US has new relay approach

• US has new relay approach

Fitzgerald Mosley said the athletes selected to the relay pool will be required to participate in a training camp the week before Worlds. The camp will be held outside of Berlin and will be closed to the media. She said that by the time that training camp breaks, the athletes will know what rounds and legs they will be running and should be better prepared than the athletes in Beijing.

“By the time (athletes) leave training camp for Berlin the coaches will have communicated the expectations,” Fitzgerald Mosley said. “They will know , ‘Am I running the first round or am I running the final? What leg of the relay am I going to run?’ Some of those things weren’t well communicated to the athletes, particularly in Beijing, and we want to clear that up.

“When I was preparing for my races, I would always be able to visualize being in that stadium before, my preparation for that meet, who my competition might be, what lane I might be in on the track. It’s really hard to understand an athlete going to the Olympic Games and walking into the warm-up track and not fully knowing what they are expected to do.”

This transparency in the selection process is not only refreshing but is expected to pay immediate dividends. But it also should not be overlooked that the decision makers in this process all have strong relay backgrounds, which could influence the selections.

Cheeseborough, the head coach at Tennessee State University, won gold medals less than an hour apart in both the 4x100 and 4x400 relays at the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles, becoming the first woman ever to accomplish that double-relay feat.

Glance, the head men’s coach at the University of Alabama, ran the opening leg on the gold medal winning 4x100m relay team at the 1976 Olympics in Montreal. As a member of U.S. relay teams, Glance went on to win gold medals at the 1979 Pan American Games, the 1985 IAAF World Cup, the 1987 Pan American Games and the 1987 World Championships.

Both also were assistant coaches in Beijing and have been entrusted to correct the mistakes that were made a year ago.

How much space you are going to give in the zone and what exchanges are you going to use during different weather conditions are decisions that coaches have been making most of their lives,” Fitzgerald Mosley said. “They just need to go back to the basics and make the very sound decisions that they’ve made for their college teams.

"Chandra and Harvey know what to do. My approach as an executive has always been to not dictate to people what they should or shouldn’t do. I’m just going to oversee the process to make sure that it is sound.”
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Fitzgerald Mosley said the athletes selected to the relay pool will be required to participate in a training camp the week before Worlds. The camp will be held outside of Berlin and will be closed to the media. She said that by the time that training camp breaks, the athletes will know what rounds and legs they will be running and should be better prepared than the athletes in Beijing.

“By the time (athletes) leave training camp for Berlin the coaches will have communicated the expectations,” Fitzgerald Mosley said. “They will know , ‘Am I running the first round or am I running the final? What leg of the relay am I going to run?’ Some of those things weren’t well communicated to the athletes, particularly in Beijing, and we want to clear that up.

“When I was preparing for my races, I would always be able to visualize being in that stadium before, my preparation for that meet, who my competition might be, what lane I might be in on the track. It’s really hard to understand an athlete going to the Olympic Games and walking into the warm-up track and not fully knowing what they are expected to do.”

This transparency in the selection process is not only refreshing but is expected to pay immediate dividends. But it also should not be overlooked that the decision makers in this process all have strong relay backgrounds, which could influence the selections.

Cheeseborough, the head coach at Tennessee State University, won gold medals less than an hour apart in both the 4x100 and 4x400 relays at the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles, becoming the first woman ever to accomplish that double-relay feat.

Glance, the head men’s coach at the University of Alabama, ran the opening leg on the gold medal winning 4x100m relay team at the 1976 Olympics in Montreal. As a member of U.S. relay teams, Glance went on to win gold medals at the 1979 Pan American Games, the 1985 IAAF World Cup, the 1987 Pan American Games and the 1987 World Championships.

Both also were assistant coaches in Beijing and have been entrusted to correct the mistakes that were made a year ago.

How much space you are going to give in the zone and what exchanges are you going to use during different weather conditions are decisions that coaches have been making most of their lives,” Fitzgerald Mosley said. “They just need to go back to the basics and make the very sound decisions that they’ve made for their college teams.

"Chandra and Harvey know what to do. My approach as an executive has always been to not dictate to people what they should or shouldn’t do. I’m just going to oversee the process to make sure that it is sound.”
    Dat nah wuk.

They need some good old yankee technology... maybe jet assisted takeoff??

wear magnetic gloves...

When the US recognizes that they can't depend on raw speed to win the sprint relays anymore, you know something fundamental has changed in world sprinting.

Nontheless we should never underestimate the advantage that great baton changes can make. France broke the mens 4x100m world record in the 1990s with a team that had NO star sprinters, just great changing.

wear magnetic gloves...
          A Flash Gordon/Iron Man clone?

I am really happy that all the coaches are on the same page about the pre-camp. The teams need practise those baton changes til they get it right. With two almost equally matched teams like the USA and Jamaica, there will be no room for errors.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Sherone Is Missed!

I am really happy that all the coaches are on the same page about the pre-camp. The teams need practise those baton changes til they get it right. With two almost equally matched teams like the USA and Jamaica, there will be no room for errors.
              Trust me, Jangle, Sherone Simpson is definitely missed!! She would have made a major difference to our team! Right now Sheri-Ann Brooks needs to step up, and I mean step up big time (she was certainly less than impressive today)!

Sheri-Ann ran a beautiful lead-off leg at the 2005 CAC Games to give us the gold medal in that women’s 4x100-meter relay (the other members of that CAC team were Beverley McDonald on curve and Peta-Gay Dowdie on anchor. At the moment I cannot remember who ran the second leg – I don’t think it was Danielle Browning). Sheri-Ann also ran fairly nice legs on the 4x100-meter teams at the 2006 Commonwealth Games and also at last year’s Olympic Games in Beijing. But if we’re to take the gold in Berlin, in addition to good baton changes we need a solid leg to go with what Shelly-Ann, Kerron and Veronica will no doubt give us!

A Flash Gordon/Iron Man clone?
                Flash Gordon?
                Another in Shady Pines! Where have you been hiding!

Cannot forget GB winning with 'so-so' runners!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                    Trust me, Jangle, Sherone Simpson is definitely missed!! She would have made a major difference to our team! Right now Sheri-Ann Brooks needs to step up, and I mean step up big time (she was certainly less than impressive today)!

Sheri-Ann ran a beautiful lead-off leg at the 2005 CAC Games to give us the gold medal in that women’s 4x100-meter relay (the other members of that CAC team were Beverley McDonald on curve and Peta-Gay Dowdie on anchor. At the moment I cannot remember who ran the second leg – I don’t think it was Danielle Browning). Sheri-Ann also ran fairly nice legs on the 4x100-meter teams at the 2006 Commonwealth Games and also at last year’s Olympic Games in Beijing. But if we’re to take the gold in Berlin, in addition to good baton changes we need a solid leg to go with what Shelly-Ann, Kerron and Veronica will no doubt give us!
                    Was it Duhaney...Dahlia(?)

Brooks ran a great leg in Beiijing

Found It!

Was it Duhaney...Dahlia(?)

Brooks ran a great leg in Beiijing
                      No, it was definitely not Dahlia Duhaney. In fact, as far as I am aware Dahlia disappeared from back in the mid-1990s, as the last time I saw her running on any Jamaican relay team was at the 1995 IAAF World Championships in Gothenburg.

Although I expressed uncertainty earlier about whether the runner I couldn’t remember was Danielle Browning, it actually was! Danielle ran the lead-off leg at the 2005 CAC Championships (just like she did at the 2006 Commonwealth Games and the 2005 IAAF World Championships).

Jamaica mine six gold medals
                      published: Monday | July 11, 2005

Anthony Foster, Freelance Writer
                      NASSAU, Bahamas:

CHAMPIONSHIP RECORDS by Dorian Scott and Claston Bernard, along with Lansford Spence's 400m and women's 4x100m victories, yesterday lifted Jamaica's medal tally on the penultimate day of the 20th Central America & Caribbean (CAC) Athletics Championships at Thomas Robinson Track & Field Stadium.

Jamaica's Madrea Hyman (9:54.01) won the 3000m steeplechase gold ahead of her teammate Koreene Hinds (9: 58.05). However, these medals will not be added to the country's medal tally as the Jamaicans were the only two competitors.

At the end of day two, Jamaica boast six gold medals, one silver and three bronze medals, already equaling last championship's tally.

Peta-Gaye Dowdie anchored the women's 4x100m quartet to victory in 43.21, beating the Bahamas with Chandra Sturrup (43.48) and Cuba (45.07).
                      HAND OFFS "We didn't have much time to practice out hand offs, but Bev (McDonald) and I and the other girls (Daniele Browning, Sherri-Ann Brooks) are experienced so we basically used that," said Dowdie, a former national 100m champion.

Inside Track: Righting relay wrongs

Thu Jul 09, 2009 By Joe Battaglia / Universal Sports
                        addthis_pub = 'jtv'; callRatings('article', '3761385', 'jtvs_23000', '', ''); Loading...
                        Related

Inside Track: Joe Battaglia archive

Collection of track & field articles written by Universal Sports...

/* idPrefix, currentItemId for display */var relContentStepper=new SimpleStepper('relatedContentItem','rcCurrentItem' );relContentStepper.maxItems = 1;With the USA Outdoor Championships completed and the start of the World Championships five weeks away, one might be inclined to wonder what the American relay squads will look like in Berlin.

Unlike at the Beijing Olympics, athletes and fans alike, will know the composition of those squads well in advance of the first race. Benita Fitzgerald Mosley, who officially took over as USA Track and Field’s director of sports performance on July 1, has vowed as much.

“We really want to make sure that the athletes know what pool of athletes we will be selecting from to run the men’s and women’s 4x100m and 4x400m,” Fitzgerald Mosley said during the annual meeting of the Track and Field Writers Association in Eugene. “And they will know no later than August 6. That is something a little bit new and different.”

True to her word, the process is already underway.

According to USATF Chief Public Affairs Officer Jill Geer, “the first go-round of athletes for the relay pool have been invited and will be sorted out in the coming days/weeks.” She added that the final roster will be announced to the public on or around August 10.

American relays will be a point of emphasis this summer on the heels of a string of embarrassments at the Games last year, when both the men’s and women’s 4x100m squads dropped batons (watch video) and the teams were forced to run with hand-written bib numbers pinned to their jerseys after someone failed to pick up the pre-printed versions that every other athlete in the field wore. (hehehhe I forgot about that debacle)

The failure was a major black eye for the U.S. In February, the Project 30 Task Force commissioned by USATF chief Doug Logan to come up with solutions to the organization’s problems recommended the immediate dissolution of the national relay program.

In deeming the program, which had an annual budget of $1 million, an unmitigated failure, the Task Force stated in its report that, “the United States has made relay running a 400-meter enigma, wrapped in a conundrum and shrouded in mystery.”

One of those mysteries was exactly which athletes would comprise the relay pool.

Mike Rodgers, who won his first 100m national title two weeks ago and earned a spot on the Worlds team, said that he thought there was a good chance he was going to land in the Olympic relay pool after his seventh-place finish at the U.S. Trials last year.

But he didn’t.

“They left me at home and I was kind of upset about that,” Rodgers said. “I thought I had a shot because when we went overseas (after the Trials) I ran on all of the relays and then they didn’t take me to Beijing. It was disappointing.”

According to Logan and Fitzgerald Mosley, USA Track and Field is going to extraordinary measures to remove any ambiguities from the process. Communication and accountability at all levels within the organization are paramount with this new administration. To that end, the decision on which athletes will comprise the relay pools will be made by head coaches Chandra Cheeseborough and Harvey Glance in conjunction with Fitzgerald Mosley.

“This early in my tenure, I’m going to lean heavily on my coaches to make the proper decisions,” Fitzgerald Mosley said. “My role is to oversee the process to make sure it is equitable and fair. I think any good decision is a result of good counsel. The head sprint coaches will have input, but the final decisions and accountability for those decisions will fall on the head coaches and myself.”

“How much space you are going to give in the zone and what exchanges are you going to use during different weather conditions are decisions that coaches have been making most of their lives,” Fitzgerald Mosley said. “They just need to go back to the basics and make the very sound decisions that they’ve made for their college teams.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                          No, it was definitely not Dahlia Duhaney. In fact, as far as I am aware Dahlia disappeared from back in the mid-1990s, as the last time I saw her running on any Jamaican relay team was at the 1995 IAAF World Championships in Gothenburg.

Although I expressed uncertainty earlier about whether the runner I couldn’t remember was Danielle Browning, it actually was! Danielle ran the lead-off leg at the 2005 CAC Championships (just like she did at the 2006 Commonwealth Games and the 2005 IAAF World Championships).

Jamaica mine six gold medals
                          published: Monday | July 11, 2005

Anthony Foster, Freelance Writer
                          NASSAU, Bahamas:

CHAMPIONSHIP RECORDS by Dorian Scott and Claston Bernard, along with Lansford Spence's 400m and women's 4x100m victories, yesterday lifted Jamaica's medal tally on the penultimate day of the 20th Central America & Caribbean (CAC) Athletics Championships at Thomas Robinson Track & Field Stadium.

Jamaica's Madrea Hyman (9:54.01) won the 3000m steeplechase gold ahead of her teammate Koreene Hinds (9: 58.05). However, these medals will not be added to the country's medal tally as the Jamaicans were the only two competitors.

At the end of day two, Jamaica boast six gold medals, one silver and three bronze medals, already equaling last championship's tally.

Peta-Gaye Dowdie anchored the women's 4x100m quartet to victory in 43.21, beating the Bahamas with Chandra Sturrup (43.48) and Cuba (45.07).
                          HAND OFFS "We didn't have much time to practice out hand offs, but Bev (McDonald) and I and the other girls (Daniele Browning, Sherri-Ann Brooks) are experienced so we basically used that," said Dowdie, a former national 100m champion.
                          Got yuh!
                          ...happy I do not have to dig for my '96 tapes.

The USA is very serious about reclaiming their dominance.

http://theviewfromthefinishline.blog...in-berlin.html

The USA is very serious about reclaiming their dominance.

http://theviewfromthefinishline.blog...in-berlin.html

Nice blog!

He left out the Bob Hayes anchor legs!
                              I doubt any male athlete that came after Bob could live with him on anchor!