When athletes participate in those meet, at the end of the races you see the meet attendants handing them bottles of water or some coloured fluid. Aren't these athletes exposing themselves? What is to prevent tainted ingredients from being ingested? I would presume that the major sponsors of these meets would only allow their products to be handed out. What steps are taken to prevent some malicious person/s from tainting these products?
Here are some questions
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015Tags: None
Originally posted by Jangle View PostWhen athletes participate in those meet, at the end of the races you see the meet attendants handing them bottles of water or some coloured fluid. Aren't these athletes exposing themselves? What is to prevent tainted ingredients from being ingested? I would presume that the major sponsors of these meets would only allow their products to be handed out. What steps are taken to prevent some malicious person/s from tainting these products?
Well?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Very Good Questions!
Originally posted by Jangle View PostWhen athletes participate in those meet, at the end of the races you see the meet attendants handing them bottles of water or some coloured fluid. Aren't these athletes exposing themselves? What is to prevent tainted ingredients from being ingested? I would presume that the major sponsors of these meets would only allow their products to be handed out. What steps are taken to prevent some malicious person/s from tainting these products?
I can only hope that your questions resonate in the minds of the coaches of our athletes. ( I wish it were possible for our athletes to fling the bottles into the spectator stands in the way that they always do with the bouquets.)
Originally posted by Jangle View PostWhen athletes participate in those meet, at the end of the races you see the meet attendants handing them bottles of water or some coloured fluid. Aren't these athletes exposing themselves? What is to prevent tainted ingredients from being ingested? I would presume that the major sponsors of these meets would only allow their products to be handed out. What steps are taken to prevent some malicious person/s from tainting these products?The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Seems like a lot of us been talking about that very same subject as I have discussed the same topic on at least three opccasions since yesterday and I do recall a gasp going up from amongst those who sat near me at the JII meet in 2006 when Tyson Gay just grabbed a bottle from one of the volunteeers and gulped down the contents right after a race.
We have heard warnings all the time and heard coaches tell athletes all the time never to drink from those sources especially when away from home.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.