But a wah dis-This cant be right

• But a wah dis-This cant be right

West Indies coach John Dyson has questioned whether skipper Chris Gayle will be in shape to deliver the goods in the first Test at Lord's starting next Wednesday.
    Gayle's arrival from the Indian Premier League has been delayed until Monday, giving him just 48 hours to get acclimatised ahead of the clash with England.
    The opening batsman has been in good form this year but Dyson is concerned that he will not be able to do himself justice with such poor preparation - and the coach needs all the assistance he can get after watching his side go down by 10 wickets to the Lions on Saturday.
    "I've said all along, with the IPL in conjunction with this tour, even if he was arriving as we expected, that's not ideal," he said.
    "It's not enough time for an ideal preparation (for a Test match) but we will work with it. The medical boys all say that, after that length of flight, you need a minimum of a couple of days to get over the jet lag and re-acclimatise and then you need a couple of days of practice.
    "We were prepared to work around that and now that it's been extended out a bit further it puts more pressure on Chris and I suppose the people in the West Indies Cricket Board who made that decision."
    Gayle was due to arrive in England on Sunday but has stayed on to play an extra game for the struggling Kolkata Knight Riders.
    "Chris handles a lot of pressure and has played some magnificent cricket over the past 12 months in all forms of the game and he seems to take these sort of things in his stride," added Dyson.
    "But the medical advice is that, when you fly that sort of distance, you need time to recover from the flight and re-acclimatise to the time zones. I also think you need a good couple of hits at least in the conditions you're going to play in."
    Reflecting on his side's heavy defeat to the Lions at Derby, Dyson insisted on taking the positives out of the game.
    "It's not what we would have liked but there were some positive things that came out of it," he added. "I thought Lendl Simmons played well, Shiv (Chanderpaul) again played well and Jerome Taylor's spell yesterday with the new ball was very encouraging given he hadn't played for a while."
    a.top_betting_link_1 {background-image: url('/Images/skysports/fixturecal/icons/fix-bet.gif');background-repeat:no-repeat;background-position:0% 50%;padding-left:18px;}

What exactly isn't right? plenty things aren't right with the Windies... just remember that IPL is paying their players a bag of money and if you watch any of the matches as I have been, most of them appear sold out, if not nearly full.

The atmosphere is definitely way more carnival-like than a test match, with all kinds of promotions, giveaways, fireworks etc taking place. Gayle and company are having the time of their lives...going to England will be emotionally deflating...hope he can find some adrenalin for the series ahead.

What exactly isn't right? plenty things aren't right with the Windies... just remember that IPL is paying their players a bag of money and if you watch any of the matches as I have been, most of them appear sold out, if not nearly full.

The atmosphere is definitely way more carnival-like than a test match, with all kinds of promotions, giveaways, fireworks etc taking place. Gayle and company are having the time of their lives...going to England will be emotionally deflating...hope he can find some adrenalin for the series ahead.
      The Skipper arriving 48 hrs. before a test series,surely that should'nt be happening.What time as he got to prepare?

You're right... he should be with his team a lot sooner than that.

Staying back to help Kolkata at this point is letting down the Windies... Kolkata at the bottom of the IPL standings so I don't know what magic he can perform... there might be some compelling reason ($$?) that he's decided to stay on.

his arriving 48 hours before is concerning enough....what is disconcerting is that he got permission!!!!

The people who are running our cricket are jokers.

I was driving home from work and was listening to a Chris Gayle interview,and he was saying he didn't like the way how the coach had the issue with his late arrival in the media when everyone knew the situation beforehand,he sounded really ****************ed off about the situation.

ah bwoy....just what we need...a coach/captain rift....

Yeah! lets hope it can be sorted quickly

If Gayle read what Dyson said instead of the headlines he shouldn't be so ****************ed off. In reference to the anticipated then extended delay he says: " We were prepared to work around that and now that it's been extended out a bit further it puts more pressure on Chris..."

And the English also have the same concern about some of their players and that has also been reported in the press.