Some of our Athletes need to stop wasting time

• Some of our Athletes need to stop wasting time

I beleive that some of our athletes need to give up chasing ghosts in the shorter distances and explore the longer ones and extend their careers. Prime examples are the entire crop of male 400m runners. Some of them need to step up to the 800m and 1500m and also try the hurdles and decathalon. They are wasting their time at 400m because unless you are running 44+ they will never medal in a major tournament. Can someone in the know, shed some light on Germaine Gonzales (one of the most promising athletes a few years ago). The same also goes for some of our female athletes. Aileen Bailey (I am not kncking her) should consider another discipline since she still have some time on her hands. Many of them are chasing the 100m and 200m titles for years and not getting anywhere near. If you are not running 11 sec and lower in the 100m and very low 22's consistently prior to major tournaments, then forget about it. Our athletes need to get real. Dwight "Bigga" Thomas made the switch and now stand a realistic chance of reaching the 110m hurdles finals at the WC. Danny McFarlane has shown the way to extend one's career and eat a food. Not everybody can be a Bolt or Asafa and earn the big monies, but if they make wise decision and switch, then they can make a decent living competing on the Grand Prix Circuits.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Cant blame Gonzales he has been injuried for the past few years.

Good point, and I am not sure Aileen Bailey even made the sprint relay team for Berlin. Mi can see dem a try the 800M, but the 1,500 might be a bit too much fi sprinters.

The same also goes for some of our female athletes. Aileen Bailey (I am not knocking her)...
        what does that have to do with anything!?

Great point Jangle, I really believe so too. Our 100m men and women who consistentley make it to the finals in their events but finish out of the frame should definetely consider swithing to the 100m and 110m hurdles. Also, our 400m athletes who consistently run 45 plus should consider running the 400m hurdles. I think though that in order to do well at the middle distance races, we will ultimately have to place more emphasis on these events. Just a thought...not that I would want him to do it, but with his height and speed I think Usain Bolt would slaughter the 110m record!!

The energy sysstems need to be great 400m runners is completely differnt to 800m needs!

Also, coaching is an issue. For 800m and 1500m its almost a 1 on one need for coaching, so forget about RACERs and MVP DOING THIS.

good post jangle... i once made a similar post on willi's t&f site... i definitely see gonzalez as a 800m runner... there are others in the 200m who should move up to the 400m... success would not come overnight but dedication over the next 2 yrs could reap success for many...

Now this is what I am talking about. Can you imagine if Bigga was training for the hurdles for at least a year, refining his hurdling technique?
                110m Haies / Hommes
                Rng Nom Nat Perf RT

Vent : -1.1m/s
                1 THOMAS Dwight JAM 13.45 0.141
                Jamaïque

2 HICKS Antwon USA 13.47 0.183
                Etats-Unis
                3 RICHARDSON Jason USA 13.52 0.223
                Etats-Unis
                4 PORTER Jeff USA 13.68 0.158
                Etats-Unis
                5 JOHNSON Allen USA 13.75 0.173 (Remember him?)
                Etats-Unis
                6 LAVANNE Cedric FRA 13.83 0.167
                Ua Versailles
                7 AKINS Ty USA 13.85 0.209
                Etats-Unis
                DQ KELLEY Kai USA 17.62 0.151
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Moving from a flat event to the hurdles is not very easy at all. It's one thing to have the technique down, but if your stride length isn't almost perfect, it will never happen for you. You can make adjustments for the 400m hurdles, but the 110 or 100m...no!

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                    Just a thought...not that I would want him to do it, but with his height and speed I think Usain Bolt would slaughter the 110m record!!
                    ...or he would be an absolute disaster, risking embarrassment, not to mention serious injury. Flat races and sprint hurdles are almost night and day apart!

bigga was already a hurdler... he went away from it for a couple years and his return will be easier than if he hadn't run it before...

i see him as a serious contender for london 2012... i expect him to at least be in the finals in berlin at which point anything can happen... its hurdles, strange thing can happen...

http://www.flotrack.org/videos/cover...-golden-league

Good youth. Certain man start listen towhat I am saying..........400h anyone?

Sanjay Ayre not giving up, targets 2012 Olympics – TrackAlerts Online Diaries

Whats cracking Ladies and Gentlemen.
                          I’m writing my first dairy entry for the fastest growing website in track and field, TrackAlerts.com.
                          Its currently 7am and I am on the train, blackberry in hand, bound for the Eiffel Tower in Paris France.
                          I have taken a weeks off from competition after disappointing runs in Italy and France. I can truly say this has been the most disappointing year of my career because of set backs due to injuries and my dissatisfaction with my training program.
                          First of all, I would like to thank all my fans for their continued support over the years. I know a lot of you would like to know what happened to Sanjay Ayre this year. Well here it is.
                          After a disappointing Olympic Games where I failed to win a medal, it was hard for me to come home empty handed, knowing the effect my country has on the world of track and field globally. I took it hard because I knew I could have done better, especially in the individual 400m, it was also disappointing when our 4×4 team failed to win a medal.
                          I however re-focused for the 2009 season and had one of the best fall season training ever.
                          Coming into the 2009 season my coach decided that he would change my workouts. He devised a training program that reduced my rest period between intervals with the philosophy that it would make me stronger. It sounded like a great idea at the time, because less rest with high intensity strength work along with speed endurance should make me stronger. Sounds like a good idea huh? Well….After competing at the Michael Johnson meet in April, I noticed that something was wrong, I felt very weak after my first 300 meters. I went back and researched my previous workouts from the 07′ & 08′ season and discovered that reducing the rest time between runs was affecting my recovery. I was also running way above my lactic acid threshold. It wasn’t a surprise to me, as even my training partner who is a former Olympic Champion at 400 meters, realized that the workouts weren’t working out and decided to return to his previous coach.
                          A month before the Jamaican Championships we identified the problem and tried to correct it. We went back to the same rest periods that I was given in 2007 when I experienced a lot of success. Things were going well with the exception of my hamstrings which would always tighten up when I would sit down for more than 5 minutes at a time. I would also always cramp up whilst running. So I went to a specialist in Canada and I got it diagnosed. I found out I had a bad injury to the ligament that attaches my Gluteus Maximus muscles to my hamstrings, this ligament is known as the Sacrotuberous Ligament, its fascial fibers connects into the top of my hamstrings. I also had a tight band of muscle just on the outer part of the bone which I sit on known as Ishial Tuberosity.
                          google_protectAndRun("ads_core.google_render_ad", google_handleError, google_render_ad);
                          All of this was affecting my preparations and I only had two weeks to go before trials, I was running out of time, I however was confident I could make the team even with a bad injury. I knew the level of competition would be weak and I felt if I could get to Jamaica in 70% shape, I could do enough to finish in the top 6, and I would be off to my 6th consecutive World Outdoor Championship. As we now know, I got injured in the finals and finished a disappointing 8th place.
                          After the race I went back to the U.S, saw a specialist in Texas and had him do a Diagnostic Ultrasound to rule out any soft tissue injuries. We found out that I had several tears in my left hamstrings because other muscles were compensating for the damaged Sacrotuberous Ligament. He was very shocked that I was still competing. I was told that most athletes that have this particular injury would be normally out for 6-8 weeks. I had to run though, I needed the races and my Federation left the door open for me to compete in Europe, run well, maybe @ 44 seconds in the 400, which would give me consideration for a spot on the World Championship Team. I haven’t accomplished that time as yet.
                          Needless to say, I have not given up hope, I plan to run two more Meets. If I don’t do well, I will call it a season and concentrate on summer job offers in modeling and T.V broadcasting. Also, I have been overwhelmed with the responses from fans about The Gleaner article of Anthony Foster interviewing Coach Ford in regards to me being considered for selection to the Worlds Team.
                          I am 29 years old, one horrific season can make you lose a lot of stock, especially from our Jamaican Fans who sets the bar high in regards to their level of expectations. I remember during the Olympic Celebration in October of ‘08, the fans didn’t even care about the Olympic silver and bronze medalists, much less me. I can say one thing though, I am certainly not giving up. My next big goal is the 2012 Olympics in London which might have a bit of a twist to it! I will be running yes but it might not be in the 400 meters….
                          I’ll still be chasing Gold, in life anything is possible………Thanks for your support.
                          Best regards Sanjay Ayre … follow me on twitter @ www.twitter.com/sanjayayre