Putting Jamaican sports in context

• Putting Jamaican sports in context

If we compare our achievement to say African countries not many can compare to us as we have sprinters in the top 6 in every ahtletics meet for decades and remember Linford Christie was also born in Ja and Donovan Bailey too. We can go back to Ottey, Pusey, Montique, Quarry, Stewart and even older. We have been breaking records since Manley's day.

There is not many African, European county with such distinction. Most countries specialise in about 2 or 3 sports. Look at Brazil they are great at soccer but on the world stage there is few other sports they are consistently great at.

We have the distinction of making the world cup. There are many nations who have not made it. We have produced many boxing world champions and many countries have that effect. We have competed in many different sports on the international schene to many people amazement.

I remember on this forum how use to say Fuller is not world class and can't be compared with players from the top teams in the EPL. Now given the chance we see what happen. I remember when Bolt was seen as a disappointment. People laugh at our surfers when they started to surf, now they can compete and win medals in that sport. Right now we have as many soccer players playing in top leagues in the world and holding their own.

We have underachieve and we have the accomplishment but it is still amaziing what we have accomplished. Let us work on what we have and believe we can do it.

Weh Shatta deh?

No Doubt About That!

If we compare our achievement to say African countries not many can compare to us as we have sprinters in the top 6 in every ahtletics meet for decades and remember Linford Christie was also born in Ja and Donovan Bailey too. We can go back to Ottey, Pusey, Montique, Quarry, Stewart and even older. We have been breaking records since Manley's day.
    As the NBC commentator said while the Jamaican delegation marched into the stadium during the opening ceremony of the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta, “Jamaica, the sprint factory of the Caribbean!” (I believe the commentator who said this was Bob Costas, although I’m not sure right now, as Juliet Cuthbert marched with Jamaica’s flag, leading our delegation into the stadium to thunderous applause.)

Surely no one can seriously doubt Jamaica’s immense greatness and achievements in track and field, and probably a more apt statement today might be “Jamaica, the sprint factory of the world!” When one considers, for example, the fact that the first men to cross the finish line in three consecutive Olympic Games 100-meter races (Canada’s Ben Johnson in 1988, Britain’s Linford Christie in 1992, and Canada’s Donovan Bailey in 1996) were each born in Jamaica, then our track and field legacy cannot be questioned!

One day I’ll post a list here of all the Jamaican-born athletes who have competed for other countries, including the USA, Canada, Great Britain, the Bahamas, the Cayman Islands, and even Japan!

Incidentally, I’m sure we’re all aware that Usain Bolt is not the first athlete to hold both 100-meter and 200-meter world records at the same time. Back in 1976, our own Donald Quarrie was the holder of both world records as well. In fact, we have been breaking world records since the late 1940s, and today our athletes have broken or equaled well over one dozen world records, in my estimation!

Doubt that "fact" re DQ and world records. DQ never broke Piettro Mennea's 200m record and his fastest 100m was hand-timed and not officially recognised. That is what I recall, but I could be wrong. Unlikely, but...stranger things have happened!

However, I do believe other athletes have held both records at the same time.

You are correct. DQ had a hand timed 19.8 and 9.9 but never the official 100m or 200m outdoor.

Both Correct!

You are correct. DQ had a hand timed 19.8 and 9.9 but never the official 100m or 200m outdoor.
          Islandman and Mosiah, you both are correct! In fact, I have no idea at this point why or how I to the mistaken conclusion that Don Quarrie held both world records at the same time back in the mid-1970s!

Thanks for the accurate input, gentlemen!

DQ had an altitude 19.86s that was the WR for a while.
            I even saw it the the guiness book of WRs.

As the NBC commentator said while the Jamaican delegation marched into the stadium during the opening ceremony of the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta, “Jamaica, the sprint factory of the Caribbean!”
              I thought he said, "Jamaica, the world's spring factory". If I remember correctly, it the statemeent was not confined to the Caribbean.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Later....

I thought he said, "Jamaica, the world's spring factory". If I remember correctly, it the statemeent was not confined to the Caribbean.
                Tilla, you've sent me deep into my videotape archives, boss . It's good to see you making one of your rare posts in this section of the forum though.

I'll doublecheck my videotape of the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games sometime later this afternoon or tonight and post a reply.

Willi I dont see how Quarries 19.86 could have been the official WR when Tommy Smith ran 19.83 in 1968 (also at altitude). Must have been an honorable mention or something like that.

Historian, there is a list on Talawah that you can use for refrence.

...and fret not yourself about DQ being the World Record holder of the 200M at one time! He was!
                      Last edited by Karl; June 10, 2009, 12:32 AM.