Is Bolt being properly handled?

Nah,

Wrong sport. No permanence in that alignment. 1 day wonder bizniz. The Chinese know Bolt long time now...many do...because of what he did at the Olys. Man U foto-ops notwithstanding.

Shhhhhh!

Days after Usain's Olympics I received a call from some Chinese company that wanted me to get in touch with him because they wanted him to endorse their products. They made everything, from cars to cologne. I passed on their number to Peart and that's that!

So yes, everybody wants a piece of him and there is billions out there to be made.

However, I take as mere comedy your suggestion that
        There is nothing wrong with Bolt putting his name to some Jamaican products, but not at the expense of bigger international companies.
        No one is saying he should choose Tru-Juice over Tropicana, but I would not choose Tropicana just because they are a billion dollar company and Tru-Juice isn't. That sort of nimiety is not always the best thing.

I have nothing but respect for Bolt for choosing Sun Island to make his t-shirts, which are, btw, very attractive. I am disappointed with the apparent sales of the shirts and I am sure y'all will jump on that and say, see, he should have stayed with Puma or even get GAP to market his brand. Perhaps, but if Bolt wants to assist his Jamaican industries, how can I be against that?!?!

More and more it's looking like simple badmind with some of you fariners. If you can't see Bolt on unnu Corn Flakes box in di mawnin unnu vex! Well, stay deh vex!

It can't hurt. Did you watch the two separate interviews where the reporters asked him about his love for the Empire and his thoughts about the Ronaldo transfer? Did you hear how he answered the question? He said that the transfer will not affect US. My point is that Manchester United has millions of fans across the world (like myself) who follows their every move. I understand that the ad could be just a photo op, but his team can capitalise on it.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

hehehe....but seriously, my point is that it should be more than him just choosing Sun Island to make his t-shirts. What was the benefit to Bolt? Did his team do an analysis of Sun Island and the feasabilty of that alignment? Did he get a lump sum upfront payment or is he going to share in the profits of the sales? What is Sun Island doing to promote sales and who are their target market? Are they going to wait until he wins another medal at this year's WC and then they make more shirts when the demand peak? Where in the US can I get one of those shirts? Are they of the highest quality? Bob Marley pickney dem don't haffi work anedda day in their lives because they can eat a food off of his image alone. A dat me a talk bout. There is nothing wrong with him a Jamaican company as long as they have global ambitions. Just my opinion.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I understand what you're saying, Jangle. But why do we always mek it look like Jamaicans nuh have nuh sense? Why do you think those questions were not asked and those issues not considered?!? If it makes you feel any better, whole heap a wi did study and work in the USA and we brought back some of those excellent "best practices" and marketing savvy! It never evaporate once wi touch dung!

So, from where I sit, I don't know if Bolt is doing the right thing, and I certainly don't know he is doing the wrong thing! We all hope it's the former, but in the meantime, stop mek it look suh!

I can't imagine that his team would be so clueless as to not consider some of the basic questions that Jangle asks in that post. Most (all?) of us on this forum are not marketing professionals and any one of us would know to consider those things just from basic common sense and news about endorsement deals.

Also, do we know for a fact that he has not/is not now re-negotiating his contract with Puma? Would that have to be public knowledge? Just asking.

I hear you and I am not saying that WE Jamaicans don't have the necessary skills, but if the master plan which I suggested is not drafted and followed through, then it would be a colossal travesty. And don't lump all of us "fareeners" into the same boat. I have not been living here long enough to forget my Jamaicaness. However, coming here to a bigger, more developed country has opened my eyes to possiblities and the impact that Jamaicans have on the world. Many who live in Jamaica for all their lives, are not fully aware of that impact. For many it is just something that they see on their tv's or the internet. They have no idea of how our culture impacts the world so they are limited by the jamaican shores and by their Jamaican experiences. If Bolt were to realize his full earning potential, then it would make his management team/company a major player also.

It takes more than mere consideration. Access and experience are critical. Not the time and place to be running experiments...trying a ting. Go with the proven, as long as they share similar values and they pass the smell test.

Also, its not about Jakans being dumb as Mo implied. Hell, we have the best coaches!!! We excel at lots of things, but not everything, at least not NOW.

As to the Puma thing, the M3 told me all i needed to know. We make educated judgements here everyday, so how come all of a sudden unno ah pretend like seh we need to see hard evidence in writing to draw conclusions. Enough facts are out there for people to draw reliable conclusions if they so desire.

I dont work in Marketing exactly, but mi guh good business school and learnt the principles of that discipline. I also a controller for Marketing functions and have seen it all, the creative and the BS.

Finally, Bolt could easily have a global deal with Puma for co-branded apparel and reserve Jamaica or the Caribbean only for Sun Island. No problems there.

Who in Bolt's camp right now fits that bill?

The bottomline is that right now, he is not earning as much as he should/could.
                        What is he earning? ...and do not tell us, "not enough"?
                        Just asking as I would love to know!

hehehe....but seriously, my point is that it should be more than him just choosing Sun Island to make his t-shirts. What was the benefit to Bolt? Did his team do an analysis of Sun Island and the feasabilty of that alignment? Did he get a lump sum upfront payment or is he going to share in the profits of the sales? What is Sun Island doing to promote sales and who are their target market? Are they going to wait until he wins another medal at this year's WC and then they make more shirts when the demand peak? Where in the US can I get one of those shirts? Are they of the highest quality? Bob Marley pickney dem don't haffi work anedda day in their lives because they can eat a food off of his image alone. A dat me a talk bout. There is nothing wrong with him a Jamaican company as long as they have global ambitions. Just my opinion.
                          I know? You do not believe Mosiah about being contacted to market Bolt by Chinese interests...but it is fact!

...will not say more!

You tell me...you seem to be good at putting words into my mouth.

$750K appearance fee for three races is chicken feed? Which other athlete in the history of T&F has ever made that amount over that time frame? $250,000 per race!

there was a time not too long ago, when $100,000 for appearance fees was thought to be a kingly (as against princely) sum.

Ignorance has nothing to do with this I am pretty certain I have as much access to top agents and managers as you do or more.

Garbage...rubbish..you disqualify yourself from all conversations..dont you think these top companies go head hunting cause they can make money for them..why havent we seen them running to Kingston to sign up Bolt.

The fact is Bolt is not that big a marketable product as we would like to think...sue me