• I will step up to the 400m next year - Bolt

I will step up to the 400 next year - Bolt

Olympic champion Usain Bolt says he will give up running the 100m to concentrate on the longer sprints and cement his place among the legends of the track.
    But the 22-year-old Jamaican’s desire to be ranked alongside the likes of American super-athlete Michael Johnson means he would sacrifice the chance to defend his Olympic 100m crown at the London Games in 2012. And the absence of the fastest man in the world from the blue riband event of the Games would be a huge blow to the organisers.
    Bolt, in Manchester for today’s BUPA road races over a specially constructed track in the city, said: ‘My coach wants me to step up to the 400m next season and I think that’s what will happen. The 100m will suffer because it would be difficult to do all three, the 100, 200 and 400. But it doesn’t matter that I may lose the title of the fastest man in the world because I want the 400m world record.
    ‘It’s the right thing to do at this stage in my career because I want to become a legend, I want to become the first athlete to hold the world record at 100, 200 and 400. If I can do that, I will become the kind of legend that Michael Johnson is.’
    Bolt, who won gold medals in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay in Beijing last summer, says his ambitions are not confined to personal success. He also wants to improve the image of athletics by proving that drugs are not a prerequisite for success.
    ‘Drugs have done a lot of damage to the sport and it’s important that people like me do something about improving the image of world athletics,’ he said.
    ‘People like me and Tyson Gay are both of the same mind. We want to show the rest of the world and other runners that you can be successful and clean.
    ‘I know there are doubts in people’s minds about performances, whether they’ve been drug-enhanced, but we can change all that just by showing we can win medals, break records and be clean.’
    Bolt’s trip to Manchester included meeting his Old Trafford idols — Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney and Rio Ferdinand among them — before attending United’s Premier
    League match with Arsenal yesterday.
    Bolt even gave Ronaldo some advice on how to stay on his feet during games. ‘I think I was able to help him and hopefully make him an even better player than he is,’ said
    Bolt.
    ‘I told him his centre of gravity when he runs was not quite correct. He leans forward, starting with his feet behind him. I pointed out that if he could stand straighter he’d be able to move quicker.’
    It was a personal letter from Sir Alex Ferguson that persuaded Bolt to take part in today’s event. The United manager, knowing the Jamaican was an avid United fan, wrote to him and set up the players’ meeting on Friday.
    ‘I couldn’t believe it when I got a letter from Sir Alex Ferguson hoping I would come this weekend and inviting me to meet him and the players. I just told my coach that I wanted to be here,’ said Bolt.
    ‘I first started supporting Manchester United when I was 11 back home in Jamaica. My playing hero was Ruud van Nistelrooy.
    ‘It was a great thrill for me to meet them. When I go back home they’ll want to hear more about meeting people like Wayne Rooney and Ronaldo than they will about any
    running that I’m doing.’
    Bolt will return to Jamaica tomorrow but next Wednesday will be a party night for him and his family and friends. ‘I’ll be watching the European Cup final on TV with all my mates. And I’ve no doubt that United will win the match — and that will mean much more to me after meeting them all.’

Taken from Jamaicawin.com
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

‘People like me and Tyson Gay are both of the same mind. We want to show the rest of the world and other runners that you can be successful and clean.
    ‘I know there are doubts in people’s minds about performances, whether they’ve been drug-enhanced, but we can change all that just by showing we can win medals, break records and be clean.
    Den a wha Asafa deh pon?

He can not be mentioned in the same breath as those two track stars. Gay won the 100 & 200M at the last world championships.

a joke yuh a mek. tyson did have world record?

Well, yuh know he may think Tyson Gay is his biggest threat come Berlin. I know Asafa will be the sentimental favorite of fans for him to finally get a gold medal at a big meet.

Superb Bolt storms to 150m record

Bolt is the 100m and 200m world record holder

Triple Olympic gold-medallist Usain Bolt cruised to victory in the fastest ever time run over 150m to light up the Manchester street race on Sunday. Bolt roared home in 14.35 seconds, smashing the previous best recorded by Italian Pietro Mennea of 14.8 in 1983.
            Britain's Marlon Devonish finished a distant second in 15.07 secs.
            In the women's race American Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie clocked 16.54 secs to beat Olympic 400m gold medallist Christine Ohuruogu, who ran 17.10 secs.
            "It felt great. I am glad a little bit of sunshine came out, it made me feel 100% better," Ferguson-McKenzie told BBC Sport.
            "It was awesome and it was fun. The concept is awesome, the crowds were really excited and I loved it."

Bolt, 22, was competing for the first time since being involved in a car crash last month.
            But the Jamaican 100m and 200m world record holder showed no ill-effects, cruising to victory in rain-soaked Manchester.
            Hundreds of fans lined the route in the narrow street bisecting the city to see the one-off race, and despite the poor weather they saw a stunning performance from Bolt, who ran the last 100m in 8.72 secs.
            "It's one more record to add to the tally isn't it?" Bolt told BBC Sport.
            "It's my first major competition of the season so I was just happy to come out and run injury-free and run a good time.
            "I am not in the best of shape, I still have a lot of work to do. I have been on and off in my training but I am getting there. I just want to put some hard work in."

In the women's race American Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie clocked 16.54 secs to beat Olympic 400m gold medallist Christine Ohuruogu, who ran 17.10 secs.
              I thought Debbie Ferguson was Bahamian

Hundreds of fans lined the route in the narrow street bisecting the city to see the one-off race, and despite the poor weather they saw a stunning performance from Bolt, who ran the last 100m in 8.72 secs.
              8.72 secs?! How much was Asafa's split in the 4x100 again? Mind you, Bolt did have more of a running start, but still...!

Not Happy About Bolt's Decision

I thought Debbie Ferguson was Bahamian

8.72 secs?! How much was Asafa's split in the 4x100 again? Mind you, Bolt did have more of a running start, but still...!
                The 100-meter dash is the marquee event at any Olympic Games or IAAF World Championships, and the event used to determine the world’s fastest man. I’m not happy at Bolt’s decision to forego this for the 400. However, it is his (and his coach’s, I presume) decision, so we’ll just have to wait and see.

But the 400-meter race will never have the glamour that the fast-paced 100-meter dash has.

If anyone can influence what becomes the blue riband event at an Olympic Games...this is the man!

Remember when the Sebastian Coe-Steve Ovett clashes was the biggest thing at track meets, including the Olympics? Remember when the 100m was won by boring people like Crawford, Borzov, Wells?

Okay! Then fantasize for a minute (clean it up, people!) - LaShawn Merritt, Jeremy Wariner and USAIN BOLT.

Stuff of legends! I love it already!

Can't help thinking Asafa has something to do with this decision.

while wi going down memory lane..remember "dan and dave"?

I thought he would eventually want to move up to the 400 for the record, but I didn't think he would do it before the next Olympics. I guess he wants to give himself enough time to get the record.

Well 2010 is an off-year, there is no World Championship or OLY to focus on, just Grand Prix meets. So it should be a good time for him to give his legs a run at the 400m.

Bolt Inc.

If anyone can influence what becomes the blue riband event at an Olympic Games...this is the man!

Remember when the Sebastian Coe-Steve Ovett clashes was the biggest thing at track meets, including the Olympics? Remember when the 100m was won by boring people like Crawford, Borzov, Wells?

Okay! Then fantasize for a minute (clean it up, people!) - LaShawn Merritt, Jeremy Wariner and USAIN BOLT.

Stuff of legends! I love it already!

Can't help thinking Asafa has something to do with this decision.
                          Great choice by Bolt!

You are right! The events that Bolt competes in will BECOME the marquee events of the Olympics.
                          Bolt DEFINES track at the moment... he can set his own terms and shape the entire track environment... he does not have to follow convention. The 100m would be a secondary event if he runs the 200/400.

People need to overstand the absolute phenomenon that Bolt represents.

Running the 400m in the 2012 Olympics (after proving himself in the event 2010-2011) and winning a 200/400 double (or even 100/400 wow!) would cement him as clearly the GOAT.... ie Greatest Of All Time.... with a set of accomplishments that may never be equaled or even challenged.

History beckons... just do it.... err that's Nike speak.... what's Puma's?
                          Last edited by Don1; May 18, 2009, 07:13 AM.

while wi going down memory lane..remember "dan and dave"?
                            LOL....Oh how I remember the commercials. Is which one again did fail to qualify fi di olympic team?

I am here watching Morning Joe (MSNBC) and they were talking about Usain Bolt's record run....the reporter said how remarkable his effort was considering he was only two weeks away from surgery from a car accident. He then went on to say that if you can run that fast I don't know why you'd ever want to drive again. - T.K.

Dan failed and then Dave only won the bronze.