Jamaica’s medal chances at Youth meets killed by new IAAF ru

Meets held every 2 years. You now get one shot in a tiny window and if you injured...no more chances.

Jazzy Murphy is now 15 and only 16 &17 Year old can now run the WYGames.

Next one will be when he is 17, by which time, he may be injured or running big man time (at least world JUNIOR standard), but he wont be allow WJ entry, as he must be 18 or 19. The yute have the fastest time and is a shoe in to win NOW!

America have nuff middling talent and will benefit.
    Take it easy!
    We'll be A-OK in a few!
    ...just takes planning and hard work! ...to increase our pool of good runners throughout all age groups!

From Willi's T&F site

Enigma
      Hear ye! Hear ye! All Jamaican track & field fans...
      Wed Jun 3, 2009 22:01

THE BUZZARD:
      If you put a buzzard in a pen that is 6 feet by 8 feet and
      is entirely open at the top, the bird, in spite of its
      ability to fly, will be an absolute prisoner. The reason is
      that a buzzard always begins a flight from the ground with a
      run of 10 to 12 feet. Without space to run, as is its habit,
      it will not even attempt to fly, but will remain a prisoner
      for life in a small jail with no top. Reminds me of some ah unno...tee hee.

THE BAT:

The ordinary bat that flies around at night, a remarkable
      nimble creature in the air, cannot take off from a level
      place. If it is placed on the floor or flat ground, all it
      can do is shuffle about helplessly and, no doubt, painfully,
      until it reaches some slight elevation from which it can
      throw itself into the air. Then, at once, it takes off like
      a flash... mi ah throw corn but na call no fowl

THE BUMBLEBEE:

A bumblebee, if dropped into an open tumbler, will be there
      until it dies, unless it is taken out. It never sees the
      means of escape at the top, but persists in trying to find
      some way out through the sides near the bottom.. It will
      seek a way where none exists, until it completely destroys
      itself.

Forumites:

In many ways, we are like the buzzard, the bat, and the
      bumblebee. We struggle about with all our problems and
      frustrations, never realizing that all we have to do is look
      up! That's the answer, the escape route and the solution
      to any problem! Just look up.

Sorrow looks back, Worry looks around, But faith looks up!

Let's exercise some faith in our coaches and athletes to take us to the top again in Berlin.
      Support and encourage, don't wait until the medals start flowing then try to jump on the wagon. Get on board now and stick with the fraternity, through thick and thin. Be loyal to the end. This belongs to you! Own it!!
      ALL ABOARD??????!!!!!

It dont work suh!

This setup will NET lose us medals over time.

No amount of planning can account for a 15 year old being faster than most 18 year olds.

You realize that if this rule was in place that Bolt could not have been eligible for WJG 2002 in Kingston? Also, he got injured at 17 in 2004, so he would have been out for the 2004 WJG that Merrit won and he would have been Shyte out of Luck?? You start to get the effect now?

What a totally different path his career could have taken. He attributes his confidence to the achievements of 2002, where he matured a lot and learnt how to handle pressure.

At this rate, its touch and go if Jazzy ever gets a chance! Hell, he is ineligible for World YOUTH, much less World Junior at 15. Bolt won W. JUNIOR at 15!!!!

America have TONS of decent sprinters at every age group, as their popn. base is huge. If one gets injured, another that is 99% as good steps up. In a small base like ours, the replacement is at best 75% as good as the star. Difference is that our star often is the best of the best, even if a bit younger than the rest.

Why does it feel like I am talking to a wall? This should be obvious to one and all.

Sure we will "cope", BUT WE WILL BE NET LOSERS.

Thank you Willie. You were more eloquent than I in getting across my point. I don't see the benefit of this new rule, and it's being implimented without a proper explaination. I think that Jamaica now has the clout to effect some change if we boycott the event. This rule significantly restricts the smaller countries from achieving their day in the sun. As Willie said, where would Bolt be if he did not medal in 2002?
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015