NO ESCAPE FOR CHEATS
    Olympic gold medal hero Chris Hoy welcomes new crackdown
    Read
    Olympic champion Victoria Pendleton hangs on to her world title
    TOM DALEY HITS BRONZE | Olympic wonderkid makes his point in World Series
    DWAIN GETS GOLD
    SIMEON WILLIAMSON IS KING
    From ANDY DUNN in Philadelphia, 11/07/2009

CARL LEWIS did not see Usain Bolt's jaw-dropping run in Lausanne but he doesn't really need me to tell him what happened.

He knows what's coming. I tell him anyway. Tell him that Bolt sauntered through a Swiss storm to record the fourth-fastest 200 metres in history.

And his look, his theatrical shrug of the shoulders tells more than a thousand words. But he gladly adds the thousand words.

Lewis experienced and saw many things in a controversial career that spanned two decades, four Olympic Games and nine gold medals. But he has never witnessed anything quite like the astonishing feats of the 22-year-old Jamaican.

He says: "He (Usain Bolt) could be the greatest sprinter of all time. I don't know.

"But I think it's interesting how in our sport, in our times, how someone can make that sort of dramatic change. But for someone who ran 10.00 seconds and now they are talking they can run 9.4 seconds the next year, it just boggles the mind.

TALKING SHOP - Carl Lewis (right) meets News of the World chief sports writer Andy Dunn
    "I was in Osaka (for the 2007 World Championships) and I saw the 200m. I saw Tyson Gay just drill him (Bolt) and one year later he (Bolt) breaks the world record.

"Wow, that's a huge improvement in a year. And in the 100m it's gone from ten flat to nine seven. It's a huge improvement."

As much as he has been stunned by Bolt's stratospheric development, Lewis has been equally shocked by the absence of a challenge to his supremacy.

Bolt looks nailed on to surpass Lewis's tally of Olympic golds and it would be one of the biggest ever sporting shocks if he didn't clean up at next month's World Championships in Berlin.

But Lewis believes American sprinters are now suffering from the same disease that has blighted British athletics . . . a tolerance of the average.

He explains: "I don't understand why you don't have too many athletes. And one of the things contributes is that you accept mediocrity. Honestly I do. In America it's the same. We seem to say all the Caribbeans are going to win. Are you freaking kidding me?

"We've dominated and then all of a sudden, one Olympics and these Jamaicans come along and run these crazy times and performances and all of a sudden everyone says now they are the fastest. It's like everyone just lays down.

"Really, it's ridiculous. People need to get over it, go to work - and stop whining. We're worse than England. How can you tell me that a country the size of Philadelphia (Jamaica) is gonna beat the United States? It's not possible. So we need to get over it and get back to work."

SEOUL SHOCK - drug cheat Ben Johnson wins the 100 metres (left), watched by a stunned Carl Lewis (right)
    That is why Lewis is trying to encourage a new generation of athletes to pursue the Olympic dream that he held as a young teenager. But it is not the only reason.

Lewis goes on: "I started dreaming about it at high school. But you never know what is going to happen. What is important is that athletics - and sport - offers an alternative. I hear that, in England, gang culture is becoming a big thing.

"Well, let me tell you. Being in a group of sportsmen that is going for Olympic achievement, is a far better brotherhood. A better sense of belonging and of bonding . . . without the guns and knives."

Of course, only the chosen few, the talented few, the blessed few, will ever come close to matching what Lewis - named as the Sportsman of the 20th Century - achieved. And there are also those who become disillusioned with a sport that has had more than its fair share of drugs scandals over the years.

In fact, think of Lewis and the mind's first entry is probably not his four-gold haul at the Los Angeles Games of 1984. And probably not his long jump gold at the 1996 Atlanta Games.

It is that startling image of him, incredulous and angry, coming second to Ben Johnson in the 1988 Seoul Games in the most infamous track race of all time.

Now 48, and over 20 years on, Lewis sits in a Philadelphia hotel room and relives the moment. He is not bitter. In fact, he is proud. He says: "When I crossed the line in '88, a lot of people looked at my face in that famous picture and tried to decipher how I was feeling.

"But the reality was that the year before, I gave my first gold medal to my father, I pressed it into his hand to be buried with him. And the last thing I said to him was that I will get another one next year.

Ambassador

"When I crossed that line, it was nothing to do with Ben being dirty, Ben winning the race . . . it was that I LET MY FATHER DOWN. The last thing I said to him was that I would win that medal. That's where my mind was. Then an interesting thing happened.

"When the race was over, Ben was celebrating, I went over to shake his hand and I tapped on his shoulder and he just turned away. And you know you can have five hours of thoughts in two seconds? I had five hours of thoughts.

"How dare he? I know I'm better than him, I know he's dirty. But I thought: 'What would you do if dad was there?' So I physically grabbed his arm and I made him turn around and made him shake my hand.

"Because I felt like if I had left that stadium like that, my father would have been all over me. No matter what Ben did, you don't walk off, losing like that."

Lewis is an ambassador for the National Lottery's When I Realised My Dream programme, counting down to London in 2012. The Games have divided the nation, with spiralling costs prompting widespread scepticism.

But Lewis has a simple message for Great Britain. He says: "It happens every time. Athens was the worst. Everyone said it will never happen and then everyone had an amazing time. So London, you're no different. Welcome to the ballgame."

The National Lottery is contributing up to £2.2billion to the funding of the infrastructure of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games, where our athletes hope to fulfil their dreams. For more information: www.national-lottery.co.uk. Good Causes money raised from sales of Dream Number and certain specially designated Scratchcards and all online Instant Win Games goes towards London 2012 - giving lottery players the chance to 'Be Part of It'.

Your comments
    This article has 5 comments
    Why are people surprised at the achievements of the Jamaican sprinters. Have we forgotten the great sprinters that Jamaica has produced in the past? The basic principles are the same, desire, hard work and talent, mixed with a bit of technology. Usain is a giant of a man. Is it so impossible for a man that tall to have long powerful strides?
    By Dave Thomas. Posted July 12 2009 at 9:30 AM.
    Mr. Carl Lewis, when you were running the fast times in your era, did you like the fact that people were saying you must be dirty to be running so fast? Is it because MR. Bolt is not an American why it bothers you so much?
    By father pow. Posted July 12 2009 at 5:58 AM.
    Carl lewis is one of my top sprinter but after his nasty comments about bolt let me change my mind please (carl ) do some research on Mr bolt since he was a junior if you want to know why this guy run this fast at 200m check his 400m speed in high school, the guy is one of a kind dont be mad just give the caribbean the rating they deserve because if you check some of britian and american athlete they are from the region like: Donovan bailey, Ben jhonson, Keron clement, sanya Richard and the list goes on but thank God our athlete are saying home now so you all running to africa for there distance runners lol
    By lerone lawson. Posted July 12 2009 at 5:47 AM.
    Well if Carl has been following athletics, he would have realised that Usain Bolt was the best junior sprinter in history. He ran the world 200m junior world record at age 17 when he ran 19.93.
    Usain was also the youngest ever world junior champion at age 15.
    I don`t remember any of the great sprinters, Tyson Gay, maurice Greene, Bailey, Christie, ever doing what Bolt did as a junior.
    Bolt is simply the best ever sprinter, period.
    By Gary Morris. Posted July 12 2009 at 4:26 AM.
    No one should ever be surprised about the achievements of Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt. The guy is a hardworking talented, special athlete, who is strong and is in good health.

I am one Jamaican who does not believe in drug cheats; and when such persons are found they should be banned from sports for life.

I am aware that Usain Bolt has never used any form of performance enhancing drugs to boost his performances. Unlike others in other countries who have been drug cheats, this wonderful sprinter extraordinaire has no need to be involved in such practices. He is a natural.

I know that his performances continue to bother many athletes in Track and Field, but I would encourage them to be clean like Bolt and work hard.

Jamaica has a sprint factory which is second to none; and very soon the world will be hearing more names that are going to do well on the international scene.
    By George Henry. Posted July 12 2009 at 2:38 AM.

an' wi nuh like him!

funny he wasn't asked about his own dalliances with banned substances. lewis has long proven himself to be a liar in addition to certain proclivities

excerpt from the font of all knowlege...wiki.....look at evelyn ashford's comments...a classy lady...

Performance-enhancing drug use
      In 2003, Dr. Wade Exum, the United States Olympic Committee's director of drug control administration from 1991 to 2000, gave copies of documents to Sports Illustrated which revealed that some 100 American athletes who failed drug tests and should have been prevented from competing in the Olympics were nevertheless cleared to compete. Among those athletes was Carl Lewis.
      It was revealed that Lewis tested positive three times before the 1988 Olympics for pseudoephedrine, ephedrine, and phenylpropanolamine, banned stimulants and bronchiodilators also found in cold medication, and had been banned from the Seoul Olympics and from competition for six months. The USOC accepted his claim of inadvertent use and overturned the decision. Fellow Santa Monica Track Club teammates Joe DeLoach and Floyd Heard were also found to have the same banned stimulants in their systems, and were cleared to compete for the same reason.[70][71]
      The positive results occurred at the Olympic Trials in July 1988 where athletes were required to declare on the drug-testing forms "over-the-counter medication, prescription drugs and any other substances you have taken by mouth, injection or by suppository."
      "Carl did nothing wrong. There was never intent. He was never told, you violated the rules," said Martin D. Singer, Lewis' lawyer, who also said that Lewis had inadvertently taken the banned stimulants in an over-the-counter herbal remedy.[72] "The only thing I can say is I think it's unfortunate what Wade Exum is trying to do," said Lewis. "I don't know what people are trying to make out of nothing because everyone was treated the same, so what are we talking about? I don't get it."[73]
      The World Anti-Doping Agency's chairman, Dick Pound, dismissed the defence of "no intent", saying that in some instances an "automatic forgiveness" was given to athletes by the US officials.[71] Dick Pound commented that "It's got to be pretty embarrassing to the USOC, to have their secretary-general writing in the letter, where he advises an athlete of a positive A sample, 'I have to send you this, but we already decided this was inadvertent.' That whole process turned into a joke."[71]
      Former athletes and officials came out against the USOC cover-up. "For so many years I lived it. I knew this was going on, but there's absolutely nothing you can do as an athlete. You have to believe governing bodies are doing what they are supposed to do. And it is obvious they did not", said former American sprint queen and 1984 Olympic champion, Evelyn Ashford.[72]

Why cant someone do a serious interview with this Idiot , ask him valid questions like did you know of Bolt exploits as a youth ? How many Jamaicans have won the 100m and other T&F events for other nations included the USA .Is Jamaica really a hurry come up T&F nation havent they always been there ?

BTW did you test positive for any substance .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

they are still hurt about the 2008 olympic because jamaican dominate the T&F and they was so a shame,they have not gotten over it and i don't think that they will,but that is american for you they think that they are the best at eveything and expect to be the dominate one in everything,sh#t like this is the reason that no other countries like them,and about that idiot lewis or whatever is name is don't pay him no mine the more he talke the more people will see the idiot that he realy is
          out of many one people

Carl Lewis: drug accusations are 'dead issue'

Last Updated: Thursday, April 24, 2003 | 12:03 AM ET

CBC Sports

Carl Lewis dismissed a demand by the manager of former Canadian sprinter Ben Johnson to give back his 1988 Olympic gold medal in the 100 metres, saying it was unrealistic. "It's ridiculous; who cares?" Lewis said Tuesday. "I did 18 years of track and field and I've been retired five years, and they're still talking about me, so I guess I still have it."
            Johnson's manager and lawyer, Morris Chrobotek, told the Sydney Morning Herald last week that he plans legal action in response to documents purporting to show that Lewis and other U.S. athletes were allowed to compete at the 1988 Seoul Olympics after failing drug tests.
            "So he's going to sue hundreds of people? Would you expect him to say anything different?" Lewis asked. "It's a dead issue, it really is."
            Lewis was declared the winner in the 100 metres when Johnson was stripped of his gold medal and world record after testing positive for a banned steroid. Lewis also won the long jump and finished his career with nine Olympic golds.
            Dr. Wade Exum, the U.S. Olympic Committee's director for drug control from 1991 to 2000, released more than 30,000 pages of documents to Sports Illustrated last week that he says show Lewis, tennis player Mary Joe Fernandez and others tested positive but were still allowed to compete in Seoul.
            The Orange County Register published a similar report, based on documents it obtained.
            "The only thing I can say is I think it's unfortunate what Wade Exum is trying to do," Lewis said after an appearance at the University of Southern California.
            The USOC has called Exum's accusations baseless.
            Exum said Lewis tested positive three times at the 1988 Olympic trials for small amounts of banned stimulants found in cold medications. The USOC first disqualified Lewis, then reversed itself after he appealed, claiming inadvertent use.
            "I don't know what people are trying to make out of nothing because everyone was treated the same, so what are we talking about? I don't get it," Lewis said. He said a different climate existed in drug testing in 1988.
            "At that time, if you had an offence once, then they usually wanted to check to see what the substance was, then they gave a warning," Lewis said. "That's why there were so many people.
            "Most of the names nobody knew, so it's not like they were picking people out and doping. That was the policy."
            Baaron Pittenger, who was executive director of the USOC in 1988, said Tuesday that an investigation at the time concluded the level of banned stimulants found in Lewis' system - mostly ephedrine -was not significant enough to be performance-enhancing. That prompted the USOC to reverse its decision.
            "The rules at the time called for us to determine intent. These levels were less than 10 micrograms per millilitre, consistent with accidental use," he said.
            Pittenger noted if a test found the same levels in an athlete today, it would not even require the lab to notify doping authorities. He also said Lewis and Santa Monica Track Club teammates Joe DeLoach and Andre Phillips (who also won gold in 1988) told the USOC before the Olympics they were not taking cold medication, but were using a supplement that included the Chinese herb Ma Huang. The active ingredient in Ma Huang is ephedrine.
            Lewis said there's still debate about whether stimulants at those low levels give athletes an unfair advantage. But there is no longer any question about penalties: Two years ago, the International Olympic Committee said tests finding ephedrine levels at 10 micrograms per millilitre or higher would be considered positive.
            "There really is no pure evidence to show that it does something; it does nothing," he said. "Now the policy has changed. You get three months (probation) on one of these right now, and the second time you get a suspension."
            The 41-year-old Lewis was arrested for investigation of misdemeanour driving under the influence after his 2004 Maserati hit a wall along a Los Angeles freeway early Monday. The California Highway Patrol said a breath test showed his blood-alcohol level was .08 per cent, a reading at which a driver is considered intoxicated in California.
            Lewis repeatedly referred questions about his arrest to his publicist, who did not immediately return a phone call.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Here are some more comments to Carl Lewis' outbursts:

This article has 52 comments
              I see discrimination is alive and well and this idiot Lewis is attempting to draw attention away from the painful facts that there are no Jamaican athlets who have been stripped of any awards -- lets look @ Marion Jones, Justin Gatlin,Tim Montgomery,Kellie White and the list goes on and on -- FloJo dropped dead @ 36 years old -- this was a stunning beautiful woman in the beginning who @ the end look very masculine and no one has come close to her "World Records"-- What is this idiot trying to say that a tiny island has the capacity to create better drugs than the USA -- he is an idiot

By Dr. Garfield Hall. Posted July 14 2009 at 2:46 PM.

i am so stunned by mr lewis' statements ... what does the size of jamaica have to do with the talent found there?
              is it that difficult for the world to accept that the Caribbean is capable and talented.
              its as if he thinks the Americans and the British are the only ones entitled to have the medals and titles. GET OVER YOURSELF CARL!!!!!!!!!!

By esther sam. Posted July 14 2009 at 5:04 AM.

I am a Jamaican living in the US for the past 24 years. I have seen how American, Canadian, English sprinters who are all Jamaican spank Jamaican sprinters over the last 30 years. Now there is a different breed of Sprinters being trained in Jamaica we have always had the talent now it is being harness and trained just like the more advanced countries with the weights training and appetite. Jamaican sprinters will dominate the rest of the world for decades to come. We have finally figured it out. I also believe Usain can go 43.00 seconds flat in the 400 meters. At the world championship in August 2009 Usain is going to spank the rest of the world he is really going to show his superiority in Track and Field.

By sizzling. Posted July 14 2009 at 1:24 AM.

GIVE IT YOU CARL LEWIS WEREN'T YOU ON DRUG? WHO ARE YOU TO CRITICIZE ANYONE!

THE JAMAICAN ARE THE BEST!

By ALLISON. Posted July 13 2009 at 10:26 PM.

that ******************** bowy needs to shut up because people from his time & country cheated merlene ottey & other jamaicans out of gold medals. somebody should tell that ugly sissy to stop been a hater and go put some ice on his ass!

By donea . Posted July 13 2009 at 9:57 PM.

that ******************** bowy needs to shut up because people from his time & country cheated merlene ottey & other jamaicans out of gold medals. somebody should tell that ugly sissy to stop been a hater and go put some ice on his ass!

By donea . Posted July 13 2009 at 9:55 PM.

Carl Lewis need to take a look at Jamaica Track and Field program. In Jamaica, an individual start the program from as young as three years old. Every school has an annual track and field competition and every shcool (even kindergarten) has a running track, though some might be dirt but they do. India is much larger than the US in terms of population, yet they do do well in track and field and most other sports. Odne can not expect America to be the best in basketball, hockey as well as other world class sports. There are some very small countries that do well in a particular sport based on their concentration on that particular sport.

By Joseph Midgley. Posted July 13 2009 at 7:50 PM.

CARL LEWIS HAS A CHIP ON HIS SHOULDER...
              HE NEEDS TO QUIT HASSLING USAIN BOLT....
              YOU ARE A LOOSER AND ALL YOU WANT IS ATTENTION..
              USAIN BOLT AND OTHER ATHLETES RAN 10 SECA AND THEN SUB-10 SOON AFTER..
              WHEN GAY BEAT HIM HE WAS JUST GETTN ON THE SENIOR FRONT. GIVE THE GUY A BREAK CARL YESS AND ONE YR LATER WORLD WORL WOLD RECORD..
              GETT A LIFE CARL AND LEAVE BOLT.....

GIVE DUES WHERE IT IS DUE, BCUZ U WERE CHEATED BY DRUG USERS LIKE BEN U BELIEVE EVERYONE WHO RUNS GOOD IS A CHET..
              BOLT IS A NATURAL SPEED ATHLETE.........

By CHER. Posted July 13 2009 at 7:03 PM.

Carl needs to leave talking to his sister who is more intelligent and gracious. He has a chip on his shoulder that he can't seem to get off. He believes he is God's gift to the sport of track and field and everyone else is a pretender. Sadly, he is the pretender having tested positive for performance enhancing substances and having it covered up. His days in the spotlight is over and no one is really seeking him out for any meaningful commentary, only these ridiculous ones which he always accepts the bait to respond. Carl go the way of the Dinosaurs - become extinct.

By Rose. Posted July 13 2009 at 5:10 PM.

Well all I know is Mr Lewis should also explain how a few 'noted' very fast American sprinters NEVER failed any drug tests, won medals beating these lowly Jamaicans, then when they got busted YEARS later, said their tests result were incorrect. This makes people wonder (those already not knowing the real truth) about them American sprinters, and how long these tests were incorrect. I think special invitation should go to Mr. Lewis to attend the National Boys & Girls HS Champs & Gibson Relays in Jamaica next year. He may just buy a home there afterward with his interest in athletics being so great.

By Track & Field Enthusiast. Posted July 13 2009 at 3:27 PM.

they say only a thief can catch a thief. in this case anyone who runs faster than carle lewis must be using drugs. because he couldn't run fast without it, so anyone who does must be on drugs. especially someone who can run 9.69 with ease like usain did. that's why he was suspicious about Ben Johnson. think about it people. the more he talks is the more he reveals that he wasn't a clean athlete. I'm sorry America, i have lose a lot of trust for any of your athletes and you know why.
              they have denied many athletes their chance to wind gold and championships over and over again. but with what seems to be a more competent dope testing regime, the playing field is now level. and real raw talent is starting to shine.

By wayne powell. Posted July 13 2009 at 3:07 PM.

There is nothing wrong with Carl Lewis's suspections, but there is definitely a lot of inconsistencies in the way he presents his argument. He speaks about Usain's first 100 meters but not about the phenomenal speed he displayed as a juinor athlete. Any unbiased person who saw Usain run as a juinor knows that what he is doing now is just living up to his potential. The fact that he was beaten convincingly by Tyson at the last worl championships and that he came back the following year to run those fast times only mean that he became more motivated after the lost to Tyson. If you should compare Usain's and Tyson's careers from Junior to Current, Bolt is a superior runner to Tyson. The difference between the two prior to last year was motivation.

By Claude Anthony. Posted July 13 2009 at 3:05 PM.

THE COMMENTS OF CARL LEWIS DOESN'T SURPRISE , HE SHOULD TAKE A LOOK AT THE RECORD OF SOME OF THERE ATLETES OVER THE YEAR WHO HAVE PROP UP ONLY TO DISAPPEAR AGAIN BECAUSE THEY WERE FOUND TO HAVE BEEN DRUG CHEATS. HE IS JEALOUS OF USAIN IF HE WAS AN AMERICAN HE WOULDNOT BE MAKING THOSE COMMENTS.

By Maxine. Posted July 13 2009 at 2:32 PM.

Carl Lewis is and will be just an angry hermit.

Tyson could not break Asafa's WR but now all of a sudden they are forcing him to break Bolt's WR. He is older now and he has 9.5 in him.(give me a break) If Tyson had that speed in him he would have broken Asafa's record long time ago. Why is just now he is so hungry to break it?
              Is he being used as a guinea pig?

By Karen. Posted July 13 2009 at 2:26 PM.

Jamaica has always had strong sprinters. Don't you guys remember "Cool Runnings"?

By Andrew. Posted July 13 2009 at 1:25 PM.

Karl Lewis is rekindling the American spirit. He thinks that Americans can be the best is they dare to dream. Noone should take serious offence to that because they are not American.
              Also he never said Usain is on drug. He merely raise his suspicion about Usain's dramatic improvement. In light of what is happening in track, it is a reasonable suspicion.That is the same feeling we had about MJ and Flo Jo. Let us be fair, he is not being odd.
              My only concern is that he never questions American who dramatically improve. Someone should publicly ask his feeling on Flo Jo performances. I am not saying she was on drug. I would just think he is crazy if he is not just as suspicious about those times she posted.

By Rohan Anderson. Posted July 13 2009 at 8:45 AM.

As someone who ran on the same 4X400m team with Bolt you know talent when you see it he didnt just poof appear and started running fast. He had years of injuries and disappointments and i even remember plastic bottles being thrown after him and him being boo-ed at Gibson Relays in 2006 after he pulled up. He has worked hard to achieve what he has done yeah he dosent have to work as hard as everyone else, he enjoys what he is doing hence him being relaxed and confident. Carl Lewis is just bitter why isn't he pointing fingers at Tyson Gay he is running outstanding times and when you check it out the United States has the record for having the most top 100m runners found using drugs. Jamaica is doing well now because we stopped sending out top athletes to the United States to be treated like slaves at these Universities. We are now believing in our local coaches and it is paying off no matter what Carl Lewis says we are better for our size we have achieved far more based on our population size.
              Carl it is only going to get worst this is only the beginning of your worst nightmare

By Eron Samuels. Posted July 13 2009 at 4:18 AM.

Its obvious Carl Lewis is fill with disdain and resentment for
              "these Jamaicans". He cannot get over the dethronement of
              the great Americans by the meagre Jamaicans. I know that
              everyone is entitled to their opinion but he should stop talk-
              ing now, he is only showing his poor sportsmanship and low
              class.

By SUNSHINE GIRL. Posted July 13 2009 at 2:33 AM.

Any doubts about Bolt's pedigree were answered at Jamaica's High School Championships in 2003, when as a 16 year old, he ran 45.35 seconds over 400m(still the National HS record in Jamaica), without seriously training for the event. At the same championships, he set the 200m record (which still stands) of 20.25 seconds. That would have won him a bronze medal in Lewis's first Olympiad.
              Why do we care what Lewis has to say. He has been irrelevant in track for at least a decade. He showed his true colors back in the early 90s with the lack of acceptance of Michael Johnson as the new sprint king. I remember him whining then too.

By PJ Forde. Posted July 13 2009 at 1:28 AM.

As an American track and field competitor and fan who grew up not too far from the New Jersey high school tracks where Carl first came on the scene, I have to admit that he's always been kind of an ass. Better with the feet than the mouth. And a little lacking in class. His sister's much more, well, intelligent and dignified.

By Andrew John. Posted July 13 2009 at 1:19 AM.

I THINK ITS ABOUT TIME SOMEONE RAN 19.3 AGAIN.ITS ALWAYS BEEN POSSIBLE..

1968-TOMMIE SMITH RAN 19.83-
              HE STILL HOLDS THE 220YD. STRAIGHT-AWAY RECORD-19.5 IN CINDERS HAND TIMED.-1966/67

BOLT IS LIKE TOMMIE-JETTS--

JAMAICA HAS HAD ALOT GREAT SPRINTERS/CHAMPIONS,,--

CLEAN HARD WORK,-NATURAL TALENT ALWAYS WIN-OUT ALWAYS

WE WISH EVERYONE IN JAMAICA AND AROUND THE GLOBE A BLESSED&GREAT YEAR IN 2009 TRACK&FIELD.

WE {NORDITALIA-ATHLETICS} JUST LAUNCHED THE DRUG-FREE-ATHLETE PROJECT GLOBALLY-

LET JAMAICA BE 1ST TO DESIGN&WEAR A DRUG-FREE ATHLETE LOGO FOR TEAM UNIFORMS FOR WORLDS AND SHOW THE WORLD YOUR DRUG FREE&TAKE A STAND!!!

GOD BLESS ALWAYS

THE NORDITALIA-ATHLETIC FAMILY

By michael-knight-marren. Posted July 12 2009 at 11:55 PM.

Carl Lewis needs to get his facts straight, Bolt ran 20.13 at 16 and 19.93 at age 17. 10.03 he ran in 2007 was basically his first 100 meter race as a pro! Mr. Lewis was great athlete but he should not be making outlandish statements about performances being out of the blue. There is a clear progression to Mr. Bolt's performances.

Mr. Bolt is the best thing to happen in athletics in the last 10 years. Mr. Lewis should show some respect and acknowledge the profound effect he is having on out sport.

By Mr. A Kennedy. Posted July 13 2009 at 12:18 AM.

I don't suspect Bolt of using drugs any more than I suspect every top sprinter. Certainly his junior times suggest that he is as talented as anyone who's ever laced up spikes.

However, just because Lewis may be out of line, doesn't mean that we should canonize Bolt. One thing I would never accuse him of is being hard working. Asafa is hardworking, Gay is hardworking, Bolt is not.

By JR. Posted July 12 2009 at 11:38 PM.

No, Jamaicans will not win every sprinter title from here on out. However, We have been knocking on the door for years. Also, Our top sprinters over the years ran for, USA, CANADA, GREAT BRITAIN. Tyson Gay was an average sprinter in college. Could barely beat wallace spearman at Arkansas. Asafa spanked him the year before. All of sudden He is running 19.5's and 9.7's. You don't here Jamaican's saying he is taking drugs. Come on Americans I normally you. You cannot win all the time. Go to Jamaica watch all age sports. I know of guys who are very fast, But could not read or write. Carl Lewis, wi likkle, but we talawah.

By Rohan Williams. Posted July 12 2009 at 11:37 PM.

Lewis failed to look at the hisrory of athletics. Jamaica with athletes like Arthur Wint, Herb McKinley and Gerge Rhoden to name a few has been winning Olympic gold medals for Jamaica, Donovan Bailey, Linford Christie even Sanya Richards are all Jamaicans who dominated for other countries. Jamaica during the 1980's and throughout the 1990's lost a lot of talents through the US college system. There coaches ran them like a mule and misled these naive kids into believing they were getting scholarships for tracks and education, only to find themselves hungry and homeless sometimes. I won't even go into Bolt history too much, but look at the times he ran as a lanky kid with poor technique and injury.
              I think Carl Lewis is looking publicity because no one gives him the time of the day at this point of his life. So riding someones back is his ticket to media attention.
              I rather someone get some backgroung information before making allegations, what he is doing is preaching ignorance. A lot out there believe what they read or hear, while some want to believe negative of others.
              Carl before opening your mouth at least look at the history of the best British black athletes and see how many are Jamaican or coming from Jamaican descendants, do the same for Cananda and even the US. Then you will see that your argument of Jamaica's size hold no water.

By RTaylor. Posted July 12 2009 at 11:08 PM.

What an idiot. Those are some of the dumbest statements I've ever heard!

By mAtT. Posted July 12 2009 at 10:38 PM.

They say black people from the caribbean is doing far better in education and other things than african americans.Now carl lewis should ask himself why, it is the same with our sprinters that go back over 90 years.Our first prime minster was a great sprinter and would have gone to the paris olmpic games instead he choose law.If carl lewis what make jamaica so great at sprinting he should go to jamaica and see why jamaica is doing so well.There is an under age championship, a junior championship, and all age championship all is held at the national stadium.So big up jamaica.

By ernie beswick. Posted July 12 2009 at 10:00 PM.

I gurantee, Bolt is taking drugs of some sort. Tyson Gaye is going to spank him soon in the chapionships.

By Black Texas. Posted July 12 2009 at 9:56 PM.

to be honest for a person who's positive test was sheild and not made public until years later should really think twice before raising question about other athletes being clean or dirty.
              The Jamaican coaches are taking the necessary precaution on better educating their athletes on what their options are relating to colleges in Jamaica or the States. so in future you will be seeing more Caribbean athletes doing better at the olympics and the world champpionships by staying home where they have a better support system and not rely on strangers for assistant.
              I for one beleive that this guy is being the mouth piece of several people at USATF who are afraid to speak their mind publicly about how they really feel about the Jamaican athletes performance in Bejing.
              this guy is a hater, with questionable olympic medals due to cover ups of his past positives prior to the games. he should be sanction by the iaaf and strip of his medals. how about that for thought.
              Well if the Jamacians are juicing they're going be the ones paying the price in the end. as you'll know whats' in the dark will come to light and the truth will prevail.
              the sad think is if the track camps in jamaica are enabling athletes to use drugs. the out come of the enablers will not be the same as the Balco participants in the States . So that is enough deterrant for the coaches to stay on the right path of making sure their athletes are competing clean and drugs free.

By AL Williams. Posted July 12 2009 at 9:43 PM.

This idiot is like an alien that is clearly a sore loser. He thinks this is Ben Johnson. Just wonder why he refuses to give back his medals. Does he really believe that is only him and other Americans must dominate track and field. If that is so he has a rude awakening coming

By hyacinth. Posted July 12 2009 at 9:43 PM.

I am so sick of Carl Lewis constant disregards to Jamaican. Carl Lewis must remember small island don't do what US athletes do and that's take drugs and buy out other countries runners. For ex. Sandy Richards and others. That's a insult and he's a ass hole. Get over it, no because you didn't get caught probably if you had stayed in the sport longer we would've found out one way or another. At the Beijing Olympics, if I remember right Usain Bolt got tested before he ran his races. Americans are not worthy sprinters...moreover, i think all of them are on drugs. All of sudden Tyson Gay is speedy gonzalez after his injuries; He couldn't drug up in Beijing and that was the reason why he lost all his race. Get a life and get over it. Jamaicans are really taking there place and by doing that by being clean.

By Tricia. Posted July 12 2009 at 9:40 PM.

What is Carl Lewis saying that only Americans can and must run fast?? Let me educate you little bitter man track and field does not belong to America it belongs to Jamaica and other Caribbean countries. We have the natural ability to be the best and because you and others got protected we were denied of medals.

By Hyacinth. Posted July 12 2009 at 9:35 PM.

Carl just look at this and then tell me why Americans use to dominate the sprints. The women's world record for the 100m and 200m sprints was set by a woman (if you can call her that) who died at age 36 from an enlarged heart. A man's heart is larger than a woman's heart. Athlete's are health human beings, and an athelete dying at such a young age is unheard of. Flo Jo was on drugs that began to turn her into a man, hence the deeper voice and enlarged heart. Also look at the facts the only woman to come close to her records was the confessed drug cheat Marion Jones. Jamaican's were always coming second to you Americans, just ask Merlene Ottey. The drug tests have stepped up, and only until your atheletes find a new drug to beat the tests you will never again be back on top.

By Matthew. Posted July 12 2009 at 9:10 PM.

I don't know what is Carl Lewis problem he needs to just give the Jamaicans a break. He just don't want to give the Jamaicans any credit that is so sad. I've been watching Usain Bolt run from he was 15 year old and from then i know is was going to be one of the great ones i think Carl Lewis is just jealousy that the athletics world thinks someone is greater then him and he finding it very hard to deal with.

By Rodney Greensword. Posted July 12 2009 at 8:47 PM.

one more nasty from you carl and we will be taking back all the ones we gave you like sandy kerron and others, so keep it low, the kid is not american get over it

By donald. Posted July 12 2009 at 8:54 PM.

Carl had better take a trip to Jamaica and see whats happening with Athletics, several of the World's finest athletes have already found out and are amazed.

Word to Carl,if you plan to live much longer and not die of a heartache please get familiar with the name JAZEEL MURPHY as if you think BOLT is not real,then JAZEEL is gonna make you keel over.

Check this,he's only 15 years old already has times of 10.39 and 20.97..
              PS: he was too young for THE WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIPS..but as you will realize those time would make him the DOUBLE SPRINT CHAMPION..

GET OVER IT CARL if Jamaica were spending half the amount of money they spent on football, in Track, and provide schools with proper infrastructure you would be amazed twice over...

By Proudestnative . Posted July 12 2009 at 7:48 PM.

Lewis has told the world that bolt like many island sprinters has done the impossible impecably and outstandingly. but he has addressed all of you half-assed athletes who compete just to be seen in uniform. he has addressed all of you metiochre underage performing stand-ins who speak without comprehending what his claim is. and he has definitely spoken to all you no-names band-wagon riders who have never competed at any level passed high school P.E. meets. many of your comments have proven what Lewis was saying to be accurate and justifiably correct. where is the spirit of competition? people have lost sight of what it truly means to be a real athlete, to loose and taste dissatifaction; to go back to the drawing board and find the missing piece to the puzzle. to train hard and want harder all while keeping the feeling of loss engrained in your vision and memory. people dont hang up the pictures of their most feared rivals anymore, to want and need and desire to surpass all others. this is half of what drives these jamaican sprinters and Lewis has shed that light on the world.

By CASHMERE O'NEAL. Posted July 12 2009 at 7:57 PM.

Lewis has not disrespected the Jamaican sprint organization in anyway, in fact he has complimented them.

By CASHMERE O'NEAL. Posted July 12 2009 at 7:56 PM.

Bolt is just the one of a long list of jamaican /carribean sprint stars (check all the jamaica/carribean sprinters that have repersented the usa as well) ppl need to recognize this, bolt is taller then all the others bigger strides better mechanics and lots of heart the what make bolt that good. I remmember the last time tyson gay beat bolt, bolt lookth his mom in the eyes and "mummy that brother caan beat me again". He came home and he gave is all in training the youth have guts man and ppl need to respect that. One thing I have to tell the world last golden league meet hope you guys where paying attention. Jamaica had a 19 yld youth runing 9.96 in yohan blake coach by the same glen mills, carl lewis your nightmare just start. Lol

By omar . Posted July 12 2009 at 6:48 PM.

The message is for Carl Lews and the rest of American athletes.. Enough is enough!! Please realize that all gold medals are not for American athletes only, it's for those who work extremely hard.. Stop whinning because like millions of us, I am sick of American athletes who belittle non American athletes..

By Anthony. Posted July 12 2009 at 7:00 PM.

Poor Carl i sensed jealousy on your part but let's go back in history when Jamaicans were always being beaten by American sprinters. The fact was that they were all cheating including yourself. The fact that you were never branded a cheat was because your results were never made public (remember carl) Another fact look at Tyson Gay who could not break the 10 second barrier in 2006 and was beaten by Asafa evertime they ran. Look at Tyson now all buff and toned like flow jo who made a similar metamorphosis change. sorry Carl you have a short convienent memory.

By Mr. Orville Berry. Posted July 12 2009 at 6:57 PM.

I am just as skeptical as Carl.

By MasterG. Posted July 12 2009 at 6:57 PM.

Lewis is playing the fool. The reason why Bolt made such a big change from 2007 to 2008 is that he only ever ran the 100 meters once as a trial in 2007 - and was shocked when he did 10.03. The next year he simply trained for it.

Then there is the case of the development that takes place between the ages of 21 and 22. In those early or maturing years athletes are always liable to make significant leaps in performance.

By Jonathan. Posted July 12 2009 at 6:17 PM.

I CANT UNDERSTAND WHY EVERYONE SEEMS SO SHOCKED ABOUT USAIN BOLT'S PERFORMANCES. ITS ABOUT DYAM TIME... THATS ALL. IF U REALLY WANT TO PUT THINGS INTO PERSPECTIVE LOOK AT WHAT TOMMIE SMITH WAS DOING OVER 100,200 & 400METRES 41 YEARS AGO,OR EVEN BOB HAYES IN 1963/64. NOW WITH INCREASED EDUCATION, TRAINING METHODS, CLOTHING, TRACK SURFACES,COMPUTERS,DIET, SCIENCE & BIOMECHANICS ETC IS IT REALLY A SHOCK. EVEN HERE IN ENGLAND/UK SINCE LINFORD LOOK LOOK HOW MANY ATHLETES HAVE RUN UNDER 10.10 FOR THE 100METRES COMPARED TO 15-20YEARS AGO, YET THE FASTEST TIME FOR A STRAIGHT ( NOT CURVE ) 200METRES IS 19.5s. DONT BE OVERAWED GET REAL N BELIEVE THE IMPOSSIBLE IS POSSIBLE.NUFF RESPEK.

By BAZZA DaGEEZA aka BARRY D. Posted July 12 2009 at 4:51 PM.

I CANT UNDERSTAND WHY EVERYONE SEEMS SO SHOCKED ABOUT USAIN BOLT'S PERFORMANCES. ITS ABOUT DYAM TIME... THATS ALL. IF U REALLY WANT TO PUT THINGS INTO PERSPECTIVE LOOK AT WHAT TOMMIE SMITH WAS DOING OVER 100,200 & 400METRES 41 YEARS AGO,OR EVEN BOB HAYES IN 1963/64. NOW WITH INCREASED EDUCATION, TRAINING METHODS, CLOTHING, TRACK SURFACES,COMPUTERS,DIET, SCIENCE & BIOMECHANICS ETC IS IT REALLY A SHOCK. EVEN HERE IN ENGLAND/UK SINCE LINFORD LOOK LOOK HOW MANY ATHLETES HAVE RUN UNDER 10.10 FOR THE 100METRES COMPARED TO 15-20YEARS AGO, YET THE FASTEST TIME FOR A STRAIGHT ( NOT CURVE ) 200METRES IS 19.5s. DONT BE OVERAWED GET REAL N BELIEVE THE IMPOSSIBLE IS POSSIBLE.NUFF RESPEK.

By BAZZA DaGEEZA aka BARRY D. Posted July 12 2009 at 4:24 PM.

What a moran, Carl Lewis comments are offensive. He is implying that the Jamaican athletes are taking drugs because of their success on the track. He is clearly jealous of Usain Bolt's thunderous power, grace and style. A man who can run beating his chest and still break the world record

Regardlesss of Carl Lewis slanderous comments the Jamaican Sprint Team is second to none. His expectation of our athletes is irrelevant and so is he.

By Anthony Mark. Posted July 12 2009 at 3:48 PM.

The stupidy of Mr Lewis's reasoning cannot be fathomed. American's believe they own the world and are now waking up to the fact that they don't. Jamaican sprinters are gonna run them out of Berlin and post new world recods in the 4x1 men and women. I guess Mr. Lewis will be bawling like a baby then...somebody better get him some pampers in case he defecates

By Wayne Jolly. Posted July 12 2009 at 1:57 PM.

Why are people surprised at the achievements of the Jamaican sprinters. Have we forgotten the great sprinters that Jamaica has produced in the past? The basic principles are the same, desire, hard work and talent, mixed with a bit of technology. Usain is a giant of a man. Is it so impossible for a man that tall to have long powerful strides?

By Dave Thomas. Posted July 12 2009 at 9:30 AM.

Mr. Carl Lewis, when you were running the fast times in your era, did you like the fact that people were saying you must be dirty to be running so fast? Is it because MR. Bolt is not an American why it bothers you so much?

By father pow. Posted July 12 2009 at 5:58 AM.

Carl lewis is one of my top sprinter but after his nasty comments about bolt let me change my mind please (carl ) do some research on Mr bolt since he was a junior if you want to know why this guy run this fast at 200m check his 400m speed in high school, the guy is one of a kind dont be mad just give the caribbean the rating they deserve because if you check some of britian and american athlete they are from the region like: Donovan bailey, Ben jhonson, Keron clement, sanya Richard and the list goes on but thank God our athlete are saying home now so you all running to africa for there distance runners lol

By lerone lawson. Posted July 12 2009 at 5:47 AM.

Well if Carl has been following athletics, he would have realised that Usain Bolt was the best junior sprinter in history. He ran the world 200m junior world record at age 17 when he ran 19.93.
              Usain was also the youngest ever world junior champion at age 15.
              I don`t remember any of the great sprinters, Tyson Gay, maurice Greene, Bailey, Christie, ever doing what Bolt did as a junior.
              Bolt is simply the best ever sprinter, period.

By Gary Morris. Posted July 12 2009 at 4:26 AM.

No one should ever be surprised about the achievements of Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt. The guy is a hardworking talented, special athlete, who is strong and is in good health.

I am one Jamaican who does not believe in drug cheats; and when such persons are found they should be banned from sports for life.

I am aware that Usain Bolt has never used any form of performance enhancing drugs to boost his performances. Unlike others in other countries who have been drug cheats, this wonderful sprinter extraordinaire has no need to be involved in such practices. He is a natural.

I know that his performances continue to bother many athletes in Track and Field, but I would encourage them to be clean like Bolt and work hard.

Jamaica has a sprint factory which is second to none; and very soon the world will be hearing more names that are going to do well on the international scene.

By George Henry. Posted July 12 2009 at 2:38 AM.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Lol

Dem light him up!!!

i have a sneaking suspicion that most of those comments were from jamaicans! ... just a hunch.

i am also pretty sure that hl wasn't among their number!

OMG!!!!! Check this out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJLvC...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_uDc5tQxmJY&NR=1

yow my yute...a did japanese recording star yuh a diss suh?

oh my jehovah jireh... i can't help but fall inna a vilent bout of laughter every time mi hear carl lewis version of the usa anthem... this has got to be the woat... WORST OF ALL TIME... mi seh, mi dedding wid laff... kriiise...