1-2-3-4? Not Likely!

• 1-2-3-4? Not Likely!

So, some of us proud track and field fans are now predicting a 1-2-3-4 for Jamaica next month? Indeed?

By now I should have my inclination towards objectivity (as in “balance” and preference for seeing “both sides of the picture”) stamped firmly in everyone’s mind, so here goes:

First, a 1-2-3-4 finish is certainly not impossible at the level of the IAAF World Championships, as the USA men demonstrated in the 200-meter race at the 2005 Helsinki World Championships. (Nevertheless, does anyone here seriously think that the USA is going to repeat this ever again?)

However, regarding predictions of a 1-2-3-4 win for Jamaica in the women’s 100-meter dash in August, we need to realize that it’s most likely NOT going to happen this year!! Jamaica does not have a monopoly on excellent sprinters, and we’d better realize that other elite women will be aiming for medal performances as well. For example, do we think that a natural fighter like Lauryn Williams is going to allow herself to be pushed by Jamaica into fifth position this year after suffering the ignominy of being pushed into fourth position in Beijing by the Jamaican trio?

So, while I expect the most serious fight for the 100-meter dash medals to probably come from Kerron Stewart, Shelly-Ann Fraser and Veronica Campbell-Brown, thereby making a 1-2-3 finish distinctly possible, I suggest we all forget about a complete 1-2-3-4 sweep by Jamaica! Quite simply, it won’t happen! (Also, how do we know that all four Jamaican women will make it into the finals?)

Before I look at some statistics, let me say that strange things can happen, and we have only to glance back at Friday’s Grand Prix event in Rome to see an example. Do we realize that the Bahamian sprinter, Chandra Sturrup, will be 38 years old in two months from now? Did anyone expect a 10.99-second run from this “old woman” at this twilight stage of her career? Granted, the rounds will be a bit difficult for a 38-year-old to handle, but my point is that in track and field, expect the unexpected.

I cannot prophecy, so I’ll have to do the next best thing, that is, look at some stats. Here is something to consider of Jamaica’s Sheri-Ann Brooks and three of her most dangerous competitors:

Sheri-Ann Brooks: While Shelly-Ann, Kerron and Veronica are regular sub-11 sprinters nowadays, 26-year-old Sheri-Ann Brooks has so far not gone below the 11-second barrier during her career. Her PB, which she ran two years ago, is 11.05 in the 100-meter dash. Her best time so far this year is 11.16 while that of last year was marginally better, 11.14.

Kelly-Ann Baptiste: As I said in a previous post, Trinidad & Tobago’s Kelly-Ann Baptiste had no burdensome NCAA events this year, and so we’ll be seeing a much fresher athlete next month! Her PB, which she ran this year in Trinidad, is 10.94 seconds. Her season-best performance last year was 11.06 seconds. Kelly-Ann can mess things up for our Jamaican sprinters! Do not write this Trinidadian off!

Carmelita Jeter: At 30 years old, Jeter ran her PB of 10.96 this year, but prior to that she had run 10.97 last year, and 11.02 in 2007. In addition, until the most recent Grand Prix meets in Lausanne and Rome, she had been the dominant sprinter for 2009. Her “bad” race last Friday resulted in a splendid 11.01 performance!

Lauryn Williams: Like Veronica Campbell-Brown, Lauryn Williams is a “big-meet performer” in the truest sense! Anyone who has followed her career since her gold medal performance in Kingston in 2002, but even more importantly since the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens will realize that Lauryn is not someone to be taken lightly!! Like Sherri-Ann, Lauryn is just 26, and her PB in the 100-meter dash (which she ran four years ago) is 10.88 seconds. Lauryn has not been particularly impressive this year, as her season’s best is 11.11, while last year she ran 10.90 and in Osaka (2007) she ran 11.01 seconds.
    Last edited by Historian; July 12, 2009, 02:50 PM.

Difficult to see another 1, 2, 3...as I am thinking this time all of our top 3 will have to get good starts.

The athletes outside of Ja will have that recent Olympic 1, 2, 2...in their thoughts and will be that more determined to crash our party.

Bwoy Historian you becoming a nightmare....lol. Why are you spoiling my fantasies with facts? Get out of my dreams, Freddy Krueger!!! Here is another dream of mine....1-2-3-5 in the m 100m.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yuh correct 1-2-3-4 wont happen, but 1-2-3 is a near certainty...just depends on what shape VC is in.

Brooksie has not stepped up like she should.

LOL

Bwoy Historian you becoming a nightmare....lol. Why are you spoiling my fantasies with facts? Get out of my dreams, Freddy Krueger!!! Here is another dream of mine....1-2-3-5 in the m 100m.
          LOL No, it’s not my plan to spoil your “fantasies with facts” (LOL)!! I would never knowingly do such a thing, boss .

It’s just that I feel we all as track and field fans need to not let the results from Beijing get to our heads too much in 2009. Other nations are watching and taking notes (not just the USA), and while watching and taking notes alone is certainly not enough, some may just have the odd athlete here and there who can make things rough!

In fact, I’m going to predict now that the eight finalists in the women’s 100-meter will be Black women (Yuliya Nesterenko was an aberration in 2004). Belgium’s Kim Gaevert is not likely to reach the finals, and neither is Bulgaria’s fast sprinter Ivet Lalova (who is just returning from an awful injury she suffered several years ago).

In my opinion, the contenders for 100-meter gold, silver and bronze medals, should they reach the finals, are (alphabetically listed here):

Kelly-Ann Baptist
          Veronica Campbell-Brown
          Shelly-Ann Fraser
          Carmelita Jeter
          Kerron Stewart
          Lauryn Williams

All six women are quite clearly medal material.

As far as the men 100-meter dash is concerned, this is an even more wide open field, and I won’t even begin to make a guess except to say that two individuals who will definitely medal, barring injury, are Usain Bolt and Tyson Gay. Beyond these two I will be making no other 100-meter predictions for the men. (Three weeks before the start of track and field events at last year’s Beijing Olympics, who could have seriously predicted a silver medal for Richard Thompson?!)

or a non medal for asafa?

I see you have conveniently changed it to a 1-2-3-4. The good money is on a Jamaica medal sweep. Any other view suggests some sort of inferiority complex, to me. And I'm not trying to diss, Historian, as I do respect your views, which are, more often than not, clearly outlined.

historian, you've really done the research to support some argument you are trying to make... i would have said foisting but not certain if it really applies here...

nonetheless, i don't think it is an unrealistic expectation for a sweep wid a bobo broom... saf, ks and a fit vcb is likely to finish in the top three, any order... there aren't any women who are running the 100m sprints better than the three jamaican women...

i don't know where you get the 1-2-3-4 argument from... i dont know any knowledgeable jamaican track fan who would make that claim, unless of course its a fantasy, to which everyone is entitled... baptiste, sturrup, jeter, lee, ferguson... none of them can compare right now with our top three... thats how i see it...

Any other view suggests some sort of inferiority complex
                  a good ole jamaican yawd broom... bwoy, mosiah yuh good...

Wake Up, Baddaz!

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                    i don't know where you get the 1-2-3-4 argument from... i dont know any knowledgeable jamaican track fan who would make that claim, unless of course its a fantasy, to which everyone is entitled... baptiste, sturrup, jeter, lee, ferguson... none of them can compare right now with our top three... thats how i see it...
                    As I stated in my post, boss, a 1-2-3-4 sweep is actually possible, as I’m sure you will recall from Helsinki in 2005 with:

(a) The USA men’s 200-meter guys, and
                    (b) Tirunesh Dibaba and her Ethiopian teammates who ran 1-2-3-4 in either the 5,000 or the 10,000-meter race (I have the race on tape but I’m too lazy to check now).

The point here is that a 1-2-3-4 sweep has been accomplished before, and as you can see, more than once. In addition, I’ve seen suggestions (albeit maybe tongue in cheek) of a 1-2-3-4 for Jamaica in the women’s 100-meter dash. Theoretically, if all the Jamaican women reach the finals, this is not impossible!! It is not likely, but not impossible! Who would have imagined that it would have proved impossible to separate 100-meter women, even after going way down to the thousandths of a second, as happened in Beijing last year?

Welcome to the unpredictable world of track and field!! (LOL)

You know what.....mek me end this argument right now. Jamaica will finish 1 -1 - 2 - 3.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

i guess i misunderstood your original post... i thought you were saying that a 1-2-3-4 is NOT possible... a re-read showed me where you said a 1-2-3-4 is not IMPOSSIBLE... i have to agree with you there...

is it likely to happen, anything can happen in a 100m final... however, if i was a betting man, i would bet against that happening... i think it is unlikely for a 1-2-3-4 sweep by jamaica in the womens 100m because the other women anticipated to be in the finals are running better than sheri-ann brooks... and that is assuming that sheri-ann brooks will make it to the finals...

it is track & field and like you said its unpredictable...

I hope unuh archive my post and when it happens unuh come bow down at my feet. Jamaica will finish 1-2-3-4 in women's 100m finals.

I HAVE Archived Your Post!

I hope unuh archive my post and when it happens unuh come bow down at my feet. Jamaica will finish 1-2-3-4 in women's 100m finals.
                            Jangle, I’ve already archived your post, boss, but for the opposite reason to what you’ve suggested!! Also, I can see that you’re highly impressed with Sheri-Ann Brooks!

Trust me, I will be reminding you of this post of yours on either August 17 (the evening of the finals) or else the following day, August 18.

Now, do you want a realistic prediction? Well, here we go: The lady with the most beautiful body in track and field, Cuba’s Yargelis Savigne, WILL win the gold medal in the triple jump in Berlin. (She might even win the long jump as well, but I’m not going to predict this.)

hehehe... I will not reveal how I came to make such a prediction.