• willi

.... large up yuhself.

nice video... big up the other north street team... lol...

well done st. georges... willi should like that...

on a another note... what happen to the support of the teams... i remember when the staduim was full for a manning cup final....

the crowd for this final would not compare to an ordinary manning cup match when i was in school...

when i went to school, a kc/xclr, kc/calabar, kc/jc or kc/georges, kc/camperdown would have the stadium full and jumping...

jc/camperdown, jc/calabar, jc/wolmers.. all drew big crowds to stadium...

i remember calabar/clarendon college oliver shield match stadium full... iz what a gwaan a yawd wid schoolboy football...

Some will be happy that schoolboy football no longer attracts such crowds. I think it's a shame and wouldn't mind having to sit in the bleachers for another Olivier Shield match.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
        nice video... big up the other north street team... lol...

well done st. georges... willi should like that...

on a another note... what happen to the support of the teams... i remember when the staduim was full for a manning cup final....

the crowd for this final would not compare to an ordinary manning cup match when i was in school...

when i went to school, a kc/xclr, kc/calabar, kc/jc or kc/georges, kc/camperdown would have the stadium full and jumping...

jc/camperdown, jc/calabar, jc/wolmers.. all drew big crowds to stadium...

i remember calabar/clarendon college oliver shield match stadium full... iz what a gwaan a yawd wid schoolboy football...
        That Clarendon College 1977 thumping of Cbar has got to be the greatest exhibition of schoolboy football in Jamaica's history... the best I have seen a schoolboy team play.

1977 Champs was also mindboggling with Everard "Sammy" Samuels of Staths... few sprinters like that guy... amazing in his day... should have been a world beater.

Sammy was the first to break the 21 second barrier! Will never forget that year.

Karl and others will argue that the 1964 KC team was the best ever. Certainly, their results were unmatched, but that CC team was simply a sight to behold!

Sammy was the first to break the 21 second barrier! Will never forget that year.

Karl and others will argue that the 1964 KC team was the best ever. Certainly, their results were unmatched, but that CC team was simply a sight to behold!
            Yeah Sammy was one of the best ever... but that entire Champs was amazing.

I never saw that KC team but... yuh dun know how di KC man dem subject to hyperbole bout dem (admittedly great) achievements. LOL!!!

Thanks

I posted this here back when it was fresh. It is also all over StGC Facebook groups! LoL

Wi talking about Sammy breaking the 21 second barrier in Class 1, while Jazeel Murphy, 15 year old Class 2 athlete just went sub-21 at Carifta too!

Norman Mills of Clar College was the first to run 20.9s at Champs, not Samuels. No suh?

No sah! I can almost bet on this one! Almost!

I think that Sammy did his sub 21 at Carifta or somehwere like that. Mills definately had the record at Champs at some point, 1979 i think.

No sah! Sammy did 20.8 at Champs. I can see him running it now!

I think!

You may be right. It could be that Mills ran 20.7 in 1979 to break Sammys record.

Sammy also tied Bally Reids 10.4 100m record.

One of the all time best schoolboy sprinters. Must be in anyones top 5 list.

You know yuh Champs though!

i am going out on a limb here... i saw sammy run in every champs he participated in and i do not recall sammy running sub 21 sec at any champs...

mills came up after i left jamaica so i did not see his sub 21... as a track fan, i appreciated sammy's style of running - knee lift fi kill...

only other athlete i saw with that style was a sprinter from kc named bonito johnson who dominated class 2 in 1976, i think... if ddon was here, he could firm that up...