two sprinters to berlin test positive...

• two sprinters to berlin test positive...

lawd... two top sprinters on the team to berlin... now the speculations will begin...

jamaican sprinters?

According to RJR

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/20079/48/

Easy

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
        lawd... two top sprinters on the team to berlin... now the speculations will begin...
        Lets not rush to judgement. Up to now, no locally trained athelete has ever tested positive for a banned substance and it it happens I would be the first to suspect sabotage

Bad supplements?

If me was a yankee, Blake would be at the top of my suspects list.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...RUG_CHEATS.asp

Mi hear seh ah stimulants...bad supplements.

does really matter? a big black eye way way yuh look at it!

But only if you was a yankee. LOL!

Bad supplements?
                      Supplements would still be a disaster.

I wonder if 2nd hand Ganja smoke for from hours of clubbinng could cause a positive test.

I've often worried about Usain because of his clubbing habits.

Steroids is wayyyy bigger black eye.

Mi will tek any small mercies at this point!!!

One man said he heard that it was weed...here is another voice...

Sprintcoach
                            It seems that 7 athletes testing...
                            Fri Jul 24, 2009 14:04

positive for stimulants or drugs at a national championship are victims of a spiked supplements used by all the athletes.
                            If the tests reveal the same stimulant / drug, it is a difficult situation.

Screening what the athlete consumes is the athlete's responsibility.
                            If a senior athlete uses a product, it becomes an endorsement. Other athletes assume it is an ok product and it's use proliferates hence a batch of athletes as large as that reported here produce tainted samples en masse from one meet at the same time.
                            If the product label does not declare the contents of the supplement there will be ignorance. The company (country) of origin producing the supplement is responsible (using enforceable laws) for the declaration on it's labeling. If all the ingredients are not declared on the labeling, then events like these are going to be repeated especially in Jamaica where there is no ability to screen.
                            Therein lies the weakness and an open door of exploitation for those with malefic intentions toward Jamaica's success.

My second thought considers the large amount of positive tests (5 to 7) showing up at one meet, and, at a national championship no less.
                            Nefarious actions have not been beyond the realm of possibilities of some of the players in this game of championship athletics. How many times have we seen statements and insinuations that the sprinting title belongs to a certain nation and nowhere else?
                            (Most recently from Carl Lewis "How can a place no larger than Philadelphia be beating the USA?") I stand corrected on the quote.
                            These are my feelings recalling the blatant statements made by those concerned.

The responsibility of consumption remains the athletes. If the declaration of the contents label does not include the entire substance list, there is no way the athlete can determine if its consumable.

A positive test remains a positive test and is subject to the punishment of the governing laws.

So mi get it so mi sell it!

Yes, but Gamma still has a valid point

does really matter? a big black eye way way yuh look at it!
                              Originally posted by Willi
                              Steroids is wayyyy bigger black eye.

Mi will tek any small mercies at this point!!!
                              Willi: Now, I fully agree with you on the huge difference between the two, and like you, I “will tek any small mercies at this point.” We indeed should be happy that it apparently does not involve steroids!

Nevertheless, both Gamma and Time have made an important point, and the attitude of the regional and international media as well as regional and international athletics fans in the coming months and years will no doubt blur the distinction between steroids and stimulants. As of now, a long shadow has been cast over all Jamaican athletes, and we’d better get used to this fact.

I strongly feel that the majority of Jamaican athletes are clean, and that they take pride in performing on their talent and their hard work, without any illegal assistance. But does the rest of the world want to believe this?