European Gene gets credit for Jamaican sprinting?

I would think it probably does though. Nigeria has 150m and they do have not much to show. T&T has more sprinting medals than them.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      I would say unscientifically... 50% is athletic ability, 20% genes & 30% work ethic.
      ....Also the infrastructure and programs that are in place to contribute to the development.

I daresay, that what Jam. has over the other Caribbean countries is the emphasis that is placed on athletics in the school system. There are prep school champs, primary school champs, high school and inter-collegiate champs. So we're way ahead in this regard.

Trinidad, I understand is based more on a Club system.

somebody please correct me if I am wrong, but I think we now have basic school Champs. Our athletes generally have a 10 year jump on those elsewhere. In the US here demographic plays a vital role in what sports our kids can partake in.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Nigeria does not have the "Euro" gene spice that the headline article contends. Niogeris is also 100-120m. LoL

I thought the headline was a typo? The only mention of gene I saw in the article is the one prevalent in West Africans that causes fast-twitch development.

Anyway, I doubt the Jamaican population has a gene pool that has any specific distinctions when compared to other West African populations taken to this side of the world. Too small, too recent in thier separation, etc.

headline was not a mistake - I meant white man gene

I thought the headline was a typo? The only mention of gene I saw in the article is the one prevalent in West Africans that causes fast-twitch development.

Anyway, I doubt the Jamaican population has a gene pool that has any specific distinctions when compared to other West African populations taken to this side of the world. Too small, too recent in thier separation, etc.
              It true then it is a white man fast twitching gene combined with the Black West African genes that gives the blazing speed.

OK unoo really lose me now. The link between that gene and the fast twitch muscles is a West African thing, not European.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ACTN3

----------------------------------------------------

On average each person has an even percentage of each fiber type but Olympic sprinters tend to have around 80% fast twitch fibers.

A mutation (rs1815739; R577X) has been identified in the ACTN3 gene which results in a deficiency of alpha-actinin 3 in a significant proportion of the population. Based on ethnicity the deficiency is found in 20-50% of people. Generally, African Americans have the lowest incidence of the mutation whilst Asians have the highest.
                Studies have linked the fiber twitch type with ACTN3, i.e. fast twitch fiber abundant individuals carry the non-mutant gene version. Also, studies in elite athletes have shown that the ACTN3 gene may influence athletic performance. Whilst the non-mutant version of the gene is associated with sprint performance, the mutant version is associated with endurance.

[edit] See also

I have been to those Champs! Yep, you can see the future Olympians from right there!

I Am Confused Too.