Roll Call: Athletes Missing in Action

I dont want to seem to be disagreeing with you but until the last Olympics Bolt was not seen as a good relay runner as he tended to switch hands way too often when he did not not anchor.

If you recalled Bolt anchored the 4x100m team at the 2002 WJC and managed to hold off Daryl Brown if T&T who had won the 100m earlier.

I cant recall which it was but on a relay team prior to the Olympics Bolt collected the baton in his left hand, switched to the right then switched back again to make the change, way too much movement of the stick to make anyone feel safe.

Thanks

No problems to disagree...that is what we are here for! LoL

Bolt likes to run with the baton in his right hand, so will switch if he gets it in his left, losing valuable momentum.

If you look at the 37.10 relay video, Carter runs with the baton in his right hand, passes to Frater in his left hand, Frater than passes the baton to Bolt in his right who hands off to Asafa's left. No switching happened. Bolt on 2nd leg or anchor would switch. Bolt can only OPTIMALLY run 1st and 3rd legs in the current setup.

Yep, It Was Shaunette!

The other high jumper you are talking about could be Shawnette Davidson but she was a better sprinter than most as she ran on several of Holmwood technicla's 4x100m teams even at Penn Relays as she had real speed

Peaches Roach also ran some good sprint relay and 4x400m legs for Alpha and for University of Iowa as well
          Yes, the lead-off runner whose name I was trying to remember is indeed Shaunette Davidson, who won the high jump gold medal at the 2002 Carifta Games! Thanks for the reminder, Sickko.

And I also recall now that both Davidson and Roach were not only good high jumpers, but they were good sprinters as well (and like you correctly mentioned, Peaches continued contributing at her USA university).

It’s all coming back now as far as that 2002 Carifta Games team is concerned (although it by no means ranks among my favorite Carifta Games Under-20 girls relay teams). The lead-off leg was run by Shaunette Davidson, the second and third legs by 100-meter hurdler Yanique Booth and another girl (whose name is on the tip of my tongue), although I can’t recall who ran in what position, and then Kerron Stewart anchored for another predictable gold medal.

Correction, should have read RIGHT hand.

For the women, the opposite is true for Kerron. She is a lefty baton taker.

3rd leg takes with right hand.

No problems to disagree...that is what we are here for! LoL

Bolt likes to run with the baton in his right hand, so will switch if he gets it in his left, losing valuable momentum.

If you look at the 37.10 relay video, Carter runs with the baton in his right hand, passes to Frater in his left hand, Frater than passes the baton to Bolt in his right who hands off to Asafa's left. No switching happened. Bolt on 2nd leg or anchor would switch. Bolt can only OPTIMALLY run 1st and 3rd legs in the current setup.
                Why is it you believe we ...OK! ...our sprinters are so dumb that they cannot learn?

Needed?
                ...just practice and mental toughness! Practice we can have and mental toughness we ...OK! OK! ...our sprinters have in abundance!

Maureen Gotschalk or Maureen Gottshalk or...
                  Yup! Most talented of all I have seen. Sweet...sweet...sweet sprinter!
                  Just disappeared

Are U following the discussion?

I SAID she never took the baton in that hand BEFORE the OLYs finals.

She coulda smarter than Einstein, U dont run dem kinda risk deh inna OLY finals, capiche?

Were the male hurdlers very talented? From the times of Keith Gardner/Louis Knight up to Wignall, how many did we have in between that time who had the right combination of speed and technique. I remember the hype about some in the 80's and 90's while they were students, but I was never very impressed.

Biggest drop off I have seen is Aldwin Sappleton. The man seemed to start running slower times as he left high school. Quite incredible.

Thelwell didnt impress you. A legit sprint contender with flawless technique???

Thelwell looked good yes, but I don't recall him having times that were great and there was some other kid around those days who could beat him (can't recall the name).

As mi say, between the time of Keith Gardner to Maurice Wignall mi can't think of too many 110 m hurdlers who I think would go on to be in an Olympic Final. As for Georges, Knight is the best hurdler your school has produced.

Are U following the discussion?

I SAID she never took the baton in that hand BEFORE the OLYs finals.

She coulda smarter than Einstein, U dont run dem kinda risk deh inna OLY finals, capiche?
                            And what if VC said she had never taken the baton in the right hand before?

Find it moot that an relay athlete after 5 yrs in high school, 4 yrs running in college, + how much international competions, can say they were never exposed to taking the baton in the right or left hand.

IMO, KS was exuberant at the chance of getting a Gold, got excited and therein came Murphy's law........................

Agreed!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                              Find it moot that an relay athlete after 5 yrs in high school, 4 yrs running in college, + how much international competions, can say they were never exposed to taking the baton in the right or left hand.

IMO, KS was exuberant at the chance of getting a Gold, got excited and therein came Murphy's law........................
                              MdmeX: What you have stated above is exactly what I thought on the morning when I first saw that Beijing Olympic Games women’s 4x100-meter relay, and it’s what I still think now.

Sometimes we as human beings overlook the obvious in our attempt to find a “complex” explanation (a “conspiracy theory” approach, so to speak). For the rest of my life I’ll firmly believe that Kerron Stewart got overly excited at the thought of the “certain” gold medal (and probable world record) and simply moved off to fast!

In his NBC broadcast later that night, Ato Boldon characterized this as “indiscipline” on the part of Kerron, although what he should have said instead is “youthful exuberance.” But excitement, I feel, was the overriding factor that led to our downfall in this case.

Feel how you want...we are medalless and if that makes you feel better than who am I to stop you. LoL

Dont let facts get in the way.