• Powell on ‘double watch’ at trials

Published on: 25th June, 2009.....688 views
    Powell on 'double watch' at trials

Powell of Jamaica looks at the scoreboard after the men's 100m heat at the National Stadium during the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games.. | read this item

Related News

Kingston, JAMAICA. Former world 100 meter record holder Asafa Powell, says he will "have to be on the double" ( watch) and expect no favours at this weekend’s Jamaican National Championships.
    With the likes of Olympic triple gold medalist Usain Bolt, Yohan Blake, the national junior record holder, Marvin Anderson, Michael Frater and Steve Mullings eager to wear the national colours in Berlin later this summer, Powell said he will have to come out ready to compete.
    “There are a lot of guys out there to put pressure on me and Usain, so I just have to look (out),” said Powell in an interview after his final training session on Wednesday morning at the National Stadium East complex.
    "Michael always comes with surprises at the trials, and Steve Mullings is running well, so I just have to be on the double", he added.
    With Bolt favoured to run away with the men’s 100m, following his 9.77second wind-aided showing earlier this month, all eyes are firmly positioned on Powell.
    google_protectAndRun("ads_core.google_render_ad", google_handleError, google_render_ad);
    In spite of this, however, the Olympic relay gold medallist said he is under no pressure, even though he is not 100 per cent fit.
    “I am not under any pressure," the former national champion said. "For the past five years I have been injured at the trials and I was still able to make the team, so I don’t see why this year is different”.
    "I’m just going out there to qualify,” he explained.
    Powell added that he does not intend to have a showdown with Bolt, who holds world records, 9.69 (100m) and 19.30 (200m).
    "I’m not in any rivalry … I mean Usain (Bolt) is in good shape (while) I’m just coming back from injury so I’m just going out there to qualify for the World Champs," he said.
    “…just trying to get myself ready for the World Champs because I know I can be on top there," said Powell.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Here are a few questions on Asafa;

Has he missed his opportunity to get a gold medal; for greatness; and to make "really" big money?
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jamaica & the USa are the only country that could produce a top class 8 x 100m relay men;s team (Yes I meant 8)

That would be fun to watch, 8 x 100m. But too much baton change, hardly any team woulda finish!

LOL...I swear if I was a billionaire I would set up such a race. - T.K.

Here are a few questions on Asafa;

Has he missed his opportunity to get a gold medal; for greatness; and to make "really" big money?
            I have to be honest Jangle I think Asafa's time has come and gone. For a guy with little time left to make an impression I don't see where he is going to compete with Bolt or Gay anytime soon unfortunately. I pray he makes me eat my words and blows up in Germany. It would be nice to see him get his time in the sun. - T.K.

My Feeling As Well

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
              I have to be honest Jangle I think Asafa's time has come and gone. For a guy with little time left to make an impression I don't see where he is going to compete with Bolt or Gay anytime soon unfortunately. I pray he makes me eat my words and blows up in Germany. It would be nice to see him get his time in the sun. - T.K.
              What you have stated sums up very well my own view on the matter. Asafa seems set to go down in Jamaica’s history as a unique, maybe “tragic” (too strong a word?) figure in that he was so immensely talented as a sprinter, achieved so much in terms of performances on the track, and yet might very well end up not having an individual gold medal in a global event. I sincerely hope that I am incorrect here.

I will always feel that, more than any other years, the year 2004 (Athens Olympics) and the year 2007 (Osaka IAAF World Championships) were Asafa’s chances at getting gold medals. Imagine if he had performed to everyone’s expectations, today he would have an Olympic 100-meter race gold medal and an IAAF World Championships 100-meter gold medal! But we know he didn’t perform to our expectations and so the rest is history. But why couldn’t he have repeated his 2006 Commonwealth Games performance and attitude at these other events?!

With a giant like Usain Bolt (a genuine talent who does not falter under pressure), and also Tyson Gay, we can surmise that it is going to be harder for Asafa. Not impossible; just more difficult.

Wait last year people said the same about Gay after his injury.

Real premature talk this!

Instrumental to note that TG is 3 months older than Asafa and has only beaten him ONCE ever.

Who thinks that Asafa should be running the 200m also? I have always wondered why he never did.

when it counted though and THAT is telling! tyson gay seems mentally stronger than asafa.

suh whey yuh seh? nex' year afta yuh sell 2 a yuh rims ? ......

LOL!!!!! - T.K.

And him run from facing him like tief everytime after that!!!

Gay will NEVER beat Powell again...if its the last thing Asafa do! LoL

As for Berlin, go read what Bolt seh inna yesterday Gleaner. Go find out who him fear more! Bolt anno fool.

He has in the past. His PB is 19.90s from 2006. There he jogged the curve and blasted the straight.

He got hurt twice running 200m curves, the groin and the twisted ankle in training. He has the 400m background this year.

Asafa playing possum dis year...mi dun talk.