• 'Not major' - Sports official downplays Jamaican athletes' p

'Not major' - Sports official downplays Jamaican athletes' positive testing

Published: Saturday | July 25, 2009

Anthony Foster, Gleaner Writer
    SPORTS OFFICIAL Dr Herb Elliott says nothing "major" is involved in the five positive tests confirmed yesterday by Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) and the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).
    "I can assure you it wasn't any major stuff," Elliott, a member of both the IAAF's Medical and Anti-Doping Commission and JADCO, told The Gleaner. He disclosed that "some of the athletes have been informed", but noted that all would have to be informed before any names can be disclosed.
    At that stage a hearing will be held and a request made for the B sample to be tested. Elliot said sanctions cannot be taken against the athletes until after the hearing and the possible testing of the B sample. The Gleaner has learnt that the hearing is scheduled to be held next week.
    JADCO, in a release sent yesterday by Director of in the Ministry of Youth, Sports and Culture, Oliver Watt, said of the 43 tests taken at the Senior National Championships held late last month "there are five adverse analytical findings (AAF)".
    In explaining the AAF, Elliott said: "It's a finding showing that there is something. It is for us now to find out (what) and also analyse it."
    He also dismissed rumours that the JAAA had approved the alleged supplement taken by the athletes: "The JAAA cannot approve any supplement ... (it) doesn't have power to approve any supplement, so that is rubbish."
    According to Nick Davies, communications director for the IAAF, five athletes are involved - four males and one female.
    "It's very, very early in the process so we cannot say who they are or what the substance is," Davies told the Press Association in London.
    identities unknown
    The identities of the athletes implicated in the use of performance-enhancing substance remain unknown. The JADCO release explained: "JADCO has specific protocols that govern the of all results. These include, among other things, the proper notification of all athletes involved ... therefore, JADCO cannot provide any further information until all result management protocols have been observed and satisfied."
    Meanwhile, triple gold medallist Usain, in a BBC interview, said he is no way worried. "I'm sure it's not me so I'm not really worried," Bolt told journalists after winning the men's 100m at the London yesterday. The Press Association also quoted Asafa Powell as saying, "It's their bad luck, it's not for me to worry about, and it doesn't affect me one bit. People might be saying bad stuff now but it doesn't really bother me."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Re: 'Not major'

SPORTS OFFICIAL Dr Herb Elliott says nothing "major" is involved in the five positive tests confirmed yesterday by Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) and the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).
    "I can assure you it wasn't any major stuff," Elliott, a member of both the IAAF's Medical and Anti-Doping Commission and JADCO, told The Gleaner.
    LETTER OF THE DAY Did Herb Elliott 'misspeak'?
    Published: Sunday | July 26, 2009

The Editor, Sir:
    I read with alarm, the statement attributed to Dr Herb Elliott, a member of Jamaica's Anti-Doping Commission and also the International Association of Athletics, in respect of the 'positive' drug testing of some of our national athletes. Dr Elliott is reported as saying that nothing "major" is involved in the findings. In my opinion, as a member of both aforementioned bodies, Dr Elliott was irresponsible to make such a statement since he was not in a position to reveal the findings.

second occasion
    This is the second occasion in which I have sensed that this gentleman has 'misspoke' in respect of our athletes. There were statements attributed to him in Beijing which could be described as intemperate, in defence of our athletes.

We have all been shocked at the revelations of the past day and should ensure that nothing is said by local officials to give the impression of trying to downplay the findings.

It is my opinion that Dr Herb Elliott, because of his pronouncements, is not a worthy representative to speak on behalf of our country.

I am, etc.,
    DOREEN MORGAN
    Kingston 8

Herb has been known to shoot from the hip. Unfortunately, I think the sentiments of the writer of the letter, Ms. Dorreen Morgan, has a point.

I agree with you, Karl

Herb has been known to shoot from the hip. Unfortunately, I think the sentiments of the writer of the letter, Ms. Dorreen Morgan, has a point.
        I agree with you that the writer of the letter has a point, and a very important one at that.

Karl, if you or I were to use the word nothing “major” in relation to these illegal substance allegations, it would be nothing but our personal opinion on the matter. However, the “Who” here, in terms of who made that statement, is the problem! Someone of Dr. Elliott’s stature within the Anti-Doping Commission should never have publicly expressed such a viewpoint on the matter. Really, he needs to think more carefully before speaking.

I’m wondering how officials of the IAAF and the WADA would privately react to such a statement from the eminent Dr. Elliott?

Herb Elliott - pompous clown! Please!

What makes him eminent?!

Dr. Elliot could never resist a microphone shoved in his face. His heart is in the right place...but...im jus luv di spotlite an im chat-chat.

Herb Elliott - pompous clown! Please!
                True! ...but as I said, his heart is in the right place.

Histrian is correct Mosiah. Dr. Elliot's position demands that great care be taken when he addresses the public on matters such as this.

true, just needs a dose of humility and less video-light clamour.

I doubt he misspoke. The problem is everybody now is looking to point fingers at all Jamaican ahtletes as cheats but if that is the case this is not the confirmation.

He is the medical doctor so let us see if it is really "nothing major" and see the explanation.

Mispoke or not Herb is right ...its a JOKE ! You could drink coffe and get the same positive test .its the 2nd line of defence for Asthma
                        Xanthines / Methylxanthines

Back to Respiratory Drugs

Xanthine is a purine base that can be found in a majority of body tissue and fluid. It can also be found in some plants which are used for some medicinals. Methylxanine is a methylated derivative of xanthine.
                        Three important classes of methylxanthines are caffeine, and theobromine, as well as, theophylline and its synthetic analog aminophylline (theophylline ethylenedamine), which has shorter duration of action, is less potent (being more water soluble causing less GI irritation), and contains only 78%-86% theophylline which should be considered when dosing.

Major sources of the these methylxanine chemical/drugs can be found in some drinks like coffee, cocoa, cola nut (used in cola drinks), black teas, and food products such as chocolates.
                        Methylxanthines produce bronchial smooth muscle relaxation which helps to dilate constricted airways, stimulates diuresis to help relieve congestion, and acts as a mild cardiac and central nervous system stimulant.
                        They are well absorbed and readily distributed in the body, however if the gastrointestinal state is poor then oral absorption will be erratic. The methylxanthines are partially metabolized in the liver and excreted in the urine.
                        Posted on June 23, 2003, 16:28, Last updated on February 13, 2008, 14:41 | Respiratory Drugs

Xanthine

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search
                        Not to be confused with xanthene.

XanthineIUPAC name
                        [show]

3,7-Dihydro-purine-2,6-dione

Other names1H-Purine-2,6-diolIdentifiersCAS number[69-89-6]PubChem1188SMILES
                        [show]

O=C1NC(=O)c2[nH]cnc2N1

PropertiesMolecular formulaC5H4N4O2Molar mass152.11 g/molAppearanceWhite solidMelting pointdecomposes
                        Solubility in water1 g/ 14.5 L @ 16 °C
                        1 g/1.4 L @ 100 °CExcept where noted otherwise, data are given for
                        materials in their standard state
                        (at 25 °C, 100 kPa)

Infobox referencesXanthine (pronounced /ˈzænθiːn, ˈzænθaɪn]/), (3,7-dihydro-purine-2,6-dione), is a purine base found in most body tissues and fluids and in other organisms. A number of mild stimulants are derived from xanthine, including caffeine and theobromine.[1]
                        Contents

[hide]//
                        [edit] Reactions

Xanthine is a product on the pathway of purine degradation.Xanthine is subsequently converted to uric acid by the action of the xanthine oxidase enzyme.

[edit] Pathology

People with the rare genetic disorder xanthinuria lack sufficient xanthine oxidase and cannot convert xanthine to uric acid.

[edit] Clinical significance of xanthine derivatives

Derivatives of xanthine, known collectively as xanthines, are a group of alkaloids commonly used for their effects as mild stimulants and as bronchodilators, notably in treating the symptoms of asthma. In contrast to other, more potent stimulants, they only inhibit the actions of sleepiness-inducing adenosine, making them somewhat less effective as stimulants than sympathomimetic amines. Due to widespread effects, the therapeutic range of xanthines is narrow, making them merely a second-line asthma treatment. The therapeutic level is 10-20 micrograms/mL blood; signs of toxicity include tremor, nausea, nervousness, and tachycardia/arrhythmia.
                        Methylated xanthine derivatives include caffeine, paraxanthine, theophylline, and theobromine. These drugs act as both non-selective phosphodiesterase inhibitors and adenosine receptor antagonists, with different analogues showing varying potency at the numerous subtypes, and a wide range of synthetic xanthine derivatives have been developed in order to develop compounds with greater selectivity for phosphodiesterase enzyme or adenosine receptor subtypes.[2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14] Xanthines are also found very rarely as constituents of nucleic acids.

Caffeine: R1 = R2 = R3 = CH3
                        Theobromine: R1 = H, R2 = R3 = CH3
                        Theophylline: R1 = R2 = CH3, R3 = H

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

If this was consumed on a massive scale the side effects

Would be drowsiness and tachycardia (increase in heart rate ) , none would benefit an athlete.

If the benefit is to increase Lung expansion, the side effects are contraindicated.

a notice you nuh like people hug up the camera.

a just some people nature.

Correction it would not benefit a running athlete.