Top Ten 100m times

• Top Ten 100m times

Sprinters - Men's 100 Metres (Olympic Record: 9.69 by Usain Bolt at Beijing in 2008)
    1. Usain Bolt (Jamaica) - Fastest Time: 9.69 seconds
    The world and Olympic records in the 100 metres were reset by Usain Bolt at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.
    2. Asafa Powell (Jamaica) - Fastest Time: 9.72 seconds
    Asafa Powell ran his fastest time, once the world record, during heats at the 2007 IAAF Rieti Grand Prix.
    3. Tyson Gay (United States) - Fastest Time: 9.77 seconds
    During the 2008 U.S. Olympic Trials, Gay also ran a wind-aided 9.68 (the fastest 100 metres under any condition).
    4. Maurice Greene (United States) - Fastest Time: 9.79 seconds
    By the widest margin since electronic timing, Greene ran this since passed world record time in 1999.
    5. Donovan Bailey (Canada) - Fastest Time: 9.84 seconds
    Bailey returned Canada to glory with his 9.84 record-breaking run at the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games.
    6. Bruny Surin (Canada) - Fastest Time: 9.84 seconds
    Surin's second place finish of 9.84 at the 1999 World Championships was the fastest silver medal time ever.
    7. Leroy Burrell (United States) - Fastest Time: 9.85 seconds
    Burrell had twice set the world record in the 100 metres with a 9.90 in 1991 and a 9.85 in 1994.
    8. Justin Gatlin (United States) - Fastest Time: 9.85 seconds
    Gatlin's fastest time was set at the 2004 Olympics with a gold metal winning 9.85 second run.
    9. Olusoji Fasuba (Nigeria) - Fastest Time: 9.85 seconds
    Fasuba holds the African 100 metre sprinting mark with a 9.85 at the Doha Grand Prix in 2006.
    10. Carl Lewis (United States) - Fastest Time: 9.86 seconds
    Track and Field star Carl Lewis has won nine Olympic gold medals and eight World Championship gold medals.

Sprinters - Women's 100 Metres (Olympic Record: 10.62 by Florence Griffith-Joyner at Seoul in 1988)
    1. Florence Griffith-Joyner (United States) - Fastest Time: 10.49 seconds
    Flo Jo set the current 10.49 100m world record at the United States Olympic Trials in 1988. MASH DOWN THAT LIE!!!!!
    2. Marion Jones (United States) - Fastest Time: 10.65 seconds
    Jones won the 100 metre at the 1998 IAAF World Cup in South Africa with a time of 10.65. Who else thinks this should be erased from the record books?
    3. Christine Arron (France) - Fastest Time: 10.73 seconds
    Arron placed third in the 100m and 200m sprints at the 2005 World Championships in Paris.
    4. Merlene Ottey (Jamaica) - Fastest Time: 10.74 seconds
    Ottey has won more World Championships medals (14) than any other female sprinter in history.
    5. Evelyn Ashford (United States) - Fastest Time: 10.76 seconds
    A U.S. Track Hall of Fame athlete, Ashford set a later broken Olympic record at the 1984 Olympics.
    6. Kerron Stewart (Jamaica) - Fastest Time: 10.77 seconds

6. Irina Privalova (Russia) - Fastest Time: 10.77 seconds
    Privalova is a World Champion in numerous indoor events, and holds the indoor records for the 50m and 60m sprints.
    7. Ivet Lalova (Bulgaria) - Fastest Time: 10.77 seconds
    Lalova's best 100 metre time was set in Plovdiv, Bulgaria in 2004 when she ran a 10.77.
    8. Shelly-Ann Fraser (Jamaica) - Fastest Time: 10.78 seconds
    Fraser, along with her Jamaican teammates, dominated the women's 100m at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing.
    9. Dawn Sowell (United States) - Fastest Time: 10.78 seconds
    Sowell ran a 10.78 at high altitude during the 1989 NCAA Championships in Provo, Utah.
    10. Torri Edwards (United States) - Fastest Time: 10.78 seconds
    In the Semi-finals at the 2008 U.S. Track Trials, Edwards ran a 100 metre time of 10.78.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Asafa's 9.722 run was in Sept 2008 in Lausanne.

Error in Women's List

3. Christine Arron (France) - Fastest Time: 10.73 seconds
      Arron placed third in the 100m and 200m sprints at the 2005 World Championships in Paris.
      4. Merlene Ottey (Jamaica) - Fastest Time: 10.74 seconds
      Ottey has won more World Championships medals (14) than any other female sprinter in history.
      5. Evelyn Ashford (United States) - Fastest Time: 10.76 seconds
      A U.S. Track Hall of Fame athlete, Ashford set a later broken Olympic record at the 1984 Olympics.
      6. Kerron Stewart (Jamaica) - Fastest Time: 10.77 seconds
      Good post (as usual), Jangle.

Check your women’s 100-meter listing, as there is an error there. Kerron Stewart’s best time is 10.75 seconds and ranks her as fifth all-time fastest. (She ran that time on Friday, July 10, 2009 at the Rome Super Grand Prix meet.)

Do cheats prosper?

From The Times July 11, 2008

With curious symmetry, Dwain Chambers's likely court appearance on Wednesday will fall on the 20th anniversary of the day that Florence Griffith-Joyner set a women's 100 metres world record that may never be broken. In which case, he might like to bear two names in mind.

One is Mary Ruth, the daughter of Griffith-Joyner, who knows what it is like to wake up in the morning at the age of 7 and find that your mother has died in the night. Ten years and two months after her mother set the record, she died in her bed of what the coroner eventually declared to be asphyxia triggered by a seizure. Mary Ruth was sleeping in an adjoining room. But whatever the coroner may have written on the death certificate, Mary Ruth should by now know what was written elsewhere. Either that, or the day she Googles her mother's name will be a painful one.

In fact, the most illegal aspect of Griffith-Joyner's 100 metres that record-breaking day in the 1988 United States Olympic trials in Indianapolis was probably the wind. Or the faulty wind gauge. But even if we eradicate her work on that windy day in the quarter-finals on the Saturday, she would still have smashed the record in the semi-finals on the Sunday. And then done it again in the final. It was a handy weekend's work.

They say that records are there to be broken, but that 10.49sec in the 100 metres is a stand-out exception. No one has come close. If you could line up the fastest women of all time in their fastest performances, “Flo-Jo” and her signature painted fingernails would be through the finish line more than a metre ahead of the rest. Next in line would be Marion Jones (10.65). And behind Jones is the second person for Chambers to think about.

For it is exceedingly likely that Christine Arron, a French sprinter of particular elegance, is the fastest woman of all time. Arron will never be fêted for it, she will never earn the kickbacks from it and she will never be able to rewind to her European Championships triumph in Budapest in 1998 and go through the line to see with astonishment that her time, 10.73, is the fastest ever.

But Jones, who has admitted to doping, is a tainted sprinter. That much is official. And Griffith-Joyner? We could start with the allegation in Stern, the German magazine, from another American sprinter, Darrell Robinson, that she had once asked him to get her some human growth hormone. And that would just be the prologue.

So it is a pretty good punt that Arron is the fastest clean woman ever. The flaw here, of course, is that we cannot know for sure that Arron is clean, but she has a physique that suggests that she is natural and, for a decade, she has run times that consistently leave her on the edge of the big-money pool. The dopers tend to dive right in.

The strongest evidence in her favour, though, may be that she is bitter as hell, as an interview in L'Equipe, the French magazine, at the start of the year made clear. On the realisation that Jones was going to serve a prison sentence, Arron said that the American deserved her fate. “She has lied for years,” Arron said. “She treated everyone as idiots. I'm not choked she is going to jail. Many people criticised me because I was always the one who lost in the Jones-Arron battle, even if I had very good results. We started running together in 1997. She has stolen my best years. Everything could have been different for me.”

On Griffith-Joyner, Arron long ago questioned her world record. The L'Equipe interviewer asked her if it was “malicious gossip” to suggest that the 100 metres record is hers by right. “Malicious gossip, no. Why?” she replied. “It is a very strange feeling. Deep in my heart I think, ‘Yes, I am probably the girl who ran the fastest and cleanly.' But there are two other girls better than me and we can't delete their records. It is very hypocritical. Although I will never get recognition, that would have made a difference for me.”

The best chance of Arron - or of someone of her ilk - getting recognition was aired last week in the launch publication of Spikes, a new athletics magazine, which asked the following question: “Should we scrap every world record and start again?” In a veritable hall of fame of the athletes polled, it was perhaps not surprising that Jonathan Edwards, the triple jump world record holder, argued in favour of keeping his mark and that those shouting loudest at the other end of the argument were Tessa Sanderson and Judy Oakes, who threw the javelin and shot respectively and, in the words of Sanderson, “competed against many females from the Eastern bloc who were so masculine it was ridiculous”.

Unfortunately for some, the “Year Zero” debate stands no chance. It did in 1999, when the IAAF, the world governing body of athletics, discussed it seriously after the millennium's end presented a convenient and tidy dateline. Now, though, it has few supporters and, anyway, its flaws are obvious. If Year Zero had been introduced in 2000, the “new” world record would have been set in May of that year by Jones, it would have been broken in August by Jones and it would have been held for four years by Jones.

And Arron? Her 10.73 was run in 1998, so that would have been no good to her. She is 34 and not quite able to push her body to the speeds that it used to reach. Her best times this year would leave her about eight metres behind Griffith-Joyner. The Olympic Games? Selection would be an achievement. She will never know the fulfilment that, in a drug-free world, she might have done.

And Mary Ruth? By all accounts she is well and healthy. Her father has remarried, although they toast and honour her mother in a way that most of the rest of the track world does not.

For the record, the coroner reported no proof of recent use of steroids (she was ten years retired) although he was unable to rule out steroid use in her past. Mary Ruth will live with this legacy of suspicion, never able to ask her mother what exactly she did and did not do.

Chambers, meanwhile, will probably have his representatives in court on Wednesday arguing for his second chance. For those the dopers leave behind them, though, there is no second chance.

Regarding the Men's List....

Originally posted by Historian View Post
          Good post (as usual), Jangle.

Check your women’s 100-meter listing, as there is an error there. Kerron Stewart’s best time is 10.75 seconds and ranks her as fifth all-time fastest. (She ran that time on Friday, July 10, 2009 at the Rome Super Grand Prix meet.)
          The heading “Top Ten 100m Times” for this thread is misleading, as what we have here is not the top ten 100-meter times, but rather the “Top Ten 100m Sprinters”!

If it was the Top Ten 100m Times, then surely Asafa Powell would have been there more often, including his 9.77 and 9.74 world records! Also, that wind-aided 9.77 by Tyson Gay would surely have not been there.

POINT counselor!

The top ten 100m times for the men is almost completely Jamaican between Asafa ans Usain, but you are wong on Tyson Gay. He ran 9.77 last year legit and he ran it again Friday. His 9.68 was wind-aided.

Top Ten Times Men (before Friday)

9.69 0.0 Usain Bolt JAM
              9.72 1.7 Usain Bolt JAM
              9.72 0.2 Asafa Powell JAM
              9.74 1.7 Asafa Powell JAM
              9.76 1.8 Usain Bolt JAM
              9.77 1.6 Asafa Powell JAM
              9.77 1.5 Asafa Powell JAM
              9.77 1.0 Asafa Powell JAM
              9.77 1.6 Tyson Gay USA
              9.77 -1.3 Usain Bolt JAM

The womens list of course is a joke, but here it is anyway

10.49 0.0 Florence Griffith-Joyner USA
              10.61 1.2 Florence Griffith-Joyner USA
              10.62 1.0 Florence Griffith-Joyner USA
              10.65 A 1.1 Marion Jones USA
              10.70 1.6 Florence Griffith-Joyner USA
              10.70 -0.1 Marion Jones USA
              10.71 0.1 Marion Jones USA
              10.71 2.0 Marion Jones USA
              10.72 2.0 Marion Jones USA
              10.72 0.0 Marion Jones USA

Notice the "zero" wind for the 10.49. Not too often you get a double illegal record.

talk about an illegal list!

Mek the FBI most wanted list look like Sunday School!

And the thing about it is that them really tiefing the earnings of people who work hard to be successful. If more of them would face jail time like Marion Jones maybe that would mek some of them think twice.

You Are Correct!

The top ten 100m times for the men is almost completely Jamaican between Asafa ans Usain, but you are wong on Tyson Gay. He ran 9.77 last year legit and he ran it again Friday. His 9.68 was wind-aided.
                      You are correct, Islandman! In fact, I was just about to step outside when a thought hit me that I had made a mistake with Tyson Gay’s perfectly legal (that is, under 2 meters per second) 100-meter run, which like you also correctly stated was accomplished twice. I turned back, came to my computer and signed in just now to correct that error I made.

See the irony here (lol)? I’m correcting Jangle and, in the process, making errors myself! Thanks for spotting and pointing out my mistake , and I hope Jangle is not laughing too hard .

Interesting

That's what I get for being too lazy to check the facts and being online 12:30 am instead of in bed.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

didn't christine aaron come under suspicion of using ped... i dont think she is an angel in this area...

Saturday, August 19, 2006

An adjusted World Record progression

With the Jones affair finally coming out the way we figured it would, it's time to revisit an interesting statistical situation.

Since about 1990, when random out-of-competition testing was finally introduced in the wake of the Ben Johnson scandal, most women's world records have not been seriously threatened. Within the next two years the eastern European totalitarian Communist regimes fell and their state-sponsored doping programs went with them. Prior to 1990, "doping control" was in name only; in practical terms drug use was basically not prohibited.

So a stat-head such as myself finds it useful to begin a new world record progression in 1992. To further make sense of what we have, I only use marks by athletes who have never been caught doping (and also ignore strange one-off results by Chinese athletes in 1993 and 1997). In the sprints, it's a very interesting change. Here's what I've got; if I accidentally include someone who has taken a "doping vacation", please let me know and I'll fix it.

10.94Carlette GuidryUSANew York6/14/199110.82Irina PrivalovaRUSMoscow6/22/199210.82Gail DeversUSALausanne7/7/199310.82Gail DeversUSAStuttgart8/16/199310.82Gwen TorranceUSAParis9/3/199410.82Gwen TorranceUSAAtlanta6/15/199610.73Christine ArronFRABudapest8/19/1998

That last time by Arron sticks out like a sore thumb. Her career second-best time, 10.81, was in the semis at the same meet (the 1998 European Championships). After that, her best is 10.85.

In short, be suspicious of anyone who can consistently run sub-10.8. Sherone Simpson has put up 10.87 and 10.82 this year; no red flags here.

Posted by The