This is a first....an objective news report from England

• This is a first....an objective news report from England

Bolt's friend Blake named as one of five athletes to have failed a drugs test

By PATRICK COLLINS
    Last updated at 10:31 PM on 25th July 2009
    As they gathered in their thousands for the London Grand Prix, a cloud passed across the sun. And the entire sport of track and field shivered in apprehension.
    Cut out for glory: But Usain Bolt's relay team were disqualified after winning at Crystal Palace

Yohan Blake, the 19-year-old Jamaican sprinter who is a friend and training partner of Usain Bolt, has been named as one of five Jamaican athletes to test positive for a banned substance.

Blake is coached by Glen Mills, who also coaches the world’s fastest man. On Friday evening at Crystal Palace, he finished second behind Bolt in the 100 metres.
    Moments after the race, he was asked about early reports of failed tests following the Jamaican championships in Kingston last month.

‘I’m clean’, he said. ‘I just heard for the first time now.’ And he hurried away.
    But yesterday it was confirmed that Blake was the most accomplished athlete of the quintet. A member of Bolt’s Racers Track Club, he has run 9.93sec for 100 metres and is seen as one of a small band of sprinters who might one day challenge history’s greatest sprinter.

In recent weeks, Blake has been criticised in the Jamaican media for his exuberant celebrations in Bolt’s wake. But he is a member of the Jamaican team for next month’s World Athletics Championships in Berlin, and a positive test places his
    future in the balance.

Two factors must be stressed: Bolt himself continues to pass every drugs test he takes — and he is tested repeatedly. Also, the substance involved in Blake’s case is reported to be a mild stimulant, possibly a social drug, which may not necessarily attract the most stringent punishment — and perhaps not even a competitive ban.

Yet the very mention of ‘Bolt’ and ‘drugs’ in the same sentence conjures up track and field’s darkest dream.

His performances in Beijing were the stuff of miracles and wonders. Titles were won and records were broken with wondrous ease and beguiling flamboyance. In the course of a single Olympiad, he became by an impossible distance the biggest
    name in his sphere, and one of the pre-eminent figures in world sport.

As track and field searched hopefully for a hero, Bolt was a gift from the gods. Crystal Palace was sold out on Friday and yesterday, largely on the back of his talent and charisma.

Team-mates: But Usain Bolt has distanced himself from Yohan Blake's drugs test problems

London’s Jamaican community turned out in force. There were steel bands and yellow and black flags and a careless air of carnival.

Once they were attracted only by fast bowlers and plundering batsmen, now they brought their children to watch and wonder at the speed of Usain. And the extraordinary young man did not let them down. Bolt reels off sub-10sec sprints
    in yawning profusion, and his 9.91sec was achieved on auto-pilot.

Yet, later, he was asked about developments in his native island, and he answered seriously. ‘It’s sad for the sport because things were progressing well. This is a step backwards,’ he said. ‘They will question everybody again now, especially people from
    Jamaica ... It shows that when people get tested they get caught. I’m trying my best to show that you can achieve things clean. People have to know you can’t get away with it.’

The potential damage to the island’s reputation was demonstrated by Bruce Golding, Prime Minister of Jamaica, calling an emergency meeting with track and field officials to discuss the test results.

And the controversy which had hounded Blake through the past 48 hours took an improbable turn last night when the Racers Track Club ran an extraordinary sprint relay, flashing the baton between Daniel Bailey, Blake, Mario Forsythe and Bolt in 37.46sec, the fourth fastest time in history.

While the Palace crowd acclaimed the winners, word came from the judges that the team — which had just beaten the USA, Great Britain, Canada and Australia — had been disqualified, apparently from a faulty change involving Bailey and Blake. Blake
    was deemed to have begun his run too soon.
    Blake refused to answer questions and there will be many in the weeks ahead. But even the relay setback could not remove the smile from Bolt’s face. He is in precisely the form he would have wanted on the brink of the championships.
    Once again, he was ready to reveal that incomparable talent, to experience the kind of adulation he had received in such measure during his London adventure.
    The responsibility on him is immense. Like no athlete before him, he really does carry the future of the entire sport upon his shoulders, and he must be aware of the onerous
    burden.

And, as the crowds trooped home, the meeting referee reviewed the video evidence and rescinded the disqualification. The whole affair had ended on a tranquil note.
    Track and field must hope and pray that the tranquillity endures. For these are troublesome times. And everything is at stake.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/othersports/article-1202190/Bolts-friend-Blake-named-athletes-failed-drugs-test.html#ixzz0MPY04aDX
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Sorry...but have to ask - Who were the members of the USA 4 x 1 team?

Blake the most accomplished??

SA Brooks is CW champ!!!

British Shortcomings!

Originally posted by Karl
        Sorry...but have to ask - Who were the members of the USA 4 x 1 team?

No problem, Karl. The USA squad was Terrence Trammel, Wallace Spearmon, Shawn Crawford and the guy Edwards (I cannot remember Edwards’ first name now). Shawn Crawford, in my opinion, ran an outstanding curve for the USA. Jamaica was re-instated, as you no doubt know .

Blake the most accomplished??

SA Brooks is CW champ!!!

True, Willi.

This is clearly lack of research on the part of the (in my opinion) overrated British press, as Sheri-Ann Brooks won two gold medals at the 2006 Commonwealth Games in the 100-meter dash and 4x100-meter relay!! Unless this British writer regards their Crystal Palace Grand Prix meet as being more important than the Commonwealth Games? (LMAO)

Some of the British announcers, at least the live commentator at Crystal Palace, seem to know mostly about their European athletes and little about teh Americans! To give just one example here, the lineup for the USA women’s 4x100-meter relay team listed Marshavet Hooker as anchor for the team. Yet, despite seeing clearly that Carmelita Jeter actually anchored that team during the relay, the announcer kept referring to Hooker as the anchor, even during the repeated replay!

hmmmm......that begs a question which i will not ask out of respect for jeter!

Thanks!
            I had hoped it was a little stronger team with Patton and Gay somewhere in the mix. The video a saw was just awful. I could not dissect the changes...or even have a good look at the runners going through their paces on each leg.

did gay in fact run the 200 last week? i do not recall even seeing anything about that race.

20.00 easy....easy!
                ...as mi seh mi affi si im a limp a di worls...or missing deh fi believe sin-ting wrang wi im groin!

THE ASSOCIATED PRESS
                Published: July 26, 2009
                LONDON -- Tyson Gay didn't look like a man preparing to end Usain Bolt's sprinting supremacy at the world championships next month.
                Gay, limping and lethargic, won the 200-meter race at the London Grand Prix in 20.00 seconds yesterday. He then needed painkillers to deal with a groin injury and went straight from the track to a treatment room at the Crystal Palace.

Making the worlds in Berlin will be quite a challenge for Gay, 26. He said he remains confident that he can defend his 100 and 200 world titles against Bolt, the Olympics champion and world record-holder.
                Meanwhile, Bolt and his teammates ran the fourth-fastest 400-meter relay time in history -- 37.46 seconds. Bolt anchored the team that included fellow Jamaicans Yohan Blake and Mario Forsythe, plus Antigua's Daniel Bailey, representing the Kingston-based Racers Track Club.

In the 200, Gay overtook fellow American Wallace Spearmon on the bend and held a clear lead going into the straight, allowing him to relax in the final 30 meters.

Tyson Gay is confident he will "shock the world"

mzqtqt
                  Gay ready to 'shock the world'
                  Mon Jul 27, 2009 16:14

First he has got 'groin problems' now a week later he is yapping at the mouth again about shocking the world and beating bolt. Good I like the fact that he isnt making any excuses.

http://www.universalsports.com/ViewArticle.dbml?SPID=13055&DB_OEM_ID=23000&ATCLID =204765637

BERLIN (Reuters) -- American Tyson Gay is confident he will "shock the world" by upstaging triple Olympic gold medalist Usain Bolt at next month's world championships in what he predicts will be the most exciting 100 meters race ever.

Triple world champion Gay, who has clocked the fastest times over 100m and 200m this season, is ready to face off with Bolt for the first time this year in Berlin.

With the Jamaican holding the world record over both distances, Gay promised the 100m race would live up to expectation.

"It will be some of the best sprinting ever," said the 26-year-old on Monday, adding Jamaicans Bolt and Asafa Powell and himself would battle it out for the top spot.

"You have three guys who want to win. It will be the most exciting race ever," Gay told a small group of reporters in a conference call.

"I would call it 'Tyson Gay shocks the world'," he said when asked to pick a headline for his 100m sprint showdown with Bolt.

Gay said a nagging groin injury that has been troubling him would not affect his performance at the Aug. 15-23 world championships in the German capital.

"I feel good. I truly believe I can run a lot better and show the world I can do that," he said.

"I do not really think (the injury) will affect my performances. As long I can train before then I will be fine and I will not be affected at all."

Source: Willi's site

Worst than that the feed we got the British guy kept mixing up Germaine Mason who jumps for them and the American Manson in the high jump

Mason and Manson (lol)

Worst than that the feed we got the British guy kept mixing up Germaine Mason who jumps for them and the American Manson in the high jump
                      Very interesting indeed, and it certainly wasn’t helped by the fact that both Britain’s Germaine Mason and the USA’s Andra Manson wore similar shirts and [*sarcasm button on*] were Black men [*sarcasm button off *].

By the way, I think that I’m becoming more and more of a fan of pole vault, and not just because of Yelena Isinbayeva’s very attractive eyes (lol). After many, many years of ignoring the pole vault (except for keeping up with news of Sergio Bubka when he used to jump), over the past five years or so I’ve started to gradually become a huge fan of this really interesting event!

The announcer also mixed up the Cuban hurdler ( brown skin girl) with Perdita Felicien the Canadian ( a black woman). Even after he went through the starting lineup...like him didn't look at the TV when he was calling the names for the beginning lineup... didn't even acknowledge his error when FINALLY the results came on screen... he kept saying the Cuban is having a great race, all through the replays... (Perdita was 2nd, Cuban last I believe).

heh heh!