Is Bolt being properly handled?

Yeah, Tiger soon tun Billionaire.

I would sekkle for Bolt making say $200m in his career n the next 6 years or so.

Again though, Bolt would transcend his sport like Tiger did, so dont get too stuck on the sport itself. It is really just a launch pad and a vehicle to keep him celebrity relevant.

Just trying to rile you up, Willi. However, I'm not sure we are privy to all that's taking place with Bolt.

I love it how you marketing geniuses can sit back and decide he is under represented after the man made US$750,000 from appearance fees alone in less than a month.

Who knows what the incentives of his Puma contract are plus what he makes from his other contracts like Digicel etc.

I have to laugh when i see ignorant post like this.

Unfair comparison, Tiger Woods has been a world star much longer than Bolt and given the nature of golf against T&F will be longer too, not to mention that Tiger is an American and his season is almost a year long while Bolt really runs important races for maybe five or six months.

Also those who follow or play golf will have more spending power than those who are in T&F

ignorant? Then enlighten we then nuh. The bottomline is that whatever he is making now with his current contract, he can make 3 times more. If he completes the double again at the World Championship, then him definitely will need a bigger team. Next year would be a free year that would need to be maximised to the fullest. All of his future fortunes would need to be laid out next year.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Funny it was today on National Public Radio(NPR) I heard a sports commentator was talking about top sports personalities and he mentioned Bolt in it with the other big wigs.

Funny people told me Bolt couldn't be a household name in the US.

Mi nuh have much more fi say on this topic cause mi done talk.

now you have authority to keep him in line a quad .

Yuh mean now him get a free pass to Quad, and anywhere the Lightning might show up

Gwan Mosiah - yuh large!!

Second, this I just found out the other day, Bolt's girlfriend is my cousin's daughter!
                    Which one?

Di legit one. Nah call nuh name!

Or yuh nuh suh sure a which one

Years ago, one of my managers had a plack, which read:

"To my wife and my sweetheart, may they never know when they meet each other"

In Complete Agreement

I had this discussion with a friend of mine over the weekend. We both came to the conclusion that enough is not being done by Bolt's handlers to maximise Bolt's achievements and world popularity. The marketing possibilities are endless. He has so many plusses - his name, his affable personality, his youthfullnes etc. I was very disappointed when I heard his manager stating that it's not far-fetched for Bolt to be earning US$10m per annum. Why such a low target? His potential puts him to at least 3 to 5 times that amount.
                          Jangle, I read your excellent post but did not reply because there were several responses which basically either summed up or else elaborated on how I felt. The replies by Baddaz, Hortical and Islandman all hit the nail squarely on the head, in my opinion. Then, Willi elaborated in some detail with his angry response and sensible suggestions. Certainly, Bolt “deserves to be in the same league with tiger Woods, etc.” as Willi correctly pointed out.

Every time I see that telephone company ad (was it a “Sprint” company ad?) with that African-American sprinter slowing down to make/take a call on his cell phone and then saying something like, “Excuse me, I have a race to finish” (or something of the sort), I have to shake my head. Then there’s that new ad with the tennis player who has the “fastest swing” (or words to that effect).

Granted, Usain is not an American citizen, but his achievements and fame are such that this shouldn’t have mattered. The problem, as Willi summed it up in discussing the missed/passing opportunities, is that Bolt “is too inexperienced to know any of this.”

Bolt is clearly not only the greatest sprinter alive, but is a bona fide modern legend. But, in typical laidback Jamaican style, we are missing out on the opportunity to market this living, young, gift-to-the-world-of-sprinting personality in such a way that it’s almost scandalous!

But should we be surprised? This is in keeping with other hard-to-explain Jamaican failures, for example, the failure to effectively market Jamaica as a sports-tourism destination of choice following our overwhelming performance in the sprints in Beijing. For several weeks after Beijing, it was all hype mixed with genuine pride in Jamaica, and then life quickly went back to normal. In 2009, except for the occasional awards to and articles on Bolt, and little surprises like the visit to our Boys & Girls Championships by professional journalists from abroad, it’s as if Beijing never happened!

Sad, and so hard to understand….

Nah Mo, Bolt DESERVES to be in the same league with Tiger Woods etc.

I have much sympathy for Peart as he is a foundation man in this, but Bolt can still employ him as personal advisor and make the real pros structure and execute a plan to take him into the realm of true sporting elites.

I know Peart is yuh bredrin and you dont want to see him squeezed out, fair enuff. However, he has taken it as far as he can go with his limited expertise and should not try to hold back Bolt. There is still a place for Peart, just as there is a place for Bolt's parents and loved ones in his inner circl.
                            Peart?

Question Are calling the man is a fool?
                            I am seeing you saying, either his ego has gotten the better of him and he has failed to manage in a manner that would have a 'better set of workers' as his employees or within his management team...

...or...

...he has gotten this far at managing Bolt by "buck up"?

Which is it? ...or is it a bit of both? ...or do you have something else in mind?

I think unnu all need to step off. I can imagine how many of these big farin companies would be siphoning off di man's money, before you know it, wi haffi FINSAC Bolt.

Thanks, but no thanks!
                              Mosiah: Hold it!

...btw - Let me say this first: I am not for one moment into the nonsense that a Jamaican cannot manage Bolt to the multi-millions of dollars he should be making. So I am not against Peart being Bolt's manager. I am for Peart maximizing Bolt's earnings or to step aside if he is failing to do same.

...but on to your position: What about having the type of managing team in place that makes multi-millions of dollars from managing Bolt...and Bolt makes many more multi-millions of dollars than he is now making?

Just the x% of 100 bucks is not th same as x% of 1000 bucks! ...and in that light it is not what his managers make...but what Bolt realises!

KICKZ BOYS FACE THE CHALLENGE OF A LIFETIME

Later this year, two young members of the Foundation’s Kickz project - Dan Robinson (pictured) and Nazir Mear - will join Reds legends Denis Irwin and Andy Ritchie and 25 United fans for a once-in-a-lifetime trek across the Sahara Desert.

The Kickz boys have a fundraising target of £7,000. Helping them on their way is Foundation trustee and Urban Splash chairman Tom Bloxham who donated £3,200.

'I know that both Dan and Nazir have had a massive impact on the Kickz project over the last year," said Tom. "Their enthusiasm towards this challenge is reflective of their commitment to the project and the local community."
                                Both Dan and Nazir have volunteered for the Kickz project for around 12 months. Their role consists of coaching and maintaining the organisation of the project in the Old Trafford area, three nights a week. Kickz uses football as a means of improving the community for young people and Dan and Nazir hope their fundraising efforts will help to advance similar Foundation-run projects even further.
                                If you would like to help Dan and Nazir reach their final target by supporting them in their fundraising efforts, donations can be made via justgiving.co.uk/saharadesert.
                                Find out more about Kickz / Read the full story

Am I being premature in my criticism? I want to be proven wrong.
                                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015