Windies in a must win situation

• Windies in a must win situation

After being beaten today by SA we now must win the next match vs. England.

To keep things in "our" control we should hope for an England victory vs India, that would put India out having lost to us. We then would need to go out there and beat England. That would almost assure us a spot in the semis... if India defeats SA tho' net run rates come into the picture.

Anyone see it different?

That sounds about right to me.

SA looks to be the favourites to win it all right now.

hmm.. actually I think we might want India to beat England.

That way if we lose to England we can have a way out by South Africa beating India.

Right now we have a superior run rate over England and India.

In the case of a 3 way tie between us, england and India we would have to preserve this run rate advantage.

You might have a point there as an England loss would see the last three potentially winning one match only and if we maintained a superior run rate then we would have a chance...as it is with England beating India today, we now MUST beat England to go through. India is out as even a win v SA doesn't give them a chance. SA with two victories will definitely go through as only one other team (WI or Eng) will win two matches.

It is in now in our hands and not in the run rates or depending on another team to beat a someone else to help us. Which Windies team will turn up against England? We'll see.

West Indies captain Chris Gayle wants to end a bad tour of England on a high note by beating England to a place in the World Twenty20 semi-finals.
          After England defeated India to knock them out of the tournament, Monday's meeting with the West Indies in the Super Eights is now a straight shoot-out for a semi-final spot.
          The Windies were beaten in both the Test and one-day series this summer, but will hope to have the last laugh when they face Paul Collingwood's side at The Oval.
          "This is an important one. Obviously they have got the better of us over the last few weeks and it's a must-win for us," said Gayle.
          "We have everything to play for, we will go there and give it our best shot. We know we can beat them, we have done it before.
          Crucial game

"It's a crucial game and could put us through to the semi-finals so we are looking forward to it.
          "It would be nice to have the last say for the entire summer against England."
          West Indies also beat India in their Super Eights opener, before losing to South Africa just 18 hours later.
          This time it will be England making a quick turnaruond after Sunday's thrilling win, and Proteas skipper Graeme Smith warned England that the Caribbean side will prove tough opposition.
          "They back themselves, they play aggressively so you really need to be on top of your game," said Smith.
          "The Oval suits their style of batting as well, they are boundary hitters.
          "Lendl Simmons played beautifully, he's a difficult guy to bowl to and was scoring all around the ground."

If Gayle fires we have an excellent chance to win... otherwise, it's a 50/50 chance.

Ireland really has a decent team. They are pretty competitive in this form of the game. In fact I think the WI would have thier hands full with them in a 5 game T20 series.

Thats another positive in the rise of T20 cricket, there are more competitive teams to play a 3 or 4 nation tournaments with.

If Gayle fires we have an excellent chance to win... otherwise, it's a 50/50 chance.
                We've got other match winners.I'ts time for Sarwan and Chanderpaul to step up.

the term "fighting irish" did not originate in southbend, indiana and there is a reason for that.

About time....the have looked mediocre so far and they are both capable.

Maybe dem recovering from post-Stanford stress disorder...

Well seemed they heard me!!!!!

of course!! den dem nuh read di forum tuh?!! chat 'bout!

Maybe it's their Trini coach? eh Naminirt?