Champs 2009, a memory to savour!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    All right two things, first dealing with the bad vibes and the name calling, you would never hear me calling a KC man backward or lacking courage, that is insulting to both sides, when your greatest enemy is backward and lacking courage then you are also saying that you have those qualities, I do not want to celebrate beating a backward coward, no I want to celebrate beating a mighty warrior who gave his all.

So even when it was a KC man that was mauling our youth on the backstretch of the last 300 in the Medley in 81 because it was clear that Cbar was on track to another win and the return of the Mortimer to it's rightful home on Red Hills Road, I did not say that KC was a pack of sore losers and cowards, I said that that youth was a sore loser and that our youth was a weakheart to retaliate in the way he did, as all of that caused a lot of grief on that night.

No I actually see it in a different way I see two great scools only that the African/Baptist (roots of the people) based one is able to achieve superiority through training, inherent grit and superior African bloodlines than the Anglican/Anglo sponsored colonial oriented competitor. Anyway when any North street school either one have even one past student that smell ah Gold medal in the Olympics give me a call. Doan give me Lennox Miller either as after 14 years of subpar dominance because no one else was really trying he is the only semblance of an Olympic athlete KC has ever produced.

On the Rabalac thing, it is a long time thing that has grown with each year in our annual Student Magazines from probably back in the sixties there has been a lengendary tale chronicling the year that has passed and all the great stories of conquered tribes and vanquished foes such as the mighty one eyed (monocle wearing) monster K. C.yclops from the Southern Liguanea plain near the battle field of Sabina. Yeah that is Rabalac from my perspective, the tale was called the Chronicles of Rabalac, thus confirming another great trait that Calabar has that others don't possess and like the Egyptians before we chronicle the important events in each year in a unique and memorable way relative to the others and civilizations past that failed to understand the importance of recording great events and culturally significant events for descendants to come.
    Jah know... dis bredda yuh easy.

mosiah... that is the unique quality of a kc student... if you've not had the experience it is impossible for you or others to understand... almost every school has a motto... most only pay lip service to theirs and can recite it but it really has no real meaning...

at kc we live our motto... fortis cadere cedere non potest... the brave may fall but never yeild... never...

keiron stewart attempted the race because he knew he had that much left in him - he had 1 point in him...

a cant wait fi si him at penn relays fi provide him wid a small token of appreciation... him mek mi proud as a purple peacock...

time, yuh nuh serious... yuh a look pon it one way king son... yuh tink seh man guh a kc fi sports career... sports is only a byproduct of what the esteemed august instution has to offer... yuh nuh si seh kc win school's challenge tuh...

Many give up track & field after a few years in American colleges and concentrate on their academics. Developing athletes in Jamaica post high school is the best way forward and reduces the impact of burnout in America.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
            return of the Mortimer to it's rightful home on Red Hills Road
            no, no, no brahbrah... stonigut yuh really out a yuh tree wid dis... mi cudden leave dis out dere...

rightful home... are you out of your mind... in the 99 years of champs kc has won 30 or 31... i wonder how many wins c-bar has for you to make that claim...

i know its a tawk but i had to seh someting...

Bredrin, a just lip service nuff man deh pon when dem a criticize the purple giants, under the ifluence of some serious haterade. You are correct my youth, Stewart had one more point in him and he decided...mi naa yield! I spoke to him after he received one of his medals and came to the stands to hand his mom the gift package that he received. He still had tears in his eyes when I shook his hand and said to him, "Many Thanks my youth for all that you did and I wish you all the best, so don't worry because everything will be fine." I didn't know that the lady was his mom until she turned to me and said, "He's my son you know!" I also told her thanks and that she did really good in raising a great kid.

Fi real bredrin, nuff man a talk and dem no realize seh during high school these athletes are being cared for by others. Once they leave high school they are suddenly thrusted into the adult world to basically fend for themselves, and imagine if they have to do it in a foreign country on a scholarship! Let's face it, the US colleges don't necessarily serve our students best interest. We've heard and seen it where high profile people like Carl Lewis is against our Jamaican athletes getting scholarships to then develop and beat US athletes as he put it. I know so many things that reach the Yard athletes in this country that it is not even funny, therefore, it is a blessing now that they have the option of staying in Jamaica to further their careers...for those who doubt that, just remember that our Beijing athletes were actually the first set of athletes to do so.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                  Many give up track & field after a few years in American colleges and concentrate on their academics. Developing athletes in Jamaica post high school is the best way forward and reduces the impact of burnout in America.

...and many give up track on graduation from high school. It is a matter of what is important to the athlete.

...even as I say that many also would have continued at track if, in Ja there was a support group to help thm retain the interest in track.

The reasons many do not continue are many and varied!

No doubt, the youth is a great example of finishing what you start, definitely a combination of school pride and raising, but I will tip my hat to the latter most of all.

Cho Baddaz, mi a mek little fun, I never take what you say that seriously it was just an opportunity to poke more fun. I always have fun with the Calabar roots line as all the other schools come out of a pretty tight laced colonial mould and just even Baptist vs Anglican is Roots versus establishment, have to run a little fun on that too. We all know that we all the same thing genetically for the most part.

All right the one place i do have to differ now is the ultimate results, Championship performance so Wint, McKenly, Rhoden, Johnson, Chris Williams and Maurice Smith did I miss anybody, that is a lot of medals, world records at the Olympics and World champs level, and top class track meets in that group no high school in the western hemisphere can match that, wait maybe the world!!!?? Hmm I must check the stats,..........
                      R%@#@! looks like I am right!!

Idrin Rabalac is pure Brilliance. Mek me outline a section of the Chronicles of the mighty Green and Black aggregation.

And I quote " And in those days a man called Breh Mac, a great son of Rabalac who won adulation in the land of the "Flying Finns" did gather all warriors who were fleet of foot, springy of leg and strong of arm and arrayed this stellar aggregation against the mighty warriors of the plains dweller the champion, the Goliath KayCee. The Rabalac warriors marvelled at the plains dwellers massive size and reputation so Breh Mac called together his Council of Chiefs, warriors and sons of Rabalac and said.

Marvel not at ye swaggering giant clad in purple and white, colors fit for a funeral pyre, for indeed these colors shall be buried and the natural colors of the earth the black and the green will rise and shall cover the earth and the sons of Rabalac will once again take their rightful place

It ends with this, "The gods said the warriors of Rabalac have triumphed over the heathens of the plains, to them belongs the Trophy of Mortimer"

And thus it was that Rabalac ended with 166 points to Kaycee's 134.5 a 31.5 point gap that could not have been bridged, thus Rabalac reclaimed their hold on the Mortimer for that time as it was true that the gods of the Mountains above the Wagwater did ban both teams from the following year clash on the battlefield of Sabina!

All right I dressed it up just a little bit!!! but 98% is straight from 1981 Rabalac chronicles!

Finally Mr Baddaz, it was one of my good bredrins at Bar Brother Brooks from St Ann who when I lamented at the poor state of Africans the world over in our many arguments in 6th form instead of doing our work, would say "everything guh in a circle, what was once great will be made low and will again achieve greatness this will happen repeatedly throughout history" Yes this was before "Lion King and the circle of Life" BDL thus backward can really be forward, I know you really like that one, enjoy!

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                        time, yuh nuh serious... yuh a look pon it one way king son... yuh tink seh man guh a kc fi sports career... sports is only a byproduct of what the esteemed august instution has to offer... yuh nuh si seh kc win school's challenge tuh...

True, True...nuff resect.

Hey lets link up at Penn Relays. I will be in charge of the two Wolmer's Teams plus volunteering for TJB.

I seem to remember you agreeing with me that he should not have run that race?!?!? Has your view changed now that you see how valuable that point was?

Be consistent, bredren.
                          Last edited by Mosiah; April 11, 2009, 07:51 PM.

The key word is "seem" Mosiah, as Shaggy sey it wasn't me, you thinking bout somebody else. Anyway that is not something I would comment against, if you can do it, do it! It';s all up to the individual and if you need to do it for team then if you can at all then you probably should crawl an do it if you can't do no better.

You guys crack me up!

As a Georgian, I am just laughing uncontrollably.

Baptist is FAR more mainstream than Catholic historically in Jamaica. Catholicism was actually banned until 1850 (Same year StGC was started). Note that St. George is the patron saint of ENGLAND, so even the name seems politically motivated, a concession to the prevailing power.

As for our North Street neighbours, you seem to forget that the goodly Bishop Gibson, was a GEORGIAN and his inspiration came from his experiences there.

Anyway, we are Champs minnows, in that we only won 2 (1914 & 1925) and that is enough for us as we are a Ball school. LoL

We just chilling with our Manning Cup/Olivier Shield/U-19 BasketBall title and a nice 7th place at Champs which includes a relay record!

Willi, you missing the point on Catholic vs Baptist, if you look at who Baptists are in Jamaica especially traditionally and historically versus the people who are Catholics not only do you see a pretty wide class divide you also see a pretty wide color gap as well.

BTW You said that you and Tanker went home from Champs 81, I cannot remember Tanker throwing Discus for Bar at all, however when you sdaid that you took the "Big Red" to Spain then I said it must be the same Tanker that was in my class, I haven't seen him since 81, what about you have you seen him since then, is he still in Ja.

Oh, one other dig at Georges before I go, I neva know Georges man live ah Spain, anyway don't get too upset i am just having a little fun with the wealth of all the paradox type situations that we have in Jamaica, especially you thinking that Baptist is more mainstream than Catholic "BDL" yeah "big dutty laugh"