingston – There is still no confirmed news out of an eagerly anticipated hearing to decide the fate of five Jamaican athletes.
    The eagerly awaited hearing to be conducted by the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) is being made a big secret after leaks out of Jamaica led to the names of the five athletes said to be implicated was first published by an Italian newspaper.
    It was reported the meeting was scheduled for Wednesday (July 29), but when contacted, Executive Director of the JADCO, Dr. Patrece Charles-Freeman, said: “What I can tell you it’s not today", but quizzed further to find out it would be later this week, "I can not say when, all I can say it’s not today".
    Asked if the B samples, which the athletes requested according to TrackAlerts.com sources, are back, Dr Charles-Freeman, replied: "I can not tell you that".
    However, according to TrackAlerts.com sources, the athletes were informed not to say when is the hearing.
    Depending on the outcome the athletes who are all members of Jamaica’s team to the IAAF World Championships in Berlin, Germany might be removed.
    Former national 400m champion Lansford Spence and Sherri-Ann Brooks, third in the men’s 400m and women’s 100m respectively, are the only two athletes confirmed by TrackAlerts.com who are currently in the island.
    google_protectAndRun("ads_core.google_render_ad", google_handleError, google_render_ad);
    TrackAlerts.com last week confirmed that Brooks through her manager, Spence through his coach, and Allodin Forthergill himself have all received notification about the positive tests.
    Track & fields local governing body the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA) now awaits the ruling before Friday’s deadline date for final entry to the IAAF.
    Last Thursday when news broke of the positive tests, JADCO, the organization, who is responsible for the procedures, labelled the leak as rumors.
    "I cannot give any statement where that is concerned or ease anyone’s mind from this rumor,” Dr. Charles-Freeman was quoted as saying.
    Dr. Herb Elliott a member of JADCO, at the time, said he heard of the rumor and added, “We are waiting to get some information and we are waiting on the facts”.
    However, Prime Minister Bruce Golding’s intervention led to an emergency meeting with JADCO and minutes after a release came to say: “that there are five adverse analytical findings (AAF) from the National Championships, June 26-28".
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The culture of Jamaica and it's media houses is to break a story and not name names. I find this so frustrating. How many times have you seen similar news report like this: "Today, a prominent Kingston businessman was arrested and charged for possession of 500 pounds of compressed marijuana."? The Foreign press: "Today, Elvis Presley, the owner and operator of Presley Sugar Factory, social security number 833-98-9865, date of birth 09/26/1948, who lives a 28 McCook Drive, Lawrence Tavern, in the big yellow house with 6 pickney, was arrested and charged for possession of 500 pounds of compressed marijuana."

People who hold offices in Jamaica can be so cagey with information.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I heard it has something to do with the laws protecting the media though. I don't think you can just come on the air and say things about people without evidence the way the media in the US can.

but I would think that if a person gets arrested, it would be public knowledge. Sickko, some words from the wise here.

Libel Laws in Jamaica

I heard it has something to do with the laws protecting the media though. I don't think you can just come on the air and say things about people without evidence the way the media in the US can.
          Jangle, Islandman was correct in his statement, which is why I’m quoting that statement here.

A basic definition of libel can be stated as follows: Libel is published material that hurts someone’s reputation or destroys their earning power. For libel to occur, the statement in question must NOT be provably true (“provably true” simply means that one must be able to prove the truth of the statement or situation).

For libel to occur, several conditions must exist: (a) the material must be false; (b) it must be defamatory; (c) there must be a specific reference that identifies an individual and hurts that individual’s reputation; (d) the material must be distributed to someone other than the offended party (in other words, published).

The defenses against libel in Jamaica and the Caribbean at large are (a) provable truth; (b) privilege; (c) fair comment and criticism. These defenses also exist in the USA and in Western Europe.

However, at least two other major defenses that do not exist in Jamaica, or in most Caribbean countries, are: (a) the defense known as “absence of malice”. This defense exists in the USA, and provides a very important protection for writers and publishers. (b) A second defense that does not hold relevance in Jamaica involves a prompt and visible publication of an apology to the libeled person or institution.

I’m just “passing through” now before going out, but at some point tomorrow, hopefully, I’ll be able to elaborate a bit more on this matter .

Why do you want names to be called? Can we ascertain the facts first?

Yes...but why dem tekkin so long "to ascertain the facts"? The delay only leads to more rumour-mongering.

I agree! Foolishness! Why bother with the story at all!? And they do call names from time to time, just very rarely, so I don't think it's because they are observing some law or the other.

Yes...but why dem tekkin so long "to ascertain the facts"? The delay only leads to more rumour-mongering.
                  It's now Thursday. The team has to be finalized by Friday. What delay? Be patient.

it is one thing to "hear from reliable sources" or "from an unnamed source" i am sure having direct access to the facts play a part in disclosing names.

There are many times when, let's say for instance, the police may raid a business or arrest a prominent person and the media refuse to name the business place or the person. If the raid is done or the person is arrested, then it becomes a fact which can be stated. As Mosiah said, it's better they don't run the story than report it ambigiously, thereby fueling rumors and gossiping.

The arrest of a person is public information, and libel is a totally different matter.

Give me an example of a case in JA where a prominent person is arrested and the news is reported without thier name called.

It happens a lot. Remember the "prominent businessman" accused of molesting his kids bout a month back.

Jailed for incest - Man arrested for allegedly molesting his daughter - Children put into protective custody

Published: Tuesday | February 24, 2009

A prominent businessman with branches of his organisation in May Pen, Linstead and Kingston was arrested yesterday by the Centre for the Investigation of Sexual Offences and Child Abuse (CISOCA) for molesting his 12-year-old daughter.
                              According to a spokesperson for CISOCA, an employee saw the man sexually abusing the child and reported the matter to his son, who contacted the police.
                              His three daughters, aged 15, 12 and nine, were taken into state care last Thursday. The father was asked to visit CISOCA's offices for questioning but he failed to turn up.
                              The police arrested him yesterday at his attorney-at-law's office.
                              The Gleaner understands that the father was accused in the past of sexually abusing his daughters.