• Bolt... Atlas with Track on his Shoulders

Bolt, Track’s Biggest Star, Looks to Revitalize Sport

Karen Fuchs
    Usain Bolt, whose speed and theatricality have inspired young Jamaicans, has bodyguards to control overzealous fans

By JERÉ LONGMAN

Published: April 11, 2009

KINGSTON, Jamaica — As the world’s fastest man, Usain Bolt has earned an honored place on the veranda of his aunt’s house and bar in their remote hometown, Sherwood Content. Several posters of Bolt flank a photograph of Nelson Mandela, a clock embossed with the Lord’s Prayer and a plaque featuring Big Mouth Billy, the novelty singing bass.

Karen Fuchs

Bolt’s coaches say he is not finished improving his sprint times. “My main goal is to be a legend in my sport,” Bolt, 22, said.

“She always makes me laugh,” Bolt said of his aunt.

It was a similar melding of the iconic and the playful that Bolt used to stun and charm 90,000 Olympic spectators in Beijing and a worldwide television audience last summer. While collecting three gold medals and three world records, he enjoyed himself immensely, pantomiming an archer drawing his bow and celebrating on the track with a dance called the Gully Creeper.

And now Bolt is hoping that his good-humored personality can be as transcendent as his speed, which produced records in Beijing of 9.69 seconds at 100 meters, 19.30 at 200 and 37.10 in the 4x100 relay.
    Not only does Bolt want to revitalize track, a sport experiencing international decline, and redefine the limits of speed, but by the 2012 Summer Games in London, or soon after, he wants to become the first track star to earn $10 million a year in prize money, appearance fees and endorsements.
    David Beckham, Tiger Woods, he’s got to look at that being his target,”

Ricky Simms, Bolt’s London-based agent, said, speaking more in terms of wide marketability than income. Track stars do not earn as much as top stars in more visible professional sports. Woods, for example, earns an estimated $100 million a year. A handful of top track stars, like Carl Lewis, Michael Johnson, Marion Jones and Maurice Greene, probably earned $5 million to $7 million at the peak of their careers.

Because Bolt is only 22, he has a chance to participate in three Olympics. To become a surpassing figure, he will surely have to continue to win and set records, while avoiding injury and complacency and remaining free of the taint of doping.

In this post-Olympic year, with the world track and field championships to be held in August in Berlin, Bolt is the sport’s only megawatt drawing power. As such, agents and meet promoters said, he will command appearance fees of up to $200,000 for races, double what other top stars earn.

His shoe contract with Puma is worth about $1.5 million a year, company officials said. He also has endorsements for Gatorade and Digicel, a Caribbean mobile phone company, which could put Bolt’s 2009 income above $3 million.

But Bolt is from Jamaica, not the United States, where many Olympic sponsors have their headquarters. And he also came into greatness on the precipice of a worldwide recession. It remains to be seen whether he will ever realize his $10 million vision of licensing his image for video games, action figures and cereal boxes.
    “I hope the guy can get it, but it’s going to be a tough nut to crack,” said Emanuel K. Hudson, a Los Angeles lawyer and agent for Greene, the 2000 Olympic champion in the 100.

In an interview last Monday with international reporters, Bolt spoke candidly about his ambitions and the challenges of rekindling his motivation after such startling performances in Beijing.
    Bolt has decided that his drive would be to continue pushing the edge of human performance. His coaches speak of him potentially running the 100 in 9.5, breaking 19 seconds in the 200 and challenging the 400 world record of 43.18, held by Johnson, Bolt’s idol.
    “My main goal is to be a legend in my sport,” Bolt, who is 6 feet 5 inches, said. “You have to stay on top every year. You can’t be fast this season and the next two not be there.”

Appearances for his sponsors, post-Olympic celebrating and other distractions put Bolt behind in his early-season training, he acknowledged. He started poorly in his opening 100 last month in Spanish Town, Jamaica. Only a searing finish allowed him to match the wind-aided 9.93 run by a training partner, Daniel Bailey of Antigua.
    “I didn’t feel like myself,” Bolt said.
    He went home infuriated, said Norman Peart, Bolt’s manager. “It was a wake-up call,” Peart said, adding that in recent weeks Bolt had become more intent on training.

On Monday, during a relatively easy workout, Bolt ran six repeats of 180 meters from 19.6 to 20.6 seconds, and appeared relaxed and confident.
    In noting that his countryman Asafa Powell, the former world-record holder in the 100, tended to “freak out” under pressure at major competitions, Bolt said he bided his time before races by playing video games and dominoes and by adopting this approach: “If I’m the fastest man in the world, you’re not going to beat me.”

On and off the track, Bolt understands that he will now come under far greater scrutiny. Michael Phelps, the American swimmer who won eight gold medals in Beijing, learned this when he was photographed at a party with a marijuana pipe. The result was a three-month suspension and the loss of a commercial deal with Kellogg.
    • A version of this article appeared in print on April 12, 2009, on page SP1 of the New York edition.

more

Bolt answers your questions Video

Usain - the answers

Tom Fordyce | 15:45 UK time, Tuesday, 14 April 2009

If you recall, a few weeks ago I posted a blog offering the chance to ask Usain Bolt any question you liked - as long as it was original, interesting and free of smut/libel/foolishness.
    The responses didn't disappoint. Neither, I'm glad to say, did the fastest man in history's answers.
    Without any further ado, here's the video of Usain's answers. The great man will be in the UK for the Great Manchester 150 on 17 May, which will be shown live on BBC Two (1700-1830 BST), so you can always try to catch him then.

var emp = new bbc.Emp(); emp.setWidth("512"); emp.setHeight("323"); emp.setDomId("bolt_090414"); emp.setPlaylist("http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/emp/7990000/7998600/7998643.xml"); emp.write();
    Here are the questions we selected to send out to Jamaica where the questions were put to Bolt by David Hart, of Nova International, which is staging the Manchester event.
    David apologised that not all questions could be asked due to time constraints. The questions that were not used are in italics.
    Betsenbell (putt snaa an it) wrote:
    Usain, what was the last song you listened to before running in the 100m Olympic final and did this help motivate you to win?
    hoskinsforPM wrote:
    Have you ever been offered performance enhancing drugs and have you ever been tempted to take them?

ForestFanTom wrote:
    If you hadn't eased up towards the end of the 100m in Beijing, how fast would you have run?
    Silverfox1990 wrote:
    Have you ever suffered from nerves in a race? If you did, how did you overcome this?
    theSquire101 wrote:
    If you had to pick three rules to follow to become a champion, what would they be?

Reddevilyardie (they say I'm a glory hunter) wrote:
    How did you feel when at Western Champs 2001 I blazed down the track on the anchor leg of Cornwall College's class 2 4x100 relay team to pip you to the line while you were anchoring William Knibb in heat 2?
    Sanjamaica33 wrote:
    Do you think self-confidence is more important to success than all that physical conditioning and fitness stuff? After all we all gotta get our McNuggets.
    jamesdibby wrote:
    Who would be in your dream 100 metre final out of past and present athletes?

md_fan wrote:
    What does a typical training day consist of for you?

bencedars wrote:
    If you could do anything in the world other than athletics what would it be? And what would you consider doing for a living once you eventually decide to hang up your spikes?

singingHighlander wrote:
    What are the main factors that set Jamaican athletes apart from the mighty USA and the former East Germany in the 1970s and 1980s? Is it just the beautiful island, climate, methods ... what?
    dostioffski wrote:
    What training drills and exercises would you recommend to someone looking to improve their 100m time?
    AllanKirui wrote:
    Have you ever had a time when your confidence was low? And if so, how did you come out of it and get to where you are now?
    StaniArmy wrote:
    Have you ever missed a bus?

CommentsSign in

You need to sign in to contribute to this page. If you're new to BBC Blogs, creating your membership is quick and easy.
    • Previous
    • Next
    • <LI id=P78552981>1. At 5:31pm on 14 Apr 2009, NNeveling wrote: Why has David Hart backed out of asking the most important question from the selected list, namely the one about performance enhancing drugs?

Doping is the most important issue facing top level sport, yet when the fastest man in the world is lined up for an interview Mr Hart "runs out of time" to ask the question he should have asked first.

It is a legitimate question on a topical issue but instead of asking it we have to listen to meaningless guff about catching the bus.

Until athletes and promoters start talking about the doping issue openly and frankly then, then sport is going to continue to be dogged by rumours and suspicion.

What a disappointing kop out.
      Complain about this comment
      <LI id=P78555386 class=" stripe">2. At 6:14pm on 14 Apr 2009, skrittak wrote: More than likely that question was marked off limits by his agent/sponsors/whatever media guru was running the event.

Sad, but a candid interview with a top sportsman is incredibly rare these days unless they're apologising for something.
      <LI id=P78557815>3. At 6:57pm on 14 Apr 2009, united_dreamer wrote: Red Devil Yardie not readyville lol!
      <LI id=P78558100 class=" stripe">4. At 7:02pm on 14 Apr 2009, Hugh1985 wrote: that's a shame.
      It could have been an interesting interview but when watching it - it seems like Usain Bolt doesn't really want to be there (or maybe he is just nervous). I saw quite a lot of the sensored comments from 2 weeks ago and it seems like a lot of people still don't have a lot of faith that sprinters can compete clean. It was interesting to see 1 of them mentioning that his 100m time had (apparently)improved by almost 1 second in a year - which makes his answer to the question about how to improve your 100m time puzzling.
    • 5. At 7:38pm on 14 Apr 2009, Betsenbell (putt snaa an it) wrote: NNeveling...We all know the answer to the question anyway.
      Even if the thought flickered in his brain for one second he is not going to say yes. A poor question to get picked to ask him i think.

Glad mine got picked though.
      Thanks tom

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/tomfordyc...e_answers.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Video : Bolt Feeds in the Slavery Gene Theory ...AAAAH SAH VEX

Suh boys & Girls champs nu come inna it ? How come Brazil nuh produced dem like we , the most populus nation with African decent.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/tomfordyc...e_answers.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Yeah I didn't like that ridiculous answer of his about slavery. i was hoping that he would have mentioned about Champs and our historic traditions in the sports.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

true enough. BUT i like the little dig at the English.....i thought it was funny...DANGEROUS but funny. look he is not a geneticist or anything like that he is just a man expressing an opinion.

i think however that not mentioning champs was his gravest sin. i am beginning to give more and more credence to asafa's mental issues as being a lack of champs experience.

at the end of the day, i think bolt has a fantastic management team that is REALLY on the ball. he has had a few blips but overrall i don't think he should be censured for giving his honest opinion.