• IAAF Prez reminds Bolt of his responsibility

Diack reminds Bolt of his ‘responsibility’

20th May 2009, 7:15 WST

IAAF president Lamine Diack has reminded triple Olympic gold medallist Usain Bolt of his “responsibility” as a champion. Diack said on Tuesday he has spoken to the 22-year-old Jamaican about the extra pressures he would face following his stunning performances in Beijing last August.
    “You’re the key athlete in our sport and you have a responsibility,” Diack told a small group of reporters.
    “He’s not a movie star or singer - he’s a champion. (So) if you are fit, you make the performance or you are finished.”
    Bolt won three gold medals in Beijing last year, all in world record times, but has made headlines since then by being photographed in nightclubs, talking about marijuana use and crashing his car last month.
    “Now you have a major responsibility,” Diack said he told Bolt. “Now you are the major star.”
    Bolt set world records in the 100m and 200m in Beijing and was a member of the record-breaking relay team.
    He set a new record in the rarely run 150 metres on Sunday in a street race in Manchester, England. Diack praised his performance but said he doesn’t expect street races to become a trend.
    “Our sport is in the stadium. The future is not on the street,” Diack said. “This is only for promotion.”
    MONACO
    AP

If I were Bolt I would tell dem to go and jump in the sea. And I mean it.

Funny I was just thinking after seeing the Bolt race that the street race seemed to be a lot of fun, the fans got a lot closer than they normally would.

Seems like something they could do a bit more often.

Interesting!

Was a bit worried about his fitness and his motivation. Surprised me with his speed and strenght.

Aside: I wonder if Shelly Ann Fraser has lost 'the drive'? Kerron Stewart does not seem to have a problem!

why? him had to seh sup'm and to me is not in the least controversial or a put down in fact diack came to his defense when that idiot made his staement

All in good faith to me.

so what is the fuss about... bolt is the biggest star in track and field and with that comes responsibility...

he needs to be reminded of that fact... he is no longer the 'ordinary' usain bolt... he has to realize that and make some changes as it pertains to the places he visits, his associates, his conduct, etc... he is the face of t&f globally...

Karl i understand that Shelly-Ann had a small operation recently. She is in full training now though.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Kerron Stewart was primed to win that 100 meters.. she was stymied at the start by the shenanigans in the lane beside her.

tru Baddaz...I agree 100%...regardless of what Charles Barkley might have said and he might be right to some extent, Bolt doe shave some responsibilities to the sport and the less negative headlines he makes off the track the better for him and the sport

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                      she has to realize that and make some changes as it pertains to the places he visits, his associates, his conduct, etc... he is the face of t&f globally...
                      Why? What has he done that has been unbecoming of a champion?

i am not saying bolt has done anything 'unbecoming of a champion'... what i am saying and what i believe the iaaf head is saying is he has to be cognizant of his role and responsibilities as the face of track & field, continue to conduct himself as that position warrants and if he hasn't already done so, put in place all that is necessary to minimize the possibilities of anything happening that could erode all the goodwill that he has built up for himself and t&f... he is under a microscope and anything he does is a global event...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                          i am not saying bolt has done anything 'unbecoming of a champion'... what i am saying and what i believe the iaaf head is saying is he has to be cognizant of his role and responsibilities as the face of track & field, continue to conduct himself as that position warrants and if he hasn't already done so, put in place all that is necessary to minimize the possibilities of anything happening that could erode all the goodwill that he has built up for himself and t&f... he is under a microscope and anything he does is a global event...
                          You said he has to make "changes". Why?

What Diack actually said:

IAAF BACK NOVA INTERNATIONAL IN STREET RACING INITIATIVE
                            18 May 2009
                            Brendan Foster's foresight in bringing international athletics onto the streets of major cities had already received approval from the International Association of Athletics Federations even before Sunday's epic programme in Manchester.

World 100metres and 200m record holder Usain Bolt, in the evening, thrilled thousands of spectators who had braved torrential rain and gusting winds with an awesome display of sprinting when breaking the world 150m fastest time for the distance.

Earlier in the day over 30,000 runners had taken part in the Bupa Great Manchester Run over 10 kilometres where Haile Gebrselassie, the greatest ever distance runner of all-time and Vivian Cheruiyot the world 5000metres silver medallist, won the respective titles.

Bolt, the 22-year-old triple Olympic gold medallist followed in their footsteps when winning the inaugural Bupa Great CityGames sprint, he roared to an unbelievable time of 14.35seconds which bettered the previous quickest by 0.40secs.

Foster now hopes the Jamaican's stunning display and equally outstanding ones from the other top athletes at the meeting, will allow his company Nova International to take the concept not only around the United Kingdom but worldwide.

Earlier, the proposed programme had already received the approval of a delegation from the IAAF headed by president Lamine Diack who were on a whistle stop visit to the country over the weekend.

The IAAF, itself determined to make the sport even more attractive to spectators and attracting youngsters into athletics as part of the development of its World Athletics Plan, instantly recognised the massive value of Foster's innovative concept.

Diack said: "I was very happy to accept an invitation to come up to Manchester from the Olympic stadium in London, because I believe that Brendan Foster, and his Nova team, has exactly the right idea when it comes to promoting our sport in a different way.

"Not only is the Great Manchester Run a great road race – with superb support from the general public and 30,000 participants of all ages and abilities – but now he is enhancing that by adding sprint events on a special track, laid especially.

"I totally support creative ideas like this one, which help to bring athletics to the city centre – out of the stadium to the streets – and especially when you invite top athletes like Usain Bolt and Christine Ohurougu which increases the promotional value.

"My personal view is that while “traditional” athletics of course, is still very popular at Olympics, World Championships and Golden League level, we need to be more open minded and creative about reaching the general public with our sport – more often – and in new ways.

"Why not have different athletic events tied to mass road races?
                            "We host a fastest race and shot put competition in the square on Goree Island – a Unesco historic site – the day before the Dakar grand prix and it is now probably the best event in terms of promotion value and athletics results.

"As IAAF – we need to have creativity in our sport if we want to remain relevant – especially to the young."

Foster, whose biggest achievement since retiring from a distinguished athletics career, is organising the world's biggest road running programme including the flagship Bupa Great North Run, believes it is very important to progress the programme in a partnership with the IAAF.

"They are engaged in moving the sport forward with some innovative ideas and I'm pleased they recognised that there is a great value in taking athletics to the streets and the walk up fans, particularly younger ones," he said.

"Thousands of people in Manchester will have heard of Bolt's exploits in Beijing last year and now, free of charge they've seen him in the flesh and there was a great atmosphere despite the bad weather.

"Now I think in partnership with the IAAF we can as President Diack said, help move their World Athletics Plan forward. My team are looking forward to working with them."

Foster admitted: "Beforehand some people described the sprint as a gimmick. We never did. It could have been a gamble but we had done our research and I believe have come up with a winning formula.

"Mind given the expansion we are planning, there is always room for improvement .

http://www.greatrun.org/News/NormalNews.aspx?nid=5995

Actually, they need to do more than that.

They need to move him to a big agency like Octagon or IMG and devise a full scale plan to build the Bolt brand in concert with the IAAF.

Time for the amateur hour to end, if they want to take it to the next level.