The antics of the three Racers athletes

• The antics of the three Racers athletes

I felt it necessary to bring this debate over here because I realised that not everyone venture next door. The debate is raving about the antics (hamming it up for the cameras) of Bolt and his two training partners, Daniel Bailey and Yohan Blake. Personally, I did not like it. I think Bolt is starting to overdo these antics. His claim is that it is who he is and he's there to give the fans a show. However, I don't think that he needs all the additional theatrics to please his fans. Just run fast and win your races. There will come a time when the same media that currently adores the ground that he walks on will turn against him when he stops winning races. I think that now that he is moving on to the next level in terms of financial earnings, he needs to tone down these antics and start acting more professional. Right now, he and Lebron James are considered the young princes of their respective sports, but you don't see Lebron acting the fool in front of the cameras. His signature move is enough.

Now you have the two other copycats who haven't achieved squat as yet, hamming it up for the cameras. They are falling into the same trap as those obnoxious Americans of past. I think they need to stop now.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

actually i think it was BLAKE who overdid it...bolt was bolt.

True... it makes me nervous when the showboating gets excessive... I never liked Maurice Green for just sticking his tongue out at the end of every race... Blake must cool it til him really reach...and then some amount of modesty would go far in making you a really class act IMO.

Watch Grand Prix Meet here (live):

http://fr.justin.tv/quillo777/old
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I think that Bolt is right up against that thin line between being entertaining and showboating. His awesome talent will allow him to get away with more than others can but I hope he is aware of that line. Blake needs to cool it, maybe he is just a little excited with the great things that has happened for him this season.

I have NO doubt that if Tyson Gay was doing anything close to what Blake or even Bolt is doing we Jamaican T&F fans would class him with the Mo Greens, Jon Drummonds and Atos of the world. We cannot have it both ways.

iman i'm prepared to cut bolt a little more slack...he has singlehandedly revived the interest in t&f not just for winning and setting records but for his personality in doing it...that is the "IT" factor.

blake is not bolt, not even close so he should cool it. he is perhaps trying to fall in bolt's circle by "nuffing up himself" he needs to remember that he is not bolt!

I agree for the most part. People are loving it and one BIG difference between him and the previous era is that he never disrespects his opponents.

What I am a bit uncomfortable with is if it sets the trend for our young upcoming sprinters who as you say, are not Bolt. We will see what happens.

well the trend that he has set is to win and win impressively...if they cannot do that then ......

I was watching the race and wondering why the theatrics myself.... see this is where the hypocrisy in me comes out..I recalled when the USA men's 4x1 and 4x4 team in the Sydney Olympics took off their shirts and were flexing and all that and I found it disgusting.

Bolt was a refreshing change at the Olympics and we all danced along with him and even Lamine Diack and every one except roast breadfruit Ato, the short white giuy on NBC and the IOC boss were entertained.

Every athlete have their method of keep relaxed before races and as long as they dont insult or injure others or hold up the race we cant stop that, plus we must understand that track and field is entertainment and what would we have if we had everyone like VCB and Asafa who just ran then headed to the media room?

Would Bolt be the world wide commodity iof he did not dance and take off his shoes after winning the races?

The other day I was in Italy and saw kids on the road side doing the thing Bolt does with his hair and face every time they saw anyone from Jamaica.

Aileen's boxing thing is nice and after meeting Mo Green and asked him about his antics, I realizsed it has nothing to do with the others in the race, it is his thing and him alone.

Now if I am to be fair however what we saw on Friday went over board and yes I do agree that while Bolt is on top of the world they will love his antics but once he starts losing races....we are going to start hearing it from every one how he is show boating.

In short while Bolt can get away with it now, Blake and the Antiguan guy needs at least a titkle un der their best before they start show boating, Under 20 WR and Antiguan NR wont do it.

One of the more memorable questions I was asked the other day by one of the Getty photographers who were here for Trials and who was at World Youths was why did it appear that Asafa got more applause from the crowd at the start of the 100m final than Bolt who was the double World Record holder.

The best answer I could give him was that Jamaicans dont really like show offs and those who go overboard with their celebrations and are more willing to side with the 'humble guy' who just go out there and do his thing.

I am not sure if I gave the right naswer but that was the best one I had at the time.

I think my answer would be more along the lines of the fans wanting to send a message to Asafa that we still love and respect what he has done even though he may not be the top dog anymore.

yup..it probably was a mixture of sympathy and respect.

jamaicans don't like show off?!!! who more showoff dam we?

What ting when Ramone "Batman" McKenzie goes pro. That's when they are going to say we Jamaicans are so cocky.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z233B5Y9RjM&feature=PlayList&p=B13B6F43697 17094&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=7

McKenzie's pro prospects are not so hot right now to be honest and College might be a better bet for him

he needs to lose that stupid mask if he wants to be taken seriously...