Tilla - My Late Reply ('96 Olympics)

• Tilla - My Late Reply ('96 Olympics)

Tilla: I apologize for my delay in replying re: the exact words said by the NBC live commentators as Jamaica’s delegation marched in during the Opening Ceremony of the 1996 Olympic Games, held in Atlanta, Georgia.

I located and replayed my videotape of that opening ceremony a few minutes ago. Below is my exact transcription of everything that was said during the entry of Jamaica’s delegation (there were two commentators speaking during the rather brief introduction, but I have not made an attempt to differentiate the speakers in this transcription):

“Jamaica, the Caribbean sprint factory!

“Merlene Ottey, Juliet Cuthbert among the top rivals for Gwen Torrence.

“I believe that Cuthbert is the flag bearer. She lives in Atlanta, trains at Georgia Tech. Often overshadowed by Ottey, this is the big moment for her. Finished second in ’92 in the hundred and two hundred meters.”

(End of commentary on Jamaica as the Japanese delegation marched in.)

OK sar. I stand corrected.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Being the land of wood and water being a "spring factory" is not too far off tho'

that is even more nebulous...it could mean the sprint factory of the caribbean OR it could mean the sprint factory from the caribbean....

Yep.

By the way, I was able to write every word that was said, barring nothing. However, to this day I’m not sure if the commentator said “the Caribbean sprint factory” or “the Caribbean’s sprint factory.” Not that it really matters, anyway.

On a more important note, what I find a bit surprising is that none of the individuals who are registered with this forum and visit here regularly seem to have a videotape or DVD recording of the 1996 Olympic Games. Am I such an unusual person to have all those Olympic Games and IAAF World Championships events on tape?

Maybe not to have taped them originally, but to keep them after all this time, probably yes you are unusual in that regard.

In this broadband era I have found myself getting rid of a lot of old sporting videos because they take up too much space and for the most part if its important enough it will be on youtube.

In fact youtube has been great for allowing one to view great sporting events of the past that I knew of but had never seen. Shane Warnes "ball of the century" was one. Marilyn Neufville breaking the 400M WR is another.

I'm right there with you bredrin. I also have about 12 tapes of the Atlanta Olympics, about another 12 of the 1998 World Cup, 2000 Euro Championships, and many more tapes of the 2002 and 2006 World Cups and all the Euro Champs in between. In addition I also have recordings of other games here and there. I just bought a device to transfer them to DVD but the time a beat mi. Anyway, I betta hurry up and transfer them because mi wife cyaan wait fi dump them and create some space.

So True....

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                I'm right there with you bredrin. I also have about 12 tapes of the Atlanta Olympics, about another 12 of the 1998 World Cup, 2000 Euro Championships, and many more tapes of the 2002 and 2006 World Cups and all the Euro Champs in between. In addition I also have recordings of other games here and there. I just bought a device to transfer them to DVD but the time a beat mi. Anyway, I betta hurry up and transfer them because mi wife cyaan wait fi dump them and create some space.
                Sensible practice, Sensi, as by having your own recordings, you have full control over what you want to watch for nostalgic purposes or as historical reference. Also, it certainly makes sense we transfer all those valuable videotapes to DVD, as videotape quality suffers in the long run (I realized this fact with a shock recently when I saw the loss in quality of my videotape of Gail Devers’ unfortunate 100-meter hurdles performance at the Barcelona Olympic Games in 1992).

But I agree with your practice of recording important events and keeping them, and I firmly believe that it is a very good habit to develop. (I hope you know you cannot blame your wife for any action she takes, boss . Women are not always as tolerant towards us men's sport recording-keeping activities )

Originally posted by Islandman
                Maybe not to have taped them originally, but to keep them after all this time, probably yes you are unusual in that regard.

In this broadband era I have found myself getting rid of a lot of old sporting videos because they take up too much space and for the most part if its important enough it will be on youtube.

In fact youtube has been great for allowing one to view great sporting events of the past that I knew of but had never seen. Shane Warnes "ball of the century" was one. Marilyn Neufville breaking the 400M WR is another.

Islandman: I understand what you are saying, but the problem with depending on media like YouTube is the lack of control we have over their contents and their managerial decisions. We have no idea if, somehow, a particular event will be removed by Google for, to cite a random example, copyright purposes. As such, while like many people I view YouTube quite often, I make my own recordings of events as much as I can. And I have no intention of ever getting rid of these recordings!

For example, I have complete track and field recordings (and also some other sporting events such as gymnastics and volleyball) of every Olympic Games since 1996, and also some events from 1992. I also have B/W videotaped copies of our 400-meter men and mile relay team from the 1948 and 1952 Olympic Games.

In addition, I have every IAAF World Championships (outdoors) from 1997 to 2007. It’s a lot of stuff, but I try my best to keep them neatly filed.

I hear you. Here is the problem I found with keeping so many recordings though, which may be different for you . I really never got around to watching them after the first year or two after they were recorded. If I did it was to see some specific race or highlights of a game, which I can now typically find online. So for me a lot of them were not worth keeping.

Regarding youtube, etc my hope/expectation is that with time a way will be found to properly organize and make digital content available online.

historian, for myself..as long as mi have a bredrin like you, mi cool! i can relinquish a likkle control

Value of Historical Reference Tapes

historian, for myself..as long as mi have a bredrin like you, mi cool! i can relinquish a likkle control
                      LOL. Thanks for the compliment, Gamma .

See that reply I made to Jangle’s very good post on Veronica Campbell in the next thread? Well, those facts didn’t just emerge from my head. Those facts are courtesy of a videotape I made in 1999 of the IAAF World Youth Championships, held in Bydgoszcz, Poland. This demonstrates the historical/research benefit of keeping forever the recordings we make.

As I posted in Jangle’s thread, Veronica Campbell did not win just one gold medal at that first IAAF World Youth Track and Field Championships like the writer stated, but rather, two gold medals!

Veronica had won the gold in the 100-meter dash (11.48 personal record). In addition, she later won a second gold as a member of Jamaica’s gold medal-winning 4x100-meter relay team (44.30 seconds). This team was comprised of youngsters Nadine Palmer, Melaine Walker, Veronica Campbell and the great Lisa Sharpe on anchor. (Lisa had also won the silver in the 100-meter dash at this World Youth Championships.) You need to see this race, as Jamaica, despite lousy baton changes, won by one of the largest relay margins I have ever seen in my life!! (The USA was also in that finals.)

Incidentally, as I also pointed out in the other thread, the boys’ 4x100-meter relay team of the talented youngsters Winston Smith, Michael Frater, Davon Spence and Omar Brown (Veronica’s husband) on anchor won the gold medal also at this 1999 World youth championship.

cannot argue with you mi friend.....

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                          Yep.

By the way, I was able to write every word that was said, barring nothing. However, to this day I’m not sure if the commentator said “the Caribbean sprint factory” or “the Caribbean’s sprint factory.” Not that it really matters, anyway.

On a more important note, what I find a bit surprising is that none of the individuals who are registered with this forum and visit here regularly seem to have a videotape or DVD recording of the 1996 Olympic Games. Am I such an unusual person to have all those Olympic Games and IAAF World Championships events on tape?
                          Mdmex help im nuh?
                          "Seem to have" may be correct.

Tons of tapes on T&F, Boxing up until the retirement of Sugar Ray Leonard...and football cyaan dun are in my 'library'. I am sure the T&F section of the '96 Olympics is there...as I cannot remember missing on taping the T&F section of the Olympics since the Quarrie days (?).

Many are on the old VHS tapes.

LOL

Mdmex help im nuh?
                            "Seem to have" may be correct.

Tons of tapes on T&F, Boxing up until the retirement of Sugar Ray Leonard...and football cyaan dun are in my 'library'. I am sure the T&F section of the '96 Olympics is there...as I cannot remember missing on taping the T&F section of the Olympics since the Quarrie days (?).

Many are on the old VHS tapes.
                            Karl, much respect! I have, for many years now, gotten the feeling that you’re the boss! I’m sure that you (and almost certainly TDowl as well) would make my sizeable collection look humble in comparison !

The only edge I might have over you are maybe bits and pieces of a few recent Carifta Games competitions. But reading your comments since 2002 when I first started posting on the track and field forum next door, I never doubted that you have an extensive videotape collection .

Islandman, sm people are just collectors...I file my memories and experiences in my head. Next ting man want to mek sex tape?