• Mullings clocks 20.01 personal best

Mullings clocks 20.01 personal best

Published: Tuesday | July 21, 2009

Jamaica's Steve Mullings sped to a personal best 20.01 in the 200 metres at the yesterday's Vardinoyannia International Track and Field meet in Rethymno, Greece.
    Mullings was second in the event to Panama's Alonso Edwards, who clocked a meet record 20.00. Veronica Campbell-Brown, the 2007 World Championships gold medallist in the 100 metres, was expected to compete in both the 100 and 200 metres at the meet but pulled out after a slight injury a few days ago at the Athens Grand Prix.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...s/sports5.html

Mullings was second in the event to Panama's Alonso Edwards, who clocked a meet record 20.00.
    Edwards is 19 years old! I wonder how well he runs the 100m. Yohan Blake may have some young competition on his heels sooner than he would have liked!

i bet yuh him have jamaican roots!

So what you really saying, its something in the genes?

what i'm really saying is that most black panamanians with anglicised surnames have caribbean roots, mostly jamaican.

Heh heh. OK you wiggle you way outta that one.

Its true though. I have a relative who visits there regularly. He attends an Anglican church there whose congregation insists that the sermons still be done in English. Is when the Panama Canal did finish build again?

bout 1912 or 1914...they are about to add an additional 2 locks i understand.

Probably won't need as many unskilled workers these days.

Seems like they are doing relatively well. I am planning to visit there next year.

it is lovely....been to the canal twice. did not go much beyond panama city which is like any major metropolis.....everything is avaiable but the cost of living is about 1/3 of what it is in the US although the currency is the US$.

nice restaurants, hotels, the people are super friendly...

So me hear. Not sure how long that low cost of living will last though, especially real estate as the Americans have "discovered" it and are retiring there in droves.

and canadians and europeans....that seems to have started to bottom out last year.

they are mostly outside of the city though and in the rural areas. although i knew someone who had barely closed on a condo and was immediately offered twice the price for it....eyebrows arched!!

Heh heh. OK you wiggle you way outta that one.

Its true though. I have a relative who visits there regularly. He attends an Anglican church there whose congregation insists that the sermons still be done in English. Is when the Panama Canal did finish build again?
                        what do you expect to hear in an anglican church, i-man? mexican? duh!?

It may last a while. Been there in the 80s and everything was dirt cheap. Great place for electronic gadjets straight from Japan. They are 2 or 3 years ahead of America when it comes to the latest stuff.

Well it looks like we have a new runner on the 4 x 100 final squad i.e. squad that takes the track for/in the final race at the Worlds.
                            Last edited by Karl; July 24, 2009, 09:34 AM.

Everything???? Pls expand, expound, edify. Thanks.