Veronica Campbell. Is she our greatest sprinter?

• Veronica Campbell. Is she our greatest sprinter?

The great Veronica Campbell-Brown
    Tue Jun 16, 2009 08:27

In athletics circle, the name Veronica Campbell-Brown is synonymous with history. To be clear, not being a part of history but creating it! Born and raised in rural Jamaica in the parish of Trelawny, there was no family genes (but for a brief foray by her father Cecil Campbell who inherited the nickname “Honda” for his exploits), no cutting-edge equipment and or facilities serving as portent of the success to follow.

By sheer determination, natural talent and hard work, VCB parlayed her primary school promise into a scholarship to one of Jamaica’s venerable high school track programs, Vere Technical. Incidentally, Vere Technical is the only high school in the world to boast four alumni to run under 11.00 in the 100 meters. The four piloting Vere Technical to that position are Merlene Ottey (VCB’s self-proclaimed role model), Beverley McDonald, Simone Facey and of course VCB herself.

Whilst in high school, VCB in 1999 became the first female to win the World Youth Games 100 meter title and in the very next year won her first of five Olympic Games medals courtesy of a relay silver medal at the Sydney Games. Interestingly, VCB became the youngest ever Jamaican female to win an Olympic medal! More history was created that same year when in Santiago, Chile, VCB became the first female to win the 100m and 200m at the same World Junior Championships!

At the 2004 Athens Olympic Games VCB kept the history buffs busy as her medal haul of 100 meter (bronze), 200 meter (gold) and relay (gold) propelled her to the title of most successful Caribbean athlete ever at a single Olympic Games! Additionally, by virtue of winning the 200 meter, VCB became the first female from the Caribbean to win an Olympic sprint title!

Want more firsts? At the 2007 World Championships, VCB captured the 100m title and in the process became the first athlete (male or female) to win the full offering of International Association of Athlete Federation (IAAF) sprint titles available. She had won World Youth 100m (1999), IAAF World Junior (2000).

Want more history? At the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games, VCB became only the second woman in Olympic Games history to successfully defend her 200m title. Barbel Wockel of Germany in 1976 and 1980 had previously turned the trick.

Displaying the ability to juggle academics and athletics with equal ease, VCB secured her Bachelor of Science degree in 2006 from the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. An avid bowler, the daughter of Cecil Campbell and Pamella Bailey and now wife of 2006 Commonwealth Games 200 meter Champion Omar Brown, VCB has come a long way from Trelawny and intends to continue creating history!
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

CAREER HIGHLIGHTS

Olympic Champion 200m
    Jamaica national champion 200m
    Best times: 10.87, 21.74

World Champion 100m, Silver 200m & 4×100m relay silver
    Jamaica National Champion 100m, 200m
    Ranked 1st in the world 100m and 2nd at 200m
    Best times: 10.89, 22.34

Commonwealth Games silver 200m
    Did not compete much due to injury
    Best times:10.99, 22.35

World Champion Silver 100m, Silver 4×100m relay
    1st Athletics Final 100m, 2nd 200m
    Ranked 1st in the world 100m
    Jamaica National Champion 100m, 200m
    Best times: 10.85, 22.35

Olympic champion 200m, Bronze 100m, Gold 4×100m
    Jamaica National Champion 100m & 200m
    NCAA Indoor Champion 200m
    1st Athletic Finals 100m & 200m
    Ranked 1st in the world 200m
    Best times: 10.91, 22.05

Did not compete due to injury

2nd Commonwealth Games 100m
    Best times: 11.00, 22.39

Did not complete much due to injury
    Best times: 11.13, 22.92

Olympic Silver 4×100m relay
    World Junior Champion 100m & 200m
    Best times: 11.12, 22.87

World Youth Champion 100m
    Best times: 11.49, 23.73
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you - Veronica Campbell-Brown

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44a70UJFUJ4

it hard to argue wid dem dere facts plus shi symbiotically linked to merlene suh shi cya'an set a foot wrong in my books!

VCB, our greatest female sprinter ever!

No. Merlene had to deal with cheating officials and cheating athletes. Merlene Ottey is our best female sprinter ever.

mi luv merlene to death.....but....VCB is my vote.

i wonder if they would both allow me to take them out to dinner...... hmmmm

This sound like it coulda end up inna David Carradine situation

Good Research, But....

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you - Veronica Campbell-Brown
                Good research by the writer, although a teeny weeny more work would have revealed also that Veronica Campbell won NOT one gold medal at the first World Youth Track and Field Championships in Poland in 1999, but rather, two!

Veronica won the gold in the 100-meter dash (11.48 personal record), but she also won a second gold, courtesy of Jamaica’s gold medal-winning 4x100-meter relay team (44.30 seconds). This team was comprised of Nadine Palmer, Melaine Walker, Veronica Campbell and the great Lisa Sharpe on anchor. (Lisa had also won the silver in the 100-meter dash at this World Youth Championships.)

Incidentally, the boys 4x100-meter relay team of Winston Smith, Michael Frater, Davon Spence and Omar Brown on anchor won the gold medal also at this 1999 World Youth Championship.

to come and go at the same time or to die in one's sleep.....now you tell me!!!

without question veronica campbell is our greatest female sprinter... that is not a disrespect to our accomplished merlene ottey, who put us on the map for female sprinting...

No. Merlene had to deal with cheating officials and cheating athletes. Merlene Ottey is our best female sprinter ever.
                      Agree 110% Bricktop. If it wasn't for that entire contigent of doped up fraud US track druggists Merlene would have had multiple gold medals across multiple Olympics. That period of track and field really was a flipping disgrace for the sport. It ****************es me off everytime I think about it. - T.K.

yes merlene had to deal with all that... still the accomplishments of vcb speaks for itself... on all the grand stages, vcb has risen to the occasion...

like i said, not taking anything away from merlene who until the emergence of vcb was the greatest, vcb has surpassed merlene and is way out front...

vcb is #1 and merlene is #1A... no shame to being 1A... the fact that vcb truly admires and respects merlene is a testament to her character...

mi love dem both...

I like that, #1 and #1A.

Merlene had to deal with the druggies and also T&F was a more difficult career in general during her prime, it was just becoming a legitimate professional sport.

The main reason I give VC the edge is that Merlene would tend to underperform by her standards at the big meets. And I don't mean her placings as much as I mean her times. I had that argument with a few people last year when we were discussing Asafa, it was the same kind of thing although Asafa has a much worse case of it.

Interesting Points

I like that, #1 and #1A.

Merlene had to deal with the druggies and also T&F was a more difficult career in general during her prime, it was just becoming a legitimate professional sport.

The main reason I give VC the edge is that Merlene would tend to underperform by her standards at the big meets. And I don't mean her placings as much as I mean her times. I had that argument with a few people last year when we were discussing Asafa, it was the same kind of thing although Asafa has a much worse case of it.
                              You are so correct about Merlene and her underperformance at some of those big meets. You are also correct about the European and American steroid-packed competitors she had to deal with, whereas Veronica (despite the presence of suspects like Yuliya Nesterenko in 2004) largely performed in an era where improved drug testing (despite BALCO Labs) was making some sort of dent! Just thinking back to some of those East German and Russian names just make you want to puke!

Side Note: I’ve never had a reason to doubt the USA’s Evelyn Ashford, though.

(By the way, Merlene was not the only one who suffered. Do you realize who would get the 1988 Olympic Games 200-meter gold medal if, somehow, the late Flo Jo were to belatedly lose her medal? Grace Jackson ran her heart out in that event, but with Flo in the race, all she could get was the silver. But this is getting away from the main topic here.)

Like you correctly stated in your comparison of Merlene with Asafa Powell, “it was the same kind of thing although Asafa has a much worse case of it.” So true!! As long as I live I’ll never forget Merlene’s 200-meter race at the 1996 Olympic Games. (In a post-race interview also, Jose Marie Perec confessed that she did not smile after the race because she realized that she had beaten Merlene into second place.)

Then there is the unfairness which Merlene faced, as can be clearly seen in the 100-meter dash at the 1996 Olympic Games, and before that in the same event at the 1993 IAAF World Championships in Stuttgart, Germany, when Gail Devers was awarded the gold medal. (I guess one can say, in a twisted way, that Merlene got her revenge in the 200-meter race at the 1995 IAAF World Championships in Gothenburg, Sweden, when Gail Dever’s teammate Gwen Torrence was disqualified for running out of her lane after clearly stamping her authority on that race.)

In Veronica’s favor, of course, are the IAAF World Youth Championships and the IAAF World Junior Championships, both of which did not exist when Merlene was a junior athlete. (Merlene did not even take part in the regional Carifta Games.) The presence of these additional events has served to ensure that Veronica goes down in history as the first athlete in history to win gold medals at EVERY IAAF championships that exist. Also, Veronica is a natural fighter, as we all have come to recognize and respect.

Finally, which of the two do I regard more highly? My definite answer is Veronica Campbell, my co-favorite female athlete on the planet (along with Ethiopia’s Tirunesh Dibaba).