Champs 2009, a memory to savour!!

• Champs 2009, a memory to savour!!

Yes massive, I was there to once again witness the crowning of the Purple giants of North Street...and it was the sweetest one yet. First I must say a hearty big up to mi bredrin, my brother Mosiah for pulling me out of this place to go and tek in champs...Thank yuh mi bredda, it go so!! I haven't been to champs since 90, when it was Jago and C-Bar doing battles. I witnessed in 89 when Donovan Powell (Asafa's big brother) of Jago took the sprint double after that memorable battle with Daniel England of C-bar in the 200m class 1 final. They clashed again in 90 at 200m again, and Rudolph Mighty of JC running out of lane 8 pulled of a memorable upset. I was also there at Champs 83 which was held at Sabina Park...awesome indeed since KC won after a deserved suspension with arch-nemesis C-Bar. This one though (2009) was definitely one for the ages, destiny I call it...after all the things that happened on our way to victory! FORTIS forever! Oh what a week I had, what a week for KC! I witnessed the School Challenge Victory the same day I landed(Tuesday) and Champs 4 days later!! Did I bring them some luck? I would really like to believe so, and I am not about to stop a good thing so more luck in 2010!! BTW mi haffi mention the girls, oh yes the Jamaican girls...nutten no pretty so! Everywhere mi look is another model mi see, mi yeye no stop pulp out. I'm so happy that I'm married to one...from Alpha at that.

Last point, what's up with this Rabalac thing? I certainly didn't see or hear this while going to KC, so all mi C-Bar idrin unnu shed some light pon it fi mi nuh! Wha, unnu ready fi hit reverse!?

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
    what's up with this Rabalac thing? I certainly didn't see or hear this while going to KC, so all mi C-Bar idrin unnu shed some light pon it fi mi nuh! Wha, unnu ready fi hit reverse!?
    mi nuh understand dat eida... dwoan get it at all...

big up sensi fortis... yuh witness a great victory... i know it hurts all who finished behind kc... especially the second place team... so close, but yet so far... the calabar pride and culture just isn't quite there yet...

imagine in a points focussed championship, a calabar representative would forgo the opportunity to earn a point for his team...

dat wudda neva happen wid a man who a represent de college...

sorry calabar, only the good ones are chosen, fortis cadere cedere non potest... you backward ones rabalac, who lack courage and fighting spirit will spoil the quality...

calabar try copy kc but dem can never duplicate our fighting spirit...

btw, has a school ever won champs and school challenge in the same year... calabar try copy dat...

All right two things, first dealing with the bad vibes and the name calling, you would never hear me calling a KC man backward or lacking courage, that is insulting to both sides, when your greatest enemy is backward and lacking courage then you are also saying that you have those qualities, I do not want to celebrate beating a backward coward, no I want to celebrate beating a mighty warrior who gave his all.

So even when it was a KC man that was mauling our youth on the backstretch of the last 300 in the Medley in 81 because it was clear that Cbar was on track to another win and the return of the Mortimer to it's rightful home on Red Hills Road, I did not say that KC was a pack of sore losers and cowards, I said that that youth was a sore loser and that our youth was a weakheart to retaliate in the way he did, as all of that caused a lot of grief on that night.

No I actually see it in a different way I see two great scools only that the African/Baptist (roots of the people) based one is able to achieve superiority through training, inherent grit and superior African bloodlines than the Anglican/Anglo sponsored colonial oriented competitor. Anyway when any North street school either one have even one past student that smell ah Gold medal in the Olympics give me a call. Doan give me Lennox Miller either as after 14 years of subpar dominance because no one else was really trying he is the only semblance of an Olympic athlete KC has ever produced.

On the Rabalac thing, it is a long time thing that has grown with each year in our annual Student Magazines from probably back in the sixties there has been a lengendary tale chronicling the year that has passed and all the great stories of conquered tribes and vanquished foes such as the mighty one eyed (monocle wearing) monster K. C.yclops from the Southern Liguanea plain near the battle field of Sabina. Yeah that is Rabalac from my perspective, the tale was called the Chronicles of Rabalac, thus confirming another great trait that Calabar has that others don't possess and like the Egyptians before we chronicle the important events in each year in a unique and memorable way relative to the others and civilizations past that failed to understand the importance of recording great events and culturally significant events for descendants to come.

That's not how I remembered it bredrin. The KC runner was spiked by the C-Bar athlete as he was about to go by, thus ending his chance to win as KC needed a win and was on track to do so. He then retaliated and all hell broke loose! Anyway mi Idrin, don't contradict yuhself after that speech about respecting your opponent...if yuh want fi big up Lennox Miller just hail the man and and mek everyting simmer. FORTIS forever!

Bredrin you are so right. A di same ting Mosiah seh to mi when wi deh a stadium a watch di race...the difference between a KC man and that C-Bar youth is " the KC man would finish the race" just like Keiron Stewart in the 200m final. He is the team captain in his last year and so he did what he had to do...dem man deh a warrior! All the best at University of Texas my youth, I am sure that you are a future Olympian and with that speed we may very well be looking at a future gold medalist in the 400m hurdles!

Despite all that, I don't think highly of KC's win at all costs attitude. I know our opinions will differ, but...

Keiron Stewart should never have attempted that race.

BTW, with all the great KC championships and winners, how many have gone on to greater things?

Despite all that, I don't think highly of KC's win at all costs attitude. I know our opinions will differ, but...

Keiron Stewart should never have attempted that race.

BTW, with all the great KC championships and winners, how many have gone on to greater things?

Mosiah,
              Few have gone on to greater things because they are burnt out. The experts need to come up with a plan to protect the students. We need some limit on the # of races or total distance a student can run at champs.

Not sure how that "plan" would be structured. We need coaches who can be honest with the students and present them with options. And they also need to engage the parents. Find out what's important to the athlete. If too much is left up to the alumni, then you're going to get a particular result.

It's a tricky situation because alumni can be invaluable to school activities and the success of students. But sometimes their priorities are a bit skewed.

The KC man was harassing the Bar man from the 400 start and probably before, the rash act was a response, a very poor one and one that we all were not proud of in any shape or form.

Big respect to Mr Lennox Miller always, in the spirit of a tear I put that in but truly Mr Miller is a Jamaican great and if we ever do a great Jamaicans hall of fame he would have to be in it right after Herb Mac, Wint and Rhoden as the number 4 man track man in there. Well maybe 5 we might have to put in Norman Manley to get the ball rolling.

Yes bredrin, you are a Bar man but nuff respect fi di I still. You correctly stayed true to your word and and retracted your statement about Lennox, so we need more people like the I on this board. Secondly, you said the KC athlete was "probably" harassing the C-Bar athlete from before the race, which means you are unsure. In any case, harassing, mouthing off, and drawing a card here and there pon a man is something that we all deal with at boys schools. Therefore, you either have the balls to take it or not which may cause it to get worse...bottomline the Bar athlete reacted by stepping on the KC youth, thus spiking him either in the back or leg. We all saw the infamous result! Anyway mi and the I a get too friendly still so hear whaapen massive, "GIVE ME A K, GIVE ME A C"....C-Bar dem a saps dem a saps...

Bredrin success breeds a lot of contempt, therefore, I'm not surprised of the reactions to anything regarding my beloved institution. How do you all know that it was not an option presented to the youth? It is just the warrior within the youth that made him refuse to quit or give in, he is the captain of the team in his senior year and he sent a strong message...we may fall but we will never yield! It is not win at all cost my youth, it is just our fighting spirit!

This was the kind of response I expect from a KC man.

Not going to get into discussion about this. I've said my piece.

There is almost nothing that needs to change about champs. Many of these students get their only chance at glory, and so they leave it all out on the field. In fact, you hear very little about many of them because they probably overachieved while in school. It is not just KC, there are numerous institutions that turn out athletes that we haven't heard anything from again, so don't focus so much on what happen during school but rather on their life after school. It's kind of funny how, whenever it is KC, you all say dem a burn out di youths dem fi just a victory and so dem done after school, but in other cases unnu say that Jamaica fail to retain their talented men and women by not keeping track of them! BTW, what happen to all the talented athletes of other institutions from 1984-2000 since KC did not win in any of those years? The men of Clarendon College, St. Jago, JC and C-Bar? What about all those top sprinters from C-Down...of all those years Raymond Stewart is the only one that really did anything. Instead of pointing fingers at a particular institution for something that happens right across the board, I really believe that we should focus on the kids life right after school because that's where it goes up or down!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                            All right two things, first dealing with the bad vibes and the name calling, you would never hear me calling a KC man backward or lacking courage, that is insulting to both sides, when your greatest enemy is backward and lacking courage then you are also saying that you have those qualities, I do not want to celebrate beating a backward coward, no I want to celebrate beating a mighty warrior who gave his all.
                            it was all meant in good fun in the spirit of champs celebration... sorry it did not come across that way to you... it was a play on an old nupak commecial that ran in jamaica... my bad...

So even when it was a KC man that was mauling our youth on the backstretch of the last 300 in the Medley in 81 because it was clear that Cbar was on track to another win and the return of the Mortimer to it's rightful home on Red Hills Road, I did not say that KC was a pack of sore losers and cowards, I said that that youth was a sore loser and that our youth was a weakheart to retaliate in the way he did, as all of that caused a lot of grief on that night.
                            sensi addressed this below with the correct version of event...

No I actually see it in a different way I see two great scools only that the African/Baptist (roots of the people) based one is able to achieve superiority through training, inherent grit and superior African bloodlines than the Anglican/Anglo sponsored colonial oriented competitor.
                            how many ways you want to have it... on one hand you took offence to me pointing out c-bar lack of courage (a joke) and on the other hand you talking about c-bar superiority because of african/roots vs (inferiority) kc anglican colonial crap... see, i wouldn't and do not take that serious because i would assume you know better...

Anyway when any North street school either one have even one past student that smell ah Gold medal in the Olympics give me a call. Doan give me Lennox Miller either as after 14 years of subpar dominance because no one else was really trying he is the only semblance of an Olympic athlete KC has ever produced. .
                            sensi eloquently addressed this below... however, let me add, kc has had many of our athletes represent jamaica over the years... they might not have won a gold medal at the olympics but how many athletes from any other schools have won gold medals... i would think that c-bar, kc and most schools are in the same boat... so wht is the point of that argument... btw, at kc we revel in wins not 'smell' golds...

On the Rabalac thing, it is a long time thing that has grown with each year in our annual Student Magazines from probably back in the sixties there has been a lengendary tale chronicling the year that has passed and all the great stories of conquered tribes and vanquished foes such as the mighty one eyed (monocle wearing) monster K. C.yclops from the Southern Liguanea plain near the battle field of Sabina. Yeah that is Rabalac from my perspective, the tale was called the Chronicles of Rabalac, thus confirming another great trait that Calabar has that others don't possess and like the Egyptians before we chronicle the important events in each year in a unique and memorable way relative to the others and civilizations past that failed to understand the importance of recording great events and culturally significant events for descendants to come.
                            nuh care whe yuh waan seh... rabalac is backward... contradict dat...

it all depends on how you define greater things... because many kc athletes upon receiving scholarships became real student athletes... i know of quite a few of our celebrated past athletes who are accomplished professions outside of sport... architects, doctors, dentists, engineers, lawyers, college professors... mi naw call nuh name...