Did the Jamaican Track Officials put their feet

• Did the Jamaican Track Officials put their feet

in their mounts? Is this a case of much to do about nothing? Did our officials, in their quest to prove to the world about Jamaica's strong anti-doping stance, spoke without having all the facts?

Based upon all the posts on several track sites, the drug in question appears to have little to no effects on an athlete. As a matter of fact, it is suggested that it actually has the opposite effect on the athlete if taken in large doses i.e it makes them lethargic. If this is the case, then the Jamaican officials may have done a major disservice to the country and these "innocent" athletes. Somebody should pay. I have not come to a conclusion as yet, as I am waiting on the hearing on Wednesday, but you can guess which way I am leaning. Regardless of the JAAA's decision, they need to make a public statement which will end all speculations.

Jamaicans 'had traces of stimulant'

Eurosport - Mon, 27 Jul 00:02:00 2009

The five members of Jamaica's world championship squad who returned positive doping tests had traces of the stimulant methylxanthine in their urine samples, a Jamaican anti-doping official has confirmed.
    More Stories

Three of the five, 400 metres runners Allodin Fothergill and Lansford Spence and Commonwealth Games women's 100 metres champion Sheri-Ann Brooks, confirmed they had been informed of the positive tests, the Jamaica Gleaner reported.
    None of the five were medal winners in Beijing.
    All five tested positive for methylxanthine, the Jamaican anti-doping official said. While not listed on the World Anti- Doping Agency prohibited list, methylxanthine falls within a category of stimulants banned by the agency, anti-doping experts said.
    A hearing on their cases is scheduled for Wednesday by the Jamaica Amateur Athletics Association if 'B sample' results are known in time, the official told Reuters.
    "This stimulant is found in a lot of nasal inhalers that people use," he added.
    "If they can give a satisfactory explanation of how this was found in their system they could receive a public warning but if it is felt it was used to gain an unfair advantage then they could get a two-year ban," said the official, who requested his name not be used.
    If the process is not completed and the athletes not cleared by Thursday, the five could not be part of Jamaica's team at the world championships, which start in Berlin on August 15, the official said.
    The Gleaner quoted Fothergill, Spence's coach and Brooks manager as confirming they had been informed of the positive tests.
    "We are now trying to arrange a flight for her to return for the hearing," Brooks's manager, Chris Mychasiw, told the Gleaner.
    Reuters
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Based upon all the posts on several track sites, the drug in question appears to have little to no effects on an athlete. As a matter of fact, it is suggested that it actually has the opposite effect on the athlete if taken in large doses i.e it makes them lethargic.
    methylxanthine falls within a category of stimulants banned by the agency, anti-doping experts said.
    how can a stimulant make someone lethargic? what gives?

heehee. Now yuh know which subject gave me problems in high school.

This statement is very confusing:

"While not listed on the World Anti- Doping Agency prohibited list, methylxanthine falls within a category of stimulants banned by the agency, anti-doping experts said."
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I guess that statement means the name methylxanthine cannot be found on WADA's list, but the larger umbrella term, xanthines, say, is on the list!

X! Come explain dis!

I personally think that WADA goes overboard with some of these so-called "performance enhancement" drugs. Can you imagine the life of a professional track & field athlete? Many of these named drugs can be found in ordianry every day foods and drinks. I understand also that some chemicals found in certain food types, when mixed with other foods, can produce traces of banned substances within the body. Dem soon start ban yam, daheen, cassava and ackee.

I woulden have a problem if dem ban di daheen. Heaven knows how that could affect our athletes!

Was it the coffee Red Bull?

I personally think that WADA goes overboard with some of these so-called "performance enhancement" drugs. Can you imagine the life of a professional track & field athlete? Many of these named drugs can be found in ordianry every day foods and drinks. I understand also that some chemicals found in certain food types, when mixed with other foods, can produce traces of banned substances within the body. Dem soon start ban yam, daheen, cassava and ackee.

http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/...methylxanthine

Mo an explanation : XANTHINE DERIVATIVES - ORAL

Medication Uses | How To Use | Side Effects | Precautions | Drug Interactions | Overdose | Notes | Missed Dose | Storage | Medical Alert
                USES: This medication improves breathing by opening air passages in the lungs. It is used in the treatment of asthma, chronic bronchitis, and emphysema.
                HOW TO USE: This medication works best when taken on an empty stomach one hour before or two hours after meals. If stomach upset occurs, it may be taken with food. Long acting capsules and tablets must be swallowed whole. Crushing or chewing them may destroy the long action and increase the possibility of side effects. If capsules are too large to swallow, open the capsule and mix the contents with jelly or applesauce and swallow without chewing. This medication works best if a constant level is maintained in the body. Do this by taking doses at evenly spaced intervals.
                SIDE EFFECTS: Dizziness, headache, lightheadedness, heartburn, stomach pain, loss of appetite, restlessness, nervousness, sleeplessness or increased urination may occur as your body adjusts to the medication. If these symptoms persist or worsen, inform your doctor. Inform your doctor if you experience: chest pain, rapid or irregular heartbeat, confusion, severe stomach pain, breathing difficulties. If you notice other effects not listed above, contact your doctor or pharmacist.
                PRECAUTIONS: Avoid drinking large amounts of beverages containing caffeine (coffee, tea, colas) or eating large amounts of chocolate. Caffeine can increase side effects of this medication. Smoking affects this medication. Be sure to tell your doctor if you smoke or use nicotine. Inform your doctor if you stop smoking. Your dose may need to be adjusted. This medication should be used during pregnancy only if clearly needed. Because small amounts of this drug appear in breast milk, consult with your doctor before breast-feeding. Tell your doctor your complete medical history especially if you are taking medicine (beta-blockers) for high blood pressure.

Because you have drowsiness it does not exclude you from having other symptoms , like nervousness , insomania or any stimulant reaction in the CNS system or cardiovascular.The question is which one is more pronounced which depends on the individual patient but generally it effects the cardiovascular system much more than the CNS as a stimulant .

We have all had too much coffe to drink and I am sure we have experienced , tachycardia , where we can hear our hearts racing (scary ) .I cannot see how that will benefit an athlete .
                Last edited by Sir X; July 27, 2009, 10:32 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Not sure if it has been reported on the site as yet, but I understand they were all at a party where some new energy drink was being promoted by a former athlete. That's why so many, from different camps, were "caught". So, I doubt it was Red Bull, but something quite similar. They all have some form of "ine" in them - caffeine, taurine, or some other stuff.

Wait deh X, me neva know seh yuh have a medical background. From hereon I thee dub you Dr. X.

NO sir med surg RN (trauma I deal with ) , I have a MD breds I linked to the site from my hospital .He reads alot doesnt post much ,Good thing is he is a liverpool and a wolmers graduate.

The thing is the info is on the net , its not a secret.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You guys sound like the idiot Americans. This is indefensible. The athlete is responsible for what is in his body regardless of how or why it got there.

The main source of the drug is coffe and chocolates , too common for it to be indefensiable in my book.I am not making it up google it up on any medical website.

Do we ban coffe , chocolates , sodas .Maybe the authorities are just over zealous in thier pursuit to keep the sport clean, which is what it looks like.

Too common a drug Brick , did you drink your coffe this morning ?..lol

The main source of the drug is coffe and chocolates , too common for it to be indefensiable in my book.I am not making it up google it up on any medical website.

Do we ban coffe , chocolates , sodas .Maybe the authorities are just over zealous in thier pursuit to keep the sport clean, which is what it looks like.

Too common a drug Brick , did you drink your coffe this morning ?..lol
                            Give it a break. If this was an American you would all be having a field day. So these seven or however many athletes just all of a sudden ate too much chocolate and drank too much coffee? Foolishness. I don't drink coffee or drink soda or eat chocolate and don't think a T & F athlete in the most strenuous period of their training would be consuming that garbage either. Unnuh bias bad bwaay.

P.S. "a diuretic that delays fatigue"

Cho...you should know by now that I am not bothered by facts. Your new name is Dr. Xcuse