Chris Gayle is such a f@#$ing moron

• Chris Gayle is such a f@#$ing moron

Chris Gayle willing to quit West Indies captaincy and face future without Tests

The West Indies batsman admits he could step down as captain and believes Twenty20 cricket will kill the five-day game

Downcast West Indies captain Chris Gayle during a nets session at Chester-Le-Street. Photograph: Owen Humphreys/PA

From the moment Chris Gayle descends to the lobby of his London hotel, it appears he does not want to be there. He does not want to be in chilly England, and he does not want to be up early when his preferred habit is to sleep in until 2pm. Then the list continues, and he admits that he does not want to be West Indies captain any more and that he does not particularly care for Test cricket.
    "I wouldn't be so sad," says Gayle when asked how he would feel if Test cricket were to die out. He prefers Twenty20 over the traditional game. About the captaincy he is similarly blase. "To be honest with you, there's a possibility I might give it up – I will be giving it up, shortly."
    These statements do not come tumbling out; instead they are revealed over the course of an hour that begins with a moody face and the unusual sight of a huge man sipping hot chocolate. "Because it's sweet," he says, "and I'm sweet." He flashes a smile, his first of the morning. For the self-confessed "moody" captain, the hot sugary drink works wonders and Gayle's face emerges from the gloom.
    And what a gloomy week it has been. Since arriving only two days before the first Test to a storm of criticism – he was playing in the Indian Premier League, an event not well received – his West Indies side went on to lose the first Test at Lord's by 10 wickets inside three days. "Yeah it's definitely been a rough week," he says, "From when I landed in England it's been rough, and when we lost the game it's been even tougher. We were depressed."
    As captain, the 29-year old Jamaican was the inevitable focal point for the blame, a fact that he notes bitterly. There begins a recurring theme of discontent with the role. "It wouldn't have been a big deal," he says, if he hadn't been captain. "That's how life is. All eyes on you, and all things point to you. Once things don't go well, fingers going to point."
    In fact it could be argued that the finger pointing should be at the West Indies Cricket Board whose hastily arranged England tour clashed with pre-existing IPL arrangements. When the fall-out hit, Gayle was an easy scapegoat. "Yeah, they [the media] make it look like this [Test] was always here, like I want to choose IPL over this. That's why I said everybody knew this was always going to be the situation, so I don't see why people make it a big fuss and a big deal."
    Perhaps the real issue here is the changing face of the international cricket season. For Gayle the fixture congestion will become ever more acute as Twenty20 grows in stature and dominates the calendar. He does not hold much truck with traditionalists like Andrew Strauss who want to try to prevent the onslaught. "The next couple years, I'm sure things are going to be like that. This year it's really jam-packed … we've been on the road 24/7 and you don't get no time off, back and forth, back and forth."
    Brooding on the role of the captain Gayle's sullen expression returns, until, suddenly he has an idea. "You want to play?" he says. "I don't mind having a journalist for my captain. I know she wouldn't write anything bad because she captain." The thought of ridding himself of the ­burden gives him great delight.
    He is not the only one. Shivnarine Chanderpaul also hated the captaincy. "I'm pretty much similar to Shiv when it come to everything like talking to persons and stuff," says Gayle. "It is a lot of pressure. You're always in the media … At the time when I was asked [in 2007] I didn't want to be the captain."
    Gayle says he was persuaded into the job on a temporary basis, standing in for the injured Ramnaresh Sarwan. "That's when it all started. We won the series and then I said to them, whenever Sarwan is fully fit, I am ready to step down. Maybe they saw something different, something totally different," he muses, "and they asked me to be captain.
    "I thought hard about it. I didn't want to be captain, I wanted to have more free time. I didn't want that added pressure at that particular time, but they actually insist, insist, insist, so I said OK. So I thought, just get on with it."
    Gayle says he "trained his mind" into the job, overcoming challenges that were unnatural to his personality. His reflections are revealing. He may be one of the Caribbean's biggest celebrities, with his face plastered on billboards all over Jamaica, but he is modest in his depiction of a man who lacked personal development.
    "I'm happy because it's done a lot for me as a person. It made me more out­spoken, getting to interact with people, to be able to speak to a group – the majority of the time you have to give some sort of speech. You start off slowly, getting ­better and ­better, getting that confidence in yourself. It brought that out of me which I had inside but, you know, didn't want to express it – but as a captain you have to."
    Softly spoken off the field, he is often described as a "destroyer" on it. But Gayle is reflective in his admission that perhaps he is not cut out for solving West Indies' long-standing problems of leadership. As the older generation bemoan this flashy new wave of players, with their $20m matches and big IPL salaries, Gayle quietly muses that his predecessors do not understand the burden of losing.
    "In their time they dominated Test cricket," he says. "They don't know what it is like actually to lose and how to deal with it. They don't know how to deal with losing, and then try and get a ­couple of wins under our belt." It is a thought expressed with great sadness. And ­perhaps it is understandable, then, why Gayle feels such enthusiasm to embark on a new Twenty20 era, free from the heavy weight of West Indies' illustrious Test- winning past.
    Sky Sports is broadcasting England v West Indies exclusively live and in high definition, continuing tomorrow with the second Test

Grow the hell up and accept your responsibilities...if you are too f%$^ing rich and want to go party then do the honourable thing and resign, not from just the captaincy but from cricket, you idiot.

Yuh nuh! Look how Gayle jus reddi fi bite de han' dat feed him... from the first test I removed his picture as my avatar... after the England tour to West Indies I thought he was maturing and becoming a genuine leader as that is how he had been coming across... now this cry baby stuff... steeuups!

Disapointed that he would make those statements in the middle of a tour.

If he only wants to play big money Twenty20, nothing wrong with that. But finish the job that you took on first.

Unuh leff the man alone. Unuh a pay de man bills? The death of Test cricket is inevitable, and you are all hanging on to tradition and memories. A money a run the cut!!!

Ok. Here is the deal. Cricket and its administrators (especially the WICB) need to evolve. When the Indians can pay an individual three times the amount that he would make playing for his country, then you are going to have a serious problem.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

whatever Jangle. The man must be diplomatic.
            Without Test cricket Gayle would have been nothing.

Did you read my post? What paying the man bills have to do with being an IRRESPONSIBLE professional?

He made a commitment to captain the team, and to arrive in England on a particular date, a tour where we all know conditions requires a certain amount of time to adjust to. For his own personal reasons he chose to stay longer than agreed , and then when he underperforms in the Test match we are not to question his decision?

I bet if Brian Lara had done this you all would be beating him over the head for being selfish.

True!

The death of Test cricket is inevitable, and you are all hanging on to tradition and memories.
                  Gwaan feel suh

Me nuh understand what that have to do with it. If the WI tour was just going to be One day and Twenty20 games I would have the exact same views regarding the timing of his comments on the captaincy and his decision to arrive later than agreed.

it has been dead to you for years but it is west indies dismal performances why yuh feel suh..if they were winning is a different sankey yuh woulda sing...test cricket is still big.

now regarding gayle's comments...it is many things and none of them good...selfish, self serving, detrimental to the team, ungrateful......on and on.

Seems like a very honest man.

Didn't want the captaincy
                        He prefers the shorter form of the game
                        Thinks being a captain has forced him out of his shell
                        thinks he is going to quit at some point.

Gayle is not and will never be a "politically correct" individual.

Actually a kind and sympathetic report. ...but that mind-set and oooh so publicly expressed turmoil within does not inspire confidence that the team will have every man fighting in this coming test.

Maybe so but its not all about him. What is the point of going public with those comments in the middle of a tour? Seems to me he is trying to deflect some of the criticism he is getting for his decision to turn up to camp late.

Gayle: I'm definitely not giving up captaincy

http://caribbeancricket.com/news/2009/05/13/2881

Gayle: I'm definitely not giving up captaincy
                              Wed, May 13, '09

One day after being quoted as being tired of leading the West Indies team, Chris Gayle says he has no immediate plans to relinquish the captaincy.

“I am definitely not giving up the captaincy after this Test match. I think I still have a big part to play in West Indies cricket. I always get the support of the team and the management staff. There is no conflict or problems in the team,” Gayle said in a report released by the WICB.

“We want to focus on our cricket by getting the job done – winning this match and keeping the Wisden Trophy. Since I started as captain it has helped me with my game and it has helped me as an individual as well.”

He added: “I am committed to West Indies cricket. As a player I am totally focused on the upcoming match and what I need to do to be successful. As a team we are totally focused on what is required to defeat England. We had discussions after the 1st Test and we know we have to be mentally strong in this match. It is a must win game and we will be looking to keep the Trophy. We will be attacking from ball one.”

Gayle said he never suggested he would be walking out on the West Indies team and would not turn his back on West Indies cricket. He also explained that there is “no bad blood” between himself and England captain Andrew Strauss.

“Test cricket will always be there. Test cricket is the ultimate. It is a test of you as a player and it is a test of character. You have to be mentally strong to cope with Test cricket as it runs over five days. Once you prepare properly you will be a worthy Test cricketer. “We have to get on with it. There is a job to be done tomorrow when we come up against England,” Gayle said.

“I have no hard feelings against Strauss. I have a lot of respect for him. There is no stand-off between Strauss and myself.”