• Stop being silly and humble yourselves, men

Western News
    Stop being silly and humble yourselves, men
    on the sporting edge
    Paul Reid
    Thursday, July 23, 2009
    At the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia, a quartet of American male sprinters brought the post-race celebrations to a new low when they stripped off their shirts and went through a series of silly poses after winning the 4x100m relay.

The childish gesticulations by adults who should know better was widely condemned here and in other places even as some tried to explain it away as enthusiasm.

Eight years later in Beijing, China, Usain Bolt's spontaneous, joyous dances after winning two gold medals, both in World Record times, were well received by millions and helped to spread the Jamaican dance hall moves to a wider audience.

A year later, Bolt's 'to the world' pose and post-race celebrations are well known, and many who pack stadiums all over the world look forward to his contagious exuberance.

Bolt's celebrations have spawned a series of copycats not just in track and field but also in cricket and football and other sporting disciplines.

There comes a time, however, when enough is enough and what we saw from young sprinters Yohan Blake and Jamaican-trained Antiguan National Record Holder Daniel Bailey last Friday bordered on buffoonery and someone should tell them quickly it was not cute.

During the introductions for the 100m race at a meet in Paris, the trio, including Bolt, went through a series of gesticulations and manoeuvers that would make the Americans blush. To add to the mockery, Blake added a silly laugh while sticking his pinky finger in his mouth and shoving his face towards the camera.
    As a triple Olympic gold medallist and double World Record holder, Bolt can get away with pretty much anything he wants, but young Blake and Bailey had best learn they have nothing to brag about yet and some humility would serve them well.

I welcome some showmanship in sports, because if it is nothing else it is entertainment and fans paying good money to go to meets should be entertained.

One cannot ask the young men to hide their natural exuberance and excitement at the start line. It has been well established that athletes need to keep their energy levels up and short sprinters have even devised unique and ingenious ways of psyching themselves up for races as long as they don't insult or injure others or delay the start of the race.

Would Bolt be the worldwide commodity he is today if he had not danced and taken off his shoes after winning the races in the Birds' Nest stadium last year?

We hope that by the time the next track meet comes around some one would have whispered in Blake's ear that he needs to spend more time learning how to give better post-race interviews than to be trying out idiotic moves at the start line.

After his theatrics, Blake went on to run a blistering 9.93 seconds, the third fastest ever by a Jamaican, then told an American television interviewer he had placed sixth at the Jamaican Trials because he had "mental and psychological problems".
    Lord help us.

i was about to say..."yow siccko this journalist agree wid yuh" then i checked the author!

anyway mi agree....blake need to accomplish something other than a PB and even suh..

Slight Factual Error

After his theatrics, Blake went on to run a blistering 9.93 seconds, the third fastest ever by a Jamaican, then told an American television interviewer he had placed sixth at the Jamaican Trials because he had "mental and psychological problems".
      Lord help us.
      Sickko, the sports editor missed a slight error, which I’ve quoted and highlighted above. I suspect that what you meant to write was “the third fastest Jamaican ever” or something of that nature.

A good opinion piece, though, and you have hit the nail on the head as far as both Yohan Blake and Daniel Bailey are concerned. You also included some balance to the critique of their actions by giving a reason why young athletes such as Blake and Bailey might be overly enthusiastic at the start of their race.

Is it all part of the hype? to get the psychological edge? Still don't like it it as demo'd in that race.

before AND after....and dem neva win!!!

Boy between you and Gamma, me might haffi go buy a whole case of beer-LOL

The mistake is mine actually and you are absolutely correct, Blake became the third fastest Jamaican runner but his time is not the third fastest.

Some will say it was a win for them, as they PRed and was also behind only Bolt..he he he.

The acid test comes tomorrow in London when they face Asafa; it appears there is some rivalry building up between Asafa and the two young ones.

There was the much publicized 'show down' between Asafa and Blake at Trials and Bailey stupidly tried to psych out Asafa in the heats of a race only to be trounced in the finals.

Asafa should be able to handle the young ones easily...

yeah? well that ...it bordering on disrespect now. den need fi respect asafa...sounds like a Racers/MVP thing

Maybe but Bolt and Asafa are tight to the point where Asafa spent a few weeks last year helping Bolt soup up his car, not the Bimmer, another one.

So I would not go as far as say MVP/Racers but two young uns trying to make their mark but they cant take on the big man, not yet anyways but then again you cant really blame them for having ambition can you...LOL!

yuh can have ambition WITHOUT being disrespectful to the man who showed that you didn't have to run to merrykah to train....asafa is a pioneer and an excellent example at that!

Asafa dished Bailey in Rome already.

He has somethig for them in London too.

Nice piece Sickko. Add this one to my "agree with you" column so that when I disagree with you in the future, yuh nuh tell me bout me r....ss!!!
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I watched the race last night and they did look silly!

...and what's with Yohan sticking his finger in his mouth? 2nd race I have seen him do that before getting to his marks - That is gross!

Do you have the link?...Balla was asking me for it but I don't have it

I'll go look for it...now!